We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good and totally satisfactory!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortshore Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fortshore Homestay
Ranked #215 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good and totally satisfactory!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at Fortshore Homestay 2 nights and it was more then very good! The rooms are very simple, but everything is clean, bathroom is clean, breakfast ist good, with
The choice for continental breakfast! Personal is suuuuper friendly and helpful! Overall it was a perfect choice for FortCochin!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sky_is_the_limit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Fortshore is a nice homestay. Booked through yatra.com and got a good deal. Very clean and not far from the fishing nets at Fort Kochi, about 10 mins walk. Good choice of breakfast (included in the price) Indian/continental served on the roof top terrace restaurant. Child friendly, my son was sick and the manager arranged for a doctor promptly. Would stay here again. Value for money.

Room Tip: Not much price difference between getting an extra mattress and a single room as we were three peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geetanjaligarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
578 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

What a great find. The guys running this place are really smashing chaps (they've taken over from Mr Bashir) - they couldn't do enough to help, even offering to lend us money to go to the doctor (we had an emergency and our wallet was empty). The rooms are simple and plain, but the bathroom has perhaps India's strongest power shower, with hot water when you want it. Wifi is also included - brilliant. As there are only 6 rooms, you have the staff's undivided attention. They also run a restaurant, Fort Paradise, and so can deliver food to eat on the balcony. I would recommend this place. Fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington, new zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Our family stayed in a range of places in Kerala, ranging from humble B&Bs to top end hotels, but we all agreed that Fortshore was our favourite. It is modestly-priced, but spotlessly clean and spacious. It's just a couple of minutes walk from the heritage must-sees in Kochi, so very convenient but without the rowdiness of the centre at night. We loved the Internet place downstairs, the three ATMs within metres (at least one of which always had money) and the scrumptious bakery/snackshop four doors up at the corner of the street. Best of all were our hosts, who went above and beyond what you could expect to ensure we got anything we needed - including the best coffee in India, delivered to our room. And they own a very decent, reasonably-priced garden restaurant just minutes away, so we either ate out or they brought it in for us. The place was busy for the four nights we were there, so where are the reviews? This is a neat place, and we'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppynz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Mr Bashir and his family are very welcoming and helpful people. I stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning and the end of my journey through Kerala & Tamil Nadu. I got a lot of good advice and always felt at ease! The rooms are clean, pretty and simple. The breakfast is served under the roof, surrounded by beautifully arranged plant pots.

Thank you so much!
Irene

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Powerbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Room had all we wanted including TV so my husband got to watch his golf. A/C quiet and hot water quite a luxury. Owners helpful, booking onward hotel. Good breakfast up on the roof terrace which was lovely and cool.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Fortshore is a nice homestay with a rooftop breakfast location. Rooms are clean and big enough. Hot shower is available, breakfast is plentiful and the owners are really helpful and nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viwehei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
20.3 mi away
The Hotel Elegance
The Hotel Elegance
#2 of 2 in Angamaly
15 reviews
5.9 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
394 reviews
16.5 mi away
Courtyard Kochi Airport
Courtyard Kochi Airport
#1 of 9 in Nedumbassery
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
917 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tripunithura
80 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortshore Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortshore Homestay

Property: Fortshore Homestay
Address: 1/1123 Kunnumpuram Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortshore homestay is located very near the beach in the heart of Cochin. My family and I run the place and would love all those who need a family atmosphere to come to our place - we guarantee you happiness. We will make you say Fort Cochin is the best place in the world. Our spicy food and culture is soul moving, so pack your bags for Cochin. Spicy and sweet Kerala style food the main tourist attraction such as Chinese fishing nets, spice market, the Dutch cemetery, historical museum and the famous princess street are a step away provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, arrange taxis, flight tickets, train tickets, bus tickets, cultural dances, Martica arts, Indian classical music, genuine Ayurvedic massage, accommodation in next destinations, package tour, 24 hour overnight house boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom , 3-7 hour village backwaters cruise, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fortshore Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing