We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arcadia Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aida(Kottayam)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrysoberyl(Kottayam)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homestead Hotel(Kottayam)
US$21
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$19
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
62
63
35
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
63
35
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsksrtc bus standoldest hotelside dishesclean bed sheetsbusy roadbasement restaurantkottayam towncentral locationpanoramic viewfish currylunch buffetfood tastecourteous staffthe hotel offersheart of the citynice place to staythe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable, however, don't expect any type of service:

- when we asked about available fares, we were not told about the overnight (check in 6pm, check out 10 am) rate which absolutely suited us, and about which we found out the next day by chance
- we asked front desk for a travel agent, they had to make numerous phone calls and we had to wait the next day to be given an address by the train station. Upon our return we were amazed to see that there was one (and a good one) just adjacent to the hotel!
- the employees themselves were making a racket in the corridors at 11pm
- the front desk manager could not answer a single question without making 3 calls first

The restaurant is not only depressing but expensive and terribly slow service for mediocre food.

The pool is nothing to speak of. It is very small and surrounded by concrete.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The experience was absolutely bizarre. Most of the rooms have wall facing windows, the service in the restaurant is slower than snail (we had to leave the table without having food since the order did not turn up upto 1 hr in the restaurant), the food has limited options for vegetarians and service was absolutely non-existent. If you intend to ruin your vacation, visit this hotel or else stay kilometres (not miles) away from this hotel

Room Tip: If at all you plan to stay at this miserable place, insist on the town facing rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maulik1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We wanted a pool and the arcadia provided a no frills pool on the rroftop.The rate was very different when we turned up in person.Internet access is an extra charge.The rooms were just ok ;clean enough but I expected better .The bathroom got very wet when you showered.The breakfast was poor with hard chappattis and a poor choice.We stayed for the pool but it was not what we expected although the reception area looks better than the rest to of the hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1ktw23765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I had gone to Kottayam to attend the wedding of my fiance's brother. My fiance had made sure that I get the best Kottayam could offer. My four days stay at Kottayam turned out to be a great experience because I had a great place to put up. The hotel room was clean specially the bathroom was sparkling. For breakfast it was the same menu every day...toast...appam...egg curry and juice. But the roof top restaurant with the lush green view of the outskirts made it very special. The hotel is located in the midst of a busy marketplace hence offering good accessibility. Room service however disappointed me. But the staff were really nice and courteous. Amazing experience.

Room Tip: The hotel has few rooms which have walls outside the window. Please try to avoid those rooms and tell the front desk that you want a room with the city view. They usually are happy to help.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ism_monalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed first time in this hotel and had a very bad experience. Rooms were not clean and ants everywhere. Bathrooms were not good with taps leaking everwhere. The room had a faulty power switch and the electrician was running from here to there in the middle of the night to get it in working condition. No restaurant / food available between 10 a.m. & 1 p.m. so my guests who came in to visit us at 11 a.m. had to go back empty stomach. All in all a very bad experience and not recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamanAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews