We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alakapuri Hotel

Alakapuri Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kozhikode
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alakapuri Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kozhikode
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stopped by Calicut to take a break on our journey to the South. The reviews for this hotel were pretty positive and the prices looked affordable. What a surprise when we arrived and saw the price of a non-ac room (which is very difficult to bear in Calicut, very hot city). The room had absolutely nothing special. There was only one small fan for the whole room, which wasn't enough.
The ac rooms were much more expensive that what we had paid in Mumbai for example.
Anyway, the experience was rather unpleasant. I wouldn't recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank MangoWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mysore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The property is situation in such a busy vegetable market area. Vintage cottages with its teak furniture and large bathrooms. Some rooms are renovated but have retained the old charm. Service is good if not great. Food is excellent and during lunch hours the large restaurant hall is always crowded. Try meals with fish curry/fry. except during rainy days they arrange tables on the lawn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The unassuming entrance to this hotel hides a little gem in the city. 10 minutes by tuk tuk from the train station this was a snap decision after long train journey. The first room offered for 1300 rupees was disappointing, small and dark. I asked to see another room (1600 rupees) and we was shown a good, spacious room with all mod cons on the first floor looking over the central lawns. Food good in the evening and a nice atmosphere in the evening. Breakfast ok. Room service fine. Rebooked for return journey. Definitely would use again

Room Tip: ask to see a couple of rooms before you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karbon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

stayed here one night after train journey from south kochi before taxi to wayanad , was so impressed booked for return journey. very helpful staff, very good food room , nice to sit at tables on lawn at night

Room Tip: avoid room 9 as its window gets a lot of street noise (overlooks entrance )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This a 50 year old landmark hotel of Calicut. Its an institution of sorts. They have spacious rooms & cottages (family rooms) at very reasonable rates. Its located in the heart of the city but still tucked away from all the hustle n bustle. The facilities are basic but more than adequate and the staff is willing & keen. The food is above average.

Room Tip: If your travelling with your family go for the cottage rooms. They are spacious and have a seperate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shashi__sarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Like the review says- it can be a bad place for sleep.

The hotel has homely AC cottages with sit outs,and the restaurant is good.

But it is located opposite Davison theatre and can be a very noisy area. Besides, the AC circulation may not be enough for the room, making it difficult to sleep for those who have taken extra beds on the floor.

Room Tip: Check the AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSanjeevGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI.INDIA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Room was booed on Phone. Excellent food and service. Room service was very good. Traditional Kerala Food. Value for money. Location of the Hotel is in the middle of Kozhikodu.Crowed area,
Very close to Railway Station and Beach. Only problems was , even after repeated reminders there was no Hot water in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Stayed in a cottage. very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAIRMURLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.7 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyson Heritage
Hyson Heritage
#8 of 37 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paramount Tower Hotel
Paramount Tower Hotel
#16 of 37 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alakapuri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakapuri Hotel

Property: Alakapuri Hotel
Address: M.M. Ali Road, Kozhikode, Kozhikode 673002, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Alakapuri Hotel Kerala/Kozhikode, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing