We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be rated higher as viable contender in Fort Kochi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Much has been wrriten about the newly done renovations. All true. Management and staff are eager to please and open to ideas for improvements. Room was spacious, bathroom brand new and the view of the Dutch cemetrary and Arabian Sea is hard to beat. Value for money compared to nearby Malabar House. Breakfast is simple and can be expanded if kitchen is staffed better. Can't go wrong. Great location.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the ocean and on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roysush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you very much for finding time to write a review with precision and suggestions to improve. It was wonderful having you with us; we are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights at the recently re-furbished Poovath Heritage in Cochin. It's in a great location close to the beach yet away from the bustle of busy Cochin. The building is an oasis of calm & the rooms are very well appointed. Within the hotel grounds there is a lovely swimming pool - a perfect spot for relaxing.

The outstanding feature here however is the hotel staff, ably led by Abdul Gafoor. Everyone seems eager to please & prepared to go that extra distance to ensure the comfort of every guest. This hotel is a great place to stay in the centre of old town Cochin; we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious & beautifully appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank togozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Overlooking the Arabian Sea this newly renovated place is as good as it gets. Wonderfully appointed bedrooms, superb bathrooms, pool, balcony and great food. Well located. The staff are teriffic helpful and friendly. Our best in India.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa499651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We loved the Poovath Heritage Hotel, it has just had major renovations done and the rooms are modern and spacious.
We stayed in the sea facing larger room and as the hotel has only eight room there were only two of them available, they are defiantly worth the little extra.
The location is perfect with walking distance to shops and restaurants
The first night we ate at the hotel and the food was delicious.
We were very well looked after and the staff could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnyangelcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This place was our saviour from the hustle and bustle of Cochin.

The rooms are spacious and the veranda where you eat breakfast overlooks the beach area.

The pool is beautifully maintained and the staff were extremely accommodating- letting us use the facilities and store our baggage in a spare room without paying for another night when our flight was at 3 in the morning the next day. We really appreciated it!

Near Malabar House and many of the other large hotels, the location is very convenient.

Having just opened the hotel was a little under-occupied but I'm sure this will change very soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L_Smash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had an amazing time. The staff were very friendly. The room was very nice, well kept and clean. The hotel itself is very lovely to stay at for a different feel. The breakfast upstairs is lovely. It is so enjoyable to sit upstairs at the terrace while overlooking the sea. The pool was also great in the heat. We loved it and would definitely recommend this wonderful place. The location was also great. Walking distance to all the sights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel is quite pretty and it is in a great location, right in front of the beach, although the beach itself is dirty and the waters are almost black. It is walking distance to the fishing nets and most of the stuff around. There is really very little to see or do in Fort Kochi, which is my opinion is just worth half a day passing by. The staff are quite nice and the place is kept quite clean. As other reviewer pointed out, they have a problem with hot water in the shower, which is a pity. I told them, but nothing changed.The shower is also too small and uncomfortable, which is ridiculous given the large size of the bathroom. The rooms are simple. In my view they should get rid of the TV and put a fridge inside. They have safes. It has a nice veranda and a nice yard with a small swimming pool. Breakfast is included is is basic, but just what you need, nothing great. Another flaw is that you need to check out at Noon. I went there in the monsoon season and I think they had just 3 guests. I asked to check out at 13:30 and they said I could not, which I did not understand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#169 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#5 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#54 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
679 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#58 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort

Address: 1/246 Poovath Heritage Dutch Cementry Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#39 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £79 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poovath faces The Arabian Sea along with the Fort Cochin Beach welcomes you to feel with its much homely Heritage, Godliness through its long & enduring tradition & synergy with famous Dutch cemetery, ancestral Thakur house (residing beside) gives nostalgia of the great bygone eras with the years old traditional architectural design and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovath Hotel Kochi
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing