We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so excellent”
Review of Hotel Excellency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excellency
Ranked #82 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so excellent”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Highly recommend you avoid this hotel. We stayed 2 nights as part of our travels around Cochin and left with an arm full of insect bites from bugs we found under the bed (see photo).

Plus points of this hotel is proximity to MG road, hot water all day and affordability.

Negatives are insects and bed bugs and staff that seem like they're being forced to work with no smiles or care. When we checked out I showed my arm to them and said they should spray rooms for insects and they barely acknowledged my comments.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    110
    73
    16
    12
See reviews for
100
67
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I went Kochi for Kerala trip in April 2013 . Kochi is a very good place in Kerala. Firstly thanks to Clear trip and Tripadvisor site for help me to choose a good hotel in good location. This hotel is near to Enerkulam Jn Station ( 10 min walk in distance , Auto will take 10-20 Rs. ) , near to KTDC Bus stand ( Auto will take 20-30 Rs ) and also near to Kochi main boat jte ( Auto will take 30-40 Rs ). It also near to M G Road. Rooms are properly clean and booking and other all things are smoothly done. For 1-2 days stay this hotel is perfect and near to rail station and bus station. Food also available in the below lobby and room service also available with reasonable price. All type of foods are available ( Malabar , South Indian , North Indian ) . Tea , Coffey also available in the room service also . Morning 7-8 it's free. Daily Kochi sight seen tour also available in this hotel. There are so many sight seen tour available. This hotel needs to improve the room service. If you want to stay kochi 1-2 night with minimum rate with all the facility then choose this hotel . This is a good budget hotel. Thanks ...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank SUBRATA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Although the hotel is close to station, cleanliness is maintained and food is decent, the problem is that they go back on their promise while booking. When we booked, we paid for extra child to get an extra bed as well as get breakfast as that was part of the deal. When we called them before trip and also checked in they assured us that these are part of the deal. But later in the evening they went back on their word. It was only after intervention of cleartrip that this was sorted. Also, staff isn't very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Again this was one of the many hotels we stayed at on our 3 month travel around India. We were In Kochi only for a few days and booked this hotel on the spot, not via internet. The rooms were nice and clean and beds/bedding clean and comfortable. In a good location not far from the train station, but you must remember to leave the train on arrival to Kochi on the inland side of the train station as a taxi or tuc tuc is virtually impossible and very expensive to get to this side of town becasue they have to go through toll bridges ect..Having said that if you get leave from the correct side ( It's quite confusing so ask someone official when you get off the train) The hoel is only a very short walk.You can get tuc tuc or taxi but make sure they don't charge much as some will try and rip you off and take you around the houses. Walk if your bags aren't heavy. We booked our backwaters trip via the hotel at a reasonable price, the company they used were very good and professorial. The trip was worth it, the back waters are beautiful. We did the half day one, starting early morning, this was long enough for us. We went in early feb it was very hot. The hotel is in a good location for the shops and restaurants too. Had a bit of problem setting up the wifi on my netbook but the staff were really great in sorting it out. Good place would def saty again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowpetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was our first stop over and the hotel is located in a decent place.
Its was a nice one and we enjoyed our stay.
parking is a issue in this hotel so if you have huge car or something, might be a issue.
Otherwise the staff is good, rooms were OK.
Can recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KhatriRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel has got a main building and an annexe. The restaurant is okay but the hotel does not offer complimentary breakfast. breakfast is available and is chargeble. The rooms are ok in the annexe. If ordered for room service, it takes a long time for food or beverages to be served and food gets cold. overall for a short stays, if you are adjustable and for the money we pay for stay it is comfortable. The charges are 1350.00 per standard ac accomodation for single occupancy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suresh3703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Me and my Husband stayed there for 1 night only. Services was good.There aws total privacy and safe too. It was more than our expectation. Washrooms and the rooms were clean. Reception was very calm and understanding. Food was delicious and not over priced.
It is ok for 1 night stay

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ishani22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#11 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archana Inn
Hotel Archana Inn
#16 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Srinivas
Hotel Srinivas
#161 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel S.M. Regency
Hotel S.M. Regency
#111 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.2 mi away
The International Hotel
The International Hotel
#60 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.0 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excellency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excellency

Property: Hotel Excellency
Address: P.B No.1748, Nettipadam Road | Off. M G Road, Jos Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Excellency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excellency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellency Hotel Kochi
Hotel Excellency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing