We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is centrally placed in the old town of Cochin and we could easily walk to all major points of interest. The hotel has areal old fashioned charm. The service by all the staff was excellent. The only problem , which is a feature of Cochin rather than this particular hotel was the number of mosquitoes.
Food was fine and, once we had worked out that breakfast was served upstairs, it was good.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms were quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SylviaHen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritara, General Manager at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Poovath Heritage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed there for two days during the mid of May and found this superb property which is next to the arabian sea.The team there is exceptionally well groomed to take care of all your needs.It has got beautifully laid out garden and lovely pool.Rooms are really spacious and looking more beutiful after the recent renovation.Wouls recommend this property to all the friends and will certainly stay there whenever we are in Kochin.All the best to the Team!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumchb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Namaskaram from The Poovath Heritage, Fort Kochi
And thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights on a holiday weekend, a happy last minute find when some hotels were already full. The spacious, high-ceilinged, air-con room was not only very comfortable and a retreat from the heat, but elegant and opened out to the pool. Cooling off in the pool while drinking coconut water was just what we needed after 6 weeks of travel. After some time in India, we were excited to find that everything here (air-con, wifi, shower, etc) was clean and worked! The best yet to come: breakfast! We are American, but love Indian food, so opted for the Indian breakfasts...exceptional! (Continental available also). Dinner also was so good that we ordered the vegetable korma twice in three days. The hotel staff were wonderful and took care of us, directing us to locations in town, helping us book future travel and even finding me a coconut when the local stand was out! We consider them friends and hope to return here soon!

Room Tip: rooms opening out to pool were quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are really glad to receive the positive feedback and detailed comments you have provided. It was wonderful having you with us and delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

After a few days of staying in hostels, the Poovath was luxury. Air conditioned room, super clean. Bathroom was amazing. Great location, next to the beach, and about a 10 min walk to the Chinese fishing nets.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstylthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for finding time to write a review in tripadvisor. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

we arrived at the hotel at 1 o'clock at night after a 9 hour taxi journey. The staff was very friendly and helpfull and directed us to our room.
The room was very big with high ceilings and a big bathroom (with seperate bath and shower). The shower wasn't the best and you had to wait for like 20 minutes before the water heated up a bit. But once you know that it was ok.
Breakfast in the morning was good. there was selection of fruit and you got toast with eggs, sausages and ham. If you wanted a Indian breakfast they were willing to provide this as well. The location of the hotel is very central. You're located at the beach and you can walk alongside the beach to the little markets and the Chinese fishing nets.
If you dont want to walk the staff is able to arrange a tuk tuk or taxi for you. All in all its a great place to stay when you're in Kochin.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeckishAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really disappointing to know that the hot water got delayed around 20 minutes and sorry for the inconvenience. Actually in couple of rooms gets a lag about 1 to 2 minutes since it is centralised hot water system. Your comment has been noted and will surely take the corrective measures.

It was wonderful having you with us and delighted that the rest of your experiences at Poovath Heritage met your expectations. We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After travelling quite extensively over Kerala, we arrived in Fort Cochin and were delighted to find that we had booked our last 3 nights in the best hotel of all our travels. The Poovath Heritage Hotel overlooks the ocean and beach (great for walks along the sea front to the Chinese fishing boats and main heritage area) and the essential swimming pool..(great to come home to after a hot days shopping!). Also important for us was that it was in a super quiet position and yet so close to the buzz of the central Cochin, its restaurants, cafes and shops etc.
Everything about this little boutique hotel (which was surprisingly a part of a heritage chain) pleased us. It has been recently refurbished and had kept some of the lovely heritage aspects. Our room was spacious with a cute extra sitting area, a super comfortable bed and was tastefully furnished,The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and had a nice restaurant.
But we were most impressed by the exceptional service. From the busy manager down, they could not do enough for us and always found time to help, advise, and give us their lovely smiles and professional local knowledge.
This might sound like an over glowing report...but it was our most enjoyable hotel experience in Kerala and is very much appreciated as a lovely lasting impression before leaving Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: The first floor superior deluxe beach side rooms have the best views but all first floor rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakti41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are really glad to receive the positive feedback and detailed comments you have provided. It was wonderful having you with us and delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel I understand has recently been refurbished and is under new management. Some of the old photographs posted by guests are now misleading as the bathrooms are very modern and nicely fitted out. The air conditioning and fans work well. The hotel is located in its own grounds and is very private and secure. The buildings and contents are very nice and the bedrooms are quite large. Service was excellent during our stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The meals we had were good and we would stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: A sea view is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyonAdvisor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul G, Executive Director at The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the detailed review about the refurbishment of the Resort. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Poovath Heritage met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and look forward to have you back in the near future.

With Regards

Abdul Gafoor
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#169 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#54 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#5 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
676 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#58 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort

Address: 1/246 Poovath Heritage Dutch Cementry Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#39 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poovath faces The Arabian Sea along with the Fort Cochin Beach welcomes you to feel with its much homely Heritage, Godliness through its long & enduring tradition & synergy with famous Dutch cemetery, ancestral Thakur house (residing beside) gives nostalgia of the great bygone eras with the years old traditional architectural design and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovath Hotel Kochi
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing