We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick budget stay”
Review of Vasco Da Gama Inn

Vasco Da Gama Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Ranked #91 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for a quick budget stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed one night on our arrival into Cochin with my 11 year old. Good bed, clean and tidy, shower was warm, sheets were clean. Air con a bit noisy, but we got used to it. Few flights of stairs up to our room, but we were helped with our luggage, so not a problem. Simple breakfast started us off in the morning just fine. Very useful as a budget-friendly quick stop on your way through to exploring Kerala.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank dinotwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    25
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
22
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location right in Fort Kochi. Walking distance to the Chinese Nets, ferry terminal, St Francis Church, markets and restaurants. Very helpful and friendly staff. Room and hotel was rather run down and dirty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent property with a great view, location and great service at its heart. Rooms are beautifully furnished, food is excellent, decor is lovely, and the service is a class apart.

We stayed for 1 night only at this resort but came away wanting more. Spacious rooms and villas for families and cozy enough for couples too. Manager went out of his way to ensure that our stay was comfortable. We landed at this place at an unearthly hour, Manager and his staff cleaned our rooms and provided us dinner at 12.30 Am in the night. We were impressed.

Breakfast buffet and Lunch buffet are remarkable too with a nice mix of kerala and continental cuisine. Very attentive staff and helpful. Beach is 5 mins away and you can glimpse beautiful sunrise and sunsets!

A must place to visit and stay in Cochin...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemarengaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We followed many of Tripadvisor contributions before settling on this hotel. We were not sorry. Arriving at 12.10am, the hotel had arranged a airport pickup avoiding any hassles & negotiating the 1hr trip and the night security quickly got us settled into the really spacious a/con room. After a delightful breakfast, Vinny the manager practically arranged all our tours (costing only tuk tuk or ferry fares). He updated us on all the economical local eateries. The location is only 1 street from the local seafood markets & Chinese Fishing Nets & about 4kms from Jew Town. Most attractions & shops are within easy walking distance. The facilities & service is definitely better than some of the 3 Star hotels we have stayed in in India. Tops to Vinny!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australia0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Firstly, let me thank tripadvisor and other travellers like me who gave me the leads to book this place in Kochi when I was clueless about where to start. Basically it started with a couple of friends and I taking a trip to kochi in early March - we the artists and art buffs were there for the Kochi Muziris Biennale, a one-of-a-kind art event in India that happens in and around Fort Kochi. We were looking for a decent, affordable, clean place, and preferably something close to the main tourist strip.

Vasco Da Gama Inn was that and more, a truely great find... Mr. Vinny Verghese, who runs the place, was very kind to personally guide us to the Inn, and gave us some great trips on things to do and places to get good local cusine. Located just adjacent to the Vasco Da Gama church, near the parade grouds, its a stone's throw away from the beach (with the famous Chinese fishing nets) - I would give it a 10/10 for location alone. We walked to just about every touristy place around, and if it got hot took a rickshaw which was just perfect.

The rooms were nice - minimal, clean sheets, and hot water in the bath (I would give it a 8). They arrange for a simple breakfast upon request (for a minimal cost) which was nice (though we prefered to check out local food in restaurants, all just 2mins away anyways). Cost wise this place was fantastic for what they charged and it seemed very safe and homely.

If you are on a budget trip this is the place for you. You get to take in the best of Fort Kochi at a bargain. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with balconies as they are more spatious and well lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This place is AOK by Indian standards, rooms are adequate, location is probably its best feature being right in Fort Kochi centre.
Watch the prices though as they seem to vary when booking on line. I would say £15-£20 per night is the max you should pay-even for the AC rooms. Plenty of Tuk Tuks to take you around the area but watch out for their usual " can I take you to carpet shop" pitch. and one thing don't don't tip BIG as this is now the ruination of not Kochi but all of India !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoaGoaGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Manager don't know how to behave and he is not at all cooperative. Total Arrogant
You pay for AC and AC won't work
Mosquitoes will not let you sleep
No hot water
If you want to take revenge tell them to stay here and see their frustration.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Dhillonharmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#16 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#47 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#100 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brisbane Lodge
Brisbane Lodge
#174 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#72 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasco Da Gama Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasco Da Gama Inn

Property: Vasco Da Gama Inn
Address: Vasco Da Gama Square | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vasco Da Gama Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vasco Da Gama Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasco Da Gama Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing