We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel”
Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent four nights here. Overall we found the hotel good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was good at dinner time but the breakfast buffet was the same everyday. The hotel has quite a nice 360 degree view from the top floor. Our biggest problem was that the sheets and towels were not clean. Clearly, they'd been washed but they had a lot of stains (maybe from curry) and were quite old. Also the shower curtain did not look like it had ever been washed. Additionally, it took a long time for the shower to become hot (even on the fourth floor). While we were there, the bar was not in operation due to licensing issues.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has windows..as some did not have any natural light. The second floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

its a nice property no doubt, its in the city center near to the bus stand accessibility is good neatness is excellent total feel of the architecture and interiors are nice, only problem is with the service and delay with the request i hope this will be addressed soon, i may go again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saanms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

superb facilities for the money spent , quite honestly i was surprised about the service received and the general professional behavior of all the staff! very good experience and would recommend it to everyone who is planning a trip there

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I must say that its a clean hotel but very poor hospitality. The front desk people were not frendly at all. I was very disappointed as I saw the dealings of the front desk staff.

Although they saw us as young married couple they still gave us two separate beds and didn't even bothered to send someone to fix the beds.

The only staff I see as hospitable and professional was the person who was incharge of the resturant.

Room Tip: Please do ask for all your needs in advance, eg; if you are traveling as couple they tent to give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed few days back at Hotel arcadia, initially we were been occupied at luxury rooms. Which is extremely spacious but lacks safety in case you are staying along with your kids. Locks for windows aren't functioning properly. The same day we moved to 2 bedroom apartment . Which is pathetically designed where you don't get a hall to utlize , since front and back doors come sans lock. According to hotel people that exit doors will not be used but room service and house keeping use the same. Literally, no idea which door will be used by hotel staff. LACKS Security. Otherwise, value for money

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anderson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed with family this May 2014. Child unfriendly staff at the restaurant during dinner time. Beware that they will embarrass your kid by removing all the cutlery forcibly if he or she touches it. Though i wouldn't blame all waiters but my son who is just 2.5 yrs had this bad experience and he was crying throughout his dinner time. I dint complaint this to hotel management since we dint wana spoil our holiday and stay too.

Rooms and lift were stinking. No room service in the morning even if you press the room service switch inside the room. No hot water in bathroom, only luke warm or even less.

Same menu for breakfast daily, but taste is ok.

Badly maintained pool with small black insects inside. Hotel is at a distance of 3 kms from the railway station and not within 1 km radius as mentioned in their website.

Only good thing is a swift lift service.Hotel is situated in a small lovely town and very near to bust stand.

Hotel management should look into improving the service. I think they only concentrate on guests who book their hotel for a family function or a large get together.

Opinions and expectations differ from person to person. This is my experience which was horrible.

Note: If you are booking through a travel site pls ensure your booking details on receipt are the same when you booked or opted for.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view of town. Take time to check the rooms personally before shifting in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSY1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is located exactly opposite to the State Transport Bus Stand in Kottayam. The rooms are large and spacious enough. Very close to all movie theaters and business hubs. The view from the restaurant at 10th floor is breathtaking. The Lounge bar "ICE" in the basement matches the quality standards of any high class Metro bar. The buffet lunch is splendid. Food is tasty indeed. Traveled for business purposes. Highly recommend Arcadia for all business / family / couple travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remil4remil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Windsor Castle
The Windsor Castle
#5 of 28 in Kottayam
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Residency
Orchid Residency
#22 of 28 in Kottayam
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#6 of 28 in Kottayam
52 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Olive International
Hotel Olive International
#16 of 28 in Kottayam
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Address: T.B ROAD, Kottayam 686001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia, to be precise, the epitome of Kerala’s hospitality has been the pride of Kottayam town since its inception in 1974.Being a fully equipped three star business hotel, Arcadia provides you with a multitude of services that are sure to make your business and leisure trips an overwhelming experience. From gracefully appointed rooms to a baffling range of restaurants; from refined and experienced staff to thoughtfully set conference & banquet halls, Arcadia is all primed to treat you to the best of Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing