We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
Ranked #73 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Nyon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel I understand has recently been refurbished and is under new management. Some of the old photographs posted by guests are now misleading as the bathrooms are very modern and nicely fitted out. The air conditioning and fans work well. The hotel is located in its own grounds and is very private and secure. The buildings and contents are very nice and the bedrooms are quite large. Service was excellent during our stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The meals we had were good and we would stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: A sea view is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyonAdvisor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the detailed review about the refurbishment of the Resort. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    31
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
39
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
327 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

the Poovath is a private place with perfect service although some restrictions given by the house structure. If people like the private style it is perfect - a boutique place.
We enjoyed our nights here, at this perfect location, chinese nets and other places in walking distance. Dinner is perfect (we enjoyed with our family the X-mas dinner), breakfast can here and there be a bit tedious, but staff made the best out of it (tedious: you had to ask for quite a lot of things you could expect). Service had to be fitted to the refurbished location and optimisation was going on in December 2013.
Overall: recommendation!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Poovath Heritage. It was wonderful having you with us during Xmas night. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations. Regarding the breakfast, we have good choices of Continental, Indian and South Indian dishes. But unfortunately the Breakfast Menu Card wasn’t ready, since it was on re-opening week. Our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you.

We look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Lovely old Dutch house positioned at the quieter end of Old Cochin. We had a delightful 1st floor corner room and balcony with views of the old Dutch cemetery, beach, Arabian Sea and stunning sunsets. We so enjoyed the uplifting early mornings of the beach coming to life as part of the local sunrise activities. Then a swim before breakfast on the upper terrace - wonderful!
It's still very new since being taken over and refurbished by the excellent Amritara group but already developing into another jewel in their private hideaways collection. As expected with this group everything is of high standard with wonderfully friendly and helpful staff.
Ayurvedic treatments are available opposite and despite the very new clinical surroundings were very exceptionally relaxing yet invigorating with very considerate practitioners.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonGap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Poovath and Amritara Private Hideaways. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thekkady, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Poovath Heritage, Fort Kochi is recently re-furbished, have great location. Some rooms are overlooking the Arabian Sea. The rooms and the bath rooms are superb. The swimming pool and the gardens are beautifully maintained.

Room Tip: Seaview Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gireesh297636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Mr. Gireesh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Much has been wrriten about the newly done renovations. All true. Management and staff are eager to please and open to ideas for improvements. Room was spacious, bathroom brand new and the view of the Dutch cemetrary and Arabian Sea is hard to beat. Value for money compared to nearby Malabar House. Breakfast is simple and can be expanded if kitchen is staffed better. Can't go wrong. Great location.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the ocean and on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roysush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for finding time to write a review with precision and suggestions to improve. It was wonderful having you with us; we are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights at the recently re-furbished Poovath Heritage in Cochin. It's in a great location close to the beach yet away from the bustle of busy Cochin. The building is an oasis of calm & the rooms are very well appointed. Within the hotel grounds there is a lovely swimming pool - a perfect spot for relaxing.

The outstanding feature here however is the hotel staff, ably led by Abdul Gafoor. Everyone seems eager to please & prepared to go that extra distance to ensure the comfort of every guest. This hotel is a great place to stay in the centre of old town Cochin; we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious & beautifully appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank togozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalby, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Overlooking the Arabian Sea this newly renovated place is as good as it gets. Wonderfully appointed bedrooms, superb bathrooms, pool, balcony and great food. Well located. The staff are teriffic helpful and friendly. Our best in India.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa499651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#35 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#76 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#52 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort

Property: The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
Address: 1/246 Dutch Cemetery Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#29 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poovath faces The Arabian Sea along with the Fort Cochin Beach welcomes you to feel with its much homely Heritage, Godliness through its long & enduring tradition & synergy with famous Dutch cemetery, ancestral Thakur house (residing beside) gives nostalgia of the great bygone eras with the years old traditional architectural design and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovath Hotel Kochi
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing