We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best you get in the budget hotel category”
Review of Hotel Excellency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excellency
Ranked #91 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Hotel Excellency is located on a lane brancing from M.G Road( 1 minute from MG Road), which is the main shoppong area of Kochi.The location is a priviledge, its near but again far enough to avoid the sound of traffic.The reception area is quite well done up and gives a feeling of luxary, though the rooms were quite small.But given our budget, we could'nt expect more.
There was a restaurant with the hotel, but we did'nt dine there.They have a business centre and it was occupied thruoghout our stay.They also provide transport facility and a well maintained service desk. Overall, quite a gem for a budget hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parcourir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excellency
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

The hotel is located behind the mighty Avenue Regent hotel on an approach road, only a minute’s walk from M. G Road, the main shopping district at Kochi. The location actually helps because you don’t get the noise from the main road traffic but get the convenience of getting plenty of shops, restaurants nearby and auto-rickshaws for hire at all times.

The hotel décor is tastefully done and the staffs seem professional, efficient and helpful. The ambience was good and the hotel was clean. Rooms and bathrooms were well lit, properly maintained and clean as well. A TV with good number of channels was provided in the room. We got a clean towel, a small bottle of shampoo and soap in our bathroom.

We experienced prompt and good service. Newspaper was also delivered in morning. Although we stayed for one night only, in the morning we were asked if we need room cleaning or not. Our request for a spare towel was promptly met. We didn’t try their restaurant.

You should ask for rooms at the front as there were two caged Alsatian dogs at the back of the hotel, likewise a previous reviewer has pointed out. They started barking from early morning for quite some time, which seemed to be like an eternity; shattering the peace and our sleep. It’s a pity that you can’t really call security or reception to sort that out :)

We tried couple of restaurants and liked the tasty vegetarian food from “Gokul’s” nearby. We also wanted to try the extremely popular Kerala cuisine at the famed restaurant of the Grand hotel nearby, but had to abandon the plan because of me not feeling confident with my stomach. Next time, we will definitely go there. To reach the Grand hotel, head up north on M. G Road from Excellency hotel and it’s only 300 meters away, situated on the left side of the road. You may take a taxi/auto but a walk in the main shopping district seldom disappoints.

The room and the bathroom in particular were not ventilated properly. In summer it may get really uncomfortable in a non-AC room. An exhaust fan in the bathroom could have helped. I also wish that our non A/C double room could have a bit more space, but you can’t really complain as space is at a premium given the location and for the price you are getting it.

“Excellency” means “the quality of being excellent” and we think the hotel was excellent. This is the hotel bang on the middle of the main shopping district giving you the most bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I was in Cochin with my parents. It was only for an overnight stay. The hotel is 500m from the station so very convinient if you too are looking only for an overnight stay. The location is also good, with the market just around the corner. The hotel staff is friendly. However the rooms werent very 'roomy', you tend to feel closed up. There is internet facility but it is not for free. They have a travel desk and have provision to get car for hire

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditivid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We Stayed here in September and it was mainly for night accomodation as we had plan to go around cochin entire day.
We were provided room in Annex building which is just behind the main hotel. Initially there was some problem with geyser but it was fixed later. It is located on MG road and very close to shopping kerala chips and Saree. Also lot of restaurants near by. They arrange Ayurvedhic massaage on request. It has a in house restaurant which is okie in taste but takes lot of time to serve. Rooms are clean and has TV and cubboard. and also the location is safe to return late in the evening.
Other best part was we could keep our luggage in reception next day till we took late evening train.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekmattur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This hotel is small but it is centrally located between the railway station and the M.G road where the main shopping/eating area is.It is also walkable distance to the main boat jetty.so you save on transport cost once u have checked in.
The reception and restaurant area is friendly.
The restaurant menu is reasonably priced too.This hotel is a good place to rest after a hectic day out, shopping or sightseeing
.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_rohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We as a family had to stay for a night at Ernakulam en-route to Trivandrum by the early morning Intercity Express.So,while searching for a good hotel near the Railway Station, we stumbled upon this hotel and sure it was worth the money.they have a neat and tidy restaurent and the services were good.The rooms,though slightly small,it's okay for a night's stay.The front office staff were v,courteous and arranged a car for sight seeing, the cost of which was less compared to outside.The best point about the hotel is the proximity to the Railway Station which took us a 10 min. walk.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greattripschennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Hi..recently on a trip to Cochin, i chanced upon this Hotel just off M.G.Road,,,,its a very minimalistic hotel but was well maintained , neat and clean. As i used the hotel only during the nights to catch up on my sleep...really did not explore too much about the hotel.
At Rs.1300/- tariff for single occupancy,.,,it was great deal.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBS_Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 30 in Ernakulam
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archana Inn
Hotel Archana Inn
#16 of 30 in Ernakulam
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#11 of 30 in Ernakulam
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Srinivas
Hotel Srinivas
#181 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
30 reviews
4.0 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excellency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excellency

Address: P.B No.1748, Nettipadam Road | Off. M G Road, Jos Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £11 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Excellency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excellency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellency Hotel Kochi
Hotel Excellency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing