We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Old Harbour Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$114
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trident, Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Trident Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brunton Boatyard(Kochi (Cochin))
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flora Airport Hotel(Nedumbassery)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tissa's Inn(Kochi (Cochin))
US$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
30
25
14
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
25
14
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese fishing netsgreat locationhot waterhard bedswalking distancebudget stayother guestsclean roomsfort cochinbalconyacindiasheetslaundryhomestay
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The location is good, rooms are clean but dreary. We paid 1200 Rs for an A/C room and indeed there was an air conditioner in the room. But when we tried to turn it on it did't work. We were told that there was a surcharge of 250 Rs for A/C that was not disclosed.when.we checked in. The staff, friendly enough with a sleazy edge, when we checked in, turned nasty when we complained about the bait-and-switch.

There are many nice hotels and homestays in Ft Cochin. No need to patronize these sleazebags.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santosha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

When my friend and I got to Cochin, I was rather hot and cranky. We looked for a while for a place that looked within our budget, and we thought Vasco Da Gama Inn would be out of it. To be honest, it was, but since it's the slow season, we did a bit of bargaining and got a more than reasonable price.

I think it was the nicest place that I've stayed in India that I've paid for out of my own pocket! We had a highly effective ceiling fan, a TV (that went in and out of service, but that's not a major complaint), and towels, soap, and even toilet paper provided. You can order breakfast (toast, omelette, banana, and instant coffee or bag tea) or you can just go around the corner for some spicy Kerala breakfast at the hawker stalls nearby.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location is fantastic, right by the Chinese fishing nets. I was very pleased with my stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekrudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed at Vasco da Gama hotel as recommended by travel agent in Kovallam, our room was clean and had all we required, en suite, table etc. good breakfast and excellent service from Vinny and his staff. Taxi arranged to meet us from station and return when leaving, near all the attractions, good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopkinstownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We happened to check-in into Vasco da Gama Inn as the taxi driver took us there instead of Vasco House (which was recommended to us). We checked the place and found it to be tidy.
We stayed there for two nights. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. We were served good Indian breakfast on the first morning though we were quite late in informing Vinny about our choice. The continental breakfast on the second day was good and well on time (we had a 6:30 AM departure, and had requested for 6 AM breakfast).
The staff and Vinny are very courteous and helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bangalorecaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed at Vasco Da Gama Inn in Fr. Kochin for almost the entire month of April. We were delighted with our large simple and clean room (top floor) which included views into beautiful tree tops, glimpses of the sea, a writing desk, and a working air conditioner. All the staff were consistently gracious. The inn is located near the Chinese fishing nets, the quaint town, exquisite churches, and more. We choose to eat breakfast at various restaurants around town because it was fun to sample all the great food within 5 blocks of the inn.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBernhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews