We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice economical hotel”
Review of Hotel Excellency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excellency
Ranked #87 of 208 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
chennai
1 review
“Nice economical hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Good and decent hotel, located in center of the city, near to railway station.. you can get all kind of food near by. nice place to stay and spend time in kochin

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivanarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    109
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
102
68
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

near to mg road. idle place for shopping.ideal place with best and cheap amenties. nat and tidy rooma. good staff and service

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

There is no reason to stay in Ernakulam other than for practical purposes. e.g. travel connections. There are very few hotels of good value either. We checked out many before we plumped for this one (most appear to cater for Indian businessmen). Its of reasonable value for the area and the staff are friendly. The restaraunt is also reasonable and it saves you going out to look for one (it can be quite a search). If you have to stay in Ernakulam this is a reasonable if unspectacular option.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BimScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Hotel Excellency
Date: 8th Feb,2010.

We started our journey from Bangalore and our destination was Agatti island, Lakshadweep. Since our flight to Agatti was from Cochin, we decided to spend one day in Cochin and enjoy its myriad flavours. We did not make any bookings as such, just searched in the websites for hotels in Cochin and zeroed in on a couple of hotels. Hotel Excellency was one of them because of its location, at the heart of the city.

Excellency has a 24 hour checkin-checkout fecility which seemed to be very important for us :). We checked in at 6:30am in the morning. We took a double room. The room was pretty cool. The washroom was very clean. We refreshed ourselves and went out to have food.

The food quality is very good, though a bit over-priced. Then we enquired regarding a ferry-ride to the backwaters of Cochin. The receptionist helped us to book tickets for the ferry-ride. The place from where the ferry starts is also very close to the hotel. We enjoyed the day in the backwaters of Cochin.

SInce the hotel is in the heart of the city, we had plenty of options to eat outside, do a lot of shopping et al. We received a fax from Lakshadweep tourism courtesy Hotel Excellency.

It was more of a one night stand but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Excellency. And even though we stayed for more than 24 hours(thanks to our check in time of 6:30am) we were considered to pay for only one night.

The hotel staff are polite and served us for 24 hours. Their service of food was of good quality. The few things that I would have liked was at least the breakfast or the main meal to be a part of the hotel tariff plan. And the food was slightly overpriced. Apart from these issues, our stay was memorable. We thank hotel excellency and its management for making the stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnav1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed on 16th January 2010 and then on 21st January 2010. It is a value for money hotel. We liked the location too. Being very close to the M G Road one can do shopping in a prime area of Ernakulam. The staff is polite and service is good. Despite being in the city centre it is quiet.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Hi I have stayed atleast for 5-6 times in Hotel excellency for my leisure as well as business tours....its really affordable and as its location is close to MG rd and RLy station is very convinient...
The rooms are very clean and tidy and with the prompt services of the staff makes the stay comfortable...
Comclusion- if you need a budget, convineint and good hotel stay at Excellency...

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniket K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The hospitality, cleanliness and even the facilities were really good and for this can be called as value for money. Good place to stay.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhaniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 30 in Ernakulam
149 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel S.M. Regency
Hotel S.M. Regency
#104 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archana Inn
Hotel Archana Inn
#16 of 30 in Ernakulam
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
264 reviews
4.0 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
418 reviews
2.9 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#16 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excellency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excellency

Property: Hotel Excellency
Address: P.B No.1748, Nettipadam Road | Off. M G Road, Jos Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Excellency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excellency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellency Hotel Kochi
Hotel Excellency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing