We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whispering Palms Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Aida(Kottayam)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Hotel(Kottayam)(Great Value!)
US$43
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chrysoberyl(Kottayam)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
8
13
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
13
9
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel is nicely situated by the lake. It has a small but neatly kept property with lake facing swimming pool. We stayed one night in a lake front room. The room was very nice with properly working AC. Bathroom was very interesting (in a positive way); it had no AC and instead it had a small annex with pebbled floor and no celling (roof open to the outside, screened). Unfortunately I cannot give a good review of the restaurant. The restaurant looked very depressing, needs major renovation and re-decoration. Service in the restaurant is not acceptable; the worst we encountered in India. Many restaurant staff members did not speak English, they were standing next to the door talking to each other and not paying any attention to the customers. Food was average. Hotel has a dock from where we were picked up by the houseboat for a private backwaters cruise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Remisza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed there for couple of nights, attending a conference in kumarakom. The view of the lake is good if you have a lake view rooms. the location is good. But i stayed in a cottage, though there is no view, the charges are very high. The room service is very bad and the food in the restaurant is of average quality. The staff are also not very responsive. i though of giving a rating of 2 out of 5 but gave 3 for the location. If i travel again to kumarakom, i will definitely look for a different place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kranthikpebbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

An ideal resort to spend a few days unwinding. Rooms are quite large and ours had a great view of the lake. You could sit for hours on the patio watching birds and boats.
The food was good and the staff very kind and accommodating. The pool is excellent, stopping just short of the lake.
Only slight negative, as mentioned many times on here, is the unavailability of alcohol, although drivers will willingly stop at the local liquor store and buy beer and management has no objection to drinking on the premises, just wont sell it.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have the advantage of glorious sunset views
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannyannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

A comfortable stay in clean albeit slightly dated rooms. Stayed in a lake view 'cabin'. Peaceful view of the lake with the occasional houseboat floating past. Strange bathroom architecture with roof half open to the elements (eco-friendly?).
Staff were friendly and accomodating. Try the fab local fish steamed in banana leaves - absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Beautiful location, rooms, and cool bathrooms.
Helpful staff and the best honey-ginger prawns we've ever had!
Gift shop is minimal. Themassage service makes up for any short comings- professional and knowledge able staff.
Also, much better value than some other spots close by!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XnthShy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews