We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, good value for money”
Review of Orchid Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Residency
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, good value for money”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here on March 2013, I reached to the hotel at 12 in the midnight, Since i was not sure about the location I called to the hotel, some one picked up and told me how to reach, Checkin was smooth, entered directly to the room, room was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhilashSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    19
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
7
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamshedpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel is located in the market area. Food and the service is good. This is a good place to stay within a medum budget. Looking at the budget the rooms are specious and clean. No doubt food is special attraction.

Room Tip: Rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
261 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed for one day and I must this is good hotel in the area. food is good. overall service was good. fabulous hospitality. Great varieties in the menu . Destination is very easy to find out.
Ample of car parking and I loved it.
It may be difficult to find but you should manage if you have GPS as some roads are one way.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhatriRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochin, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Beautifully maintained hotel with neatly arranged areas, rooms are well maintained,food is also good but the most important, value for money. The rates are very low in comparison. Sleep quality is good.

+ Rooms, cleanliness, value for money, food
- No buffet break fast, no swimming pool


** This hotel is suitable for those who look for decent rated rooms(but not pricy), situated only 16Km away from Kumarakom back waters, easily accessible by car

Room Tip: ** This hotel is suitable for those who look for decent rated rooms(but not pricy), situated only 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sebixavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our trip to Kottayam and the overnight stay on 19th Feb has indeed become memorable ! I and my wife planned the visit to Ettumanoor Temple festival ( 45 mts drive from Kottayam) little realizing that we would land up right in the midst of a 48 hour all India strike by various Trade Unions.

ON the morning of 20th, we woke up to find a town completely deserted of any traffic. The only people seen on the roads were either the supporters of the strike or the police. We had a train to catch at 1145 hours.

Our saviour turned out to be a young hotel staffer named Shagil; who volunteered to drop me and my wife to the station on his bike, one at a time. Even though my wife was quite apprehensive of this mode of travel; we had no alternative.

The hotel staff were well turned out and excellent in their dealings with customers. All credit goes to Hotel Orchid for having such dedicated staff on its rolls !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Chandrakumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kottayam, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I want to share my experience about Hotel Orchid Residency , Kottayam. We used to book 15-20 rooms in this Hotel for the last 2 years for the doctors visiting for attending Advanced Trauma Life Support Courses and other American Heat Association(AHA) courses at IIEMS, Kottayam .The Rooms are neatly maintained and extremely hygienic. The Front Office team under their Manager Ms.Surya is highly receptive. I have great appreciation for Surya for handling cases and very efficient in resolving problems even without losing her patience . The rates too very competitive

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yadunaadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allahabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We spent two days in Kottayam in end Dec 2012. I had wanted a reasonable hotel in an area
with some atmosphere. The hotel is located right in the business district of town (which may
be useful for some) and we found the overall location rather dispiriting and the traffic a menace.
If you were to get a feel for the heritage of Kottayam, this is a bad location. The rooms are good,
the hotel staff is responsive in face to face interaction, but are surprisingly inefficient over the
phone. It could be a language problem, but I had to call five times to confirm an online booking,
was promised every time that the hotel would call back - and this wasted to good part of a day
for us. This was an expedia booking.

A final point. Hotels are not responsible for the behaviour of their guests, but during our stay
there we had a large number of absolutely ill behaved high school students - crammed
several each into neighbouring rooms - and they made life miserable for the other residents.
I think the hotel ignored the convenience of its other guests in making such a booking - and
did nothing to control the behaviour.

Despite the helpfulness of some of the staff, I am unable to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgehoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Icon Classic
Hotel Icon Classic
#24 of 28 in Kottayam
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kottayam
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nisha Continental Hotel
Nisha Continental Hotel
#16 of 28 in Kottayam
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homestead Hotel
Homestead Hotel
#17 of 28 in Kottayam
16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#7 of 28 in Kottayam
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Residency

Property: Orchid Residency
Address: Pulimoodu Junction, Kottayam 686001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Orchid Residency Hotel Kottayam
Orchid Residency Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing