We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy travellers”
Review of Fort INN Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort INN Homestay
Ranked #272 of 437 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“happy travellers”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This one is a beauty , It is such a refreshing change to get some one like Linda in a tourist region who is so happy to help and arrange things from delicious breakfast of idly or a sumptuous spread of dinner to an Enfield motor bike for a day . Linda was able to organise anything without being intrusive , it was just like coming home and have mother look after you. We loved our time in Fort Kochin
We'll be back
PS Loved the Visual Arts exhibition in all the old buildings awesome

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
20
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed one night at Fort Inn. Linda was sweet and kind and met all our requests with a smile. She made us a delicious breakfast of idlies and coconut chutney. However, the rooms and the beddings were not up to the mark in terms of cleanliness.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kalimirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We ran across this absolute gem of an establishment while aimlessly wandering the streets of Fort Kochin, and after a quick chat with the brilliant, very friendly and generally excellent manager, Linda, we booked ourselves in for the rest of our stay in the surrounds! And we certainly didn't regret our decision. Linda was the perfect hostess, and we both felt incredibly well looked after. Loved the rooms, loved the delicious home-cooked breakfasts, and loved the location. Very good value, and a perfect ending to our extended stay in India.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berndwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Totally disgusted home-stay. I was there for 2 nights and it was the worse home-stay I have ever been: We paid 1.500 rupees for a A/C double room and a few more amenities, and what we had was: no hot water during our 2 days stay, continuous power cuts and even when the power was back, the A/C didn't work. Internet doesn't work...sometimes down in the lobby but NEVER in the room. Breakfast was poor and served in a dirty table: 1 egg,1 toast and tea...that's it. They arrange the transportation for us to go to the airport and they messed up with the time, so we had a crazy careless driver (don't book transportation with them, since you get the same price out with a licensed high quality taxi).
Overall, I didn't enjoy our stay at all...It was very dirty, and they don't clean the rooms or change linens/towels either. Don't get fooled, there are hundred of home-stays in Fort Cochin way way better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caterina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We started and ended our trip here. After two weeks of traveling around Kerala the warm welcome we received from the manager Linda on our second visit made us feel like we were returning home. The location is great serving as the perfect base from which to wander around Kochi. Linda can help you to arrange any travel or is happy to leave you to your own devices if that is what you prefer. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and I loved the breakfasts, a delightful surprise every morning!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was my second stay at the Fort Inn, and I found it just as welcoming as the first time two years ago. Linda, the manager is quite a character, firm but fair and I really felt like she looked after me like my Indian Mother! The rooms are clean, showers are good, and the breakfast is great value at 75 rupees for toast, eggs and chai/coffee. Thank you Linda!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjchambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We had a good sojourn at Linda´s Fort Inn. Very helpful management, fine rooms and a very central location in Fort Cochi. The street outside is quite busy, so if you want to have your afternoon naps make sure to get the room that doesn´t face the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KantarellVisuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Elegance
The Hotel Elegance
#2 of 2 in Angamaly
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Kochi Airport
Courtyard Kochi Airport
#1 of 9 in Nedumbassery
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort INN Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort INN Homestay

Property: Fort INN Homestay
Address: Near Aspinwall Company, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 437 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort INN with all the laid-back splendor of a colonial villa has been transformed by a design conscious restoration. Located in the crossroads of history & conceived as a Heritage Tourist INN. Built in 1855 in Dutch Architectural style & recently restored with modern amenities and carefully decorated with country antiques & by retaining the original heritage structure. Relax in cozy elegance at the historic, 4 - room Fort Inn Homestay, Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of Cochin town is a unique combination of yesterday's charm and today's conveniences. Within walking distance of the city's best restaurants and most popular tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort INN Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing