We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A brilliant way to see Kochi

We did a day trip off season around Kochi. It was around a 50km ride - flat. I was slightly worried... read more

Reviewed 2 June 2018
Katie S
via mobile
A Bicycle Tour well worth the effort and expense

We did not know what to expect before we began this tour. I will say right now that Thomas and our... read more

Reviewed 4 February 2018
Dave_Laurie_56
,
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
3
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We did a day trip off season around Kochi. It was around a 50km ride - flat. I was slightly worried about cycling amongst the traffic but actually it was somehow relaxing. You get to see so much more than in a car. The tour was both interesting and fun. Plenty of snack breaks. We are thinking of returning for a longer trip.

Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thom_KBT, Owner at Kerala Bicycle Trips - Cochin Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Ms Katie,

We thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you back to experience other parts of South India.

Wishing you all the best.

Warm Regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We did not know what to expect before we began this tour. I will say right now that Thomas and our two very able guides, Majid and Ramees did a wonderful job. The hospitality that they extended to us was terrific and seemingly inexhaustible. It began with being picked up at the airport and driven to our hotel, even though we weren't to start our tour for ten days. On day one of the tour, Majid and Ramees came and got us at our hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) and then drove us to our hotel in Fort Kochi, where Thomas met us for dinner and briefed us on our trip. Our only complaint about the hotel, The Secret Garden, was that we weren't able to stay longer! In fact, all the hotels and resorts we stayed in were absolutely top notch. The best part about this is that Kerala Bicycle Trips booked them all. Our only responsibilities were to get ourselves ready in the morning and get to the minivan on time. The bicycles were excellent, brand new mountain bikes with bigger tires that were very appropriate for much of the terrain. I'll talk a bit about our driver, Ramees (please forgive me if I have spelled your name incorrectly) and our guide, Majid. These are two of the most patient, easy going, hospitable and hard working guys that I have ever dealt with on a holiday activity. The only time we had to touch our bicycle was to get on, get off and ride it. We were briefed very morning as to where we were going and what to expect. We could stop anywhere we wanted and Majid and Ramees always had snacks and drinks at the ready for us. If we became too tired to cycle any more for the day, we just said the word and our bikes were packed up for us, we got back in our air conditioned, new minivan and were taken to our hotel. A bit about the physical demands of the cycling. We were able to handle the terrain, however as we got towards noon, the heat and humidity took its tool on both of us. For the most part, the cycling portion required moderate effort (I play ice hockey 3 times per week and my wife is a regular at the gym). The only really demanding part was the climb into the hills. I think that one day required a climb of 600 feet with the occasional steep grade. But, what goes up must come down and the last few days were generally downhill. Once our tour was done, Ramees and Majid drove us to the Cochin airport.

Thank Dave_Laurie_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thom_KBT, Owner at Kerala Bicycle Trips - Cochin Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Dave,

We thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you back to experience other parts of South India.

Wishing you all the best.

Warm Regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Just completed a 8 day guided tour with Kerela Bicycle Trips January 2018 - these guys are excellent , from the planning and booking process through to the tour itself could not have gone better. We are a UK family of six , we did not have the available dates to do their scheduled tours so we created our own. We wanted to do few days in the mountains first on a Tea Plantation and Wildlife sanctuary then start our cycling along the coast to finish our trip , I was going to book the first 3 days myself and just get these guys to do the last 5 , that was too hard so left it to KBT Archana to do the lot , they organised the hotels at much better rates that I was getting back so was glad to let them do it all . We had our own small coach and driver Shaafi for the whole trip and he was excellent , could not do enough for us. Shabeeb was our cycle guide , he met us at airport on day 1 and got us established in our hotel later he escorted us on walking tour of Kochi on the evening of first day recommended a good restaurant . Shabeeb rejoined us on day 4 when our cycling tour began and was our constant guide through the coastal roads of the Kerela seaside. It was 33 degrees every day and we had a constant supply of chilled water and fresh fruit snacks each day to get us through the hot cycling rides that Shaafi would have ready for us at given points each day on our cycle route - they made it so easy . We new nothing of Southern India before we came so these guys took all the worry out of trying to do it ourselves . For anyone considering a similar type of holiday I could not recommend these guys enough. We also had brand new bikes supplied - 5 star.
The Annan Family

Thank TheMondoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thom_KBT, Owner at Kerala Bicycle Trips - Cochin Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Sir,

We thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you back to experience other parts of South India.

Wishing you all the best.

Warm Regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The guide, bikes and support vehicle driver arrived on time and we got away shortly after. Emile and Jude took excellent care of us. We were very happy with the bikes and helmets. The route was flat and very easy riding. We rode on a Sunday morning - Palm Sunday - so there wasn't too much traffic and lots of people walking to church and lots of pilgrims carrying crosses. We really enjoyed the ride and were fascinated by all the action on the roadside. Breakfast was very tasty and enjoyable and the host very friendly.

For being called a "beach" route we didn't see very much of the sea. Also probably because it was Sunday there were not many fish auctions or markets.

Our purpose for bicycle riding is to be able to absorb the surroundings and culture and stop and take pictures. We ended up not finishing the 45km ride because we stopped too often to take pictures and were 1 hour late for breakfast. We rode in the support vehicle for the last 6km.

Next time we will ask more questions about the opportunity to stop and take pictures. We would rather ride less and stop and enjoy more.

Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thom_KBT, Owner at Kerala Bicycle Trips - Cochin Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Sir,

We thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you back to experience other parts of South India.

Wishing you all the best.

Warm Regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

we really enjoyed the hornsBill route and really really enjoyed the guide service that provided. The roads were pretty much vehicle free and the local life was abundant. There many kinds of fruit and nut trees as well as lots of spices growing along the route. The lunch at the camp was fine as well as relaxing there was good.

There were some things that were not as good. The pick up was 35 minutes late which is unusual as most experiences here tend to begin early, not late Although I understood the reason for the delay to pick us up, it was not a good reason. It showed some lack of organization. But perhaps more importantly, The equipment did not include a bicycle pump and this proved to be a problem. Also the equipment supply did not seem to include a replaceable tube of the correct size when one of the bikes had a puncture. Had my wife decided she wanted to ride after lunch, we would have had only two serviceable bikes. As it was on the last leg before lunch, there were only two bikes because of the pump problem and The guide was not able to ride with us.

1  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thom_KBT, Owner at Kerala Bicycle Trips - Cochin Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Sir,

We thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you back to experience other parts of South India.

Wishing you all the best.

Warm Regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews