We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for single night,- typical city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Keys Hotel Malabar Gate
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good for single night,- typical city hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It’s a typical city hotel. Nothing noteworthy except the location I guess. T he room and the service were good the sheets on the bed and towels were old and terribly uncomfortable. I book the room through booking .com for 2 pax then also they provide only single pax amenity and towel in the room the reception people was good, Bathroom compared to the room was very small with just a shower and a shower curtain. Bathroom exhaust fan was not at all effective as no fresh air was coming in the bathroom. Room service they are not up to the mark whatever items showed in menu card is not available, they have their own fixed dishes this is very sad,

Not worth the price charged for a room

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 801ajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    17
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
11
7
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Centrally located, good spacious rooms. However the electrical fittings are rusted, outdated and become loose. Was unable to plug in and charge. Customer service needs to improve a lot. They don't even offer to carry your luggage to your room. You are given the keys and told the room number and the floor and you make your way to the room. There are no pick-up and drop from/to Station / Airport.

Room Tip: Centrally located and close to railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishnan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here one night while competing in the Rickshaw Run. They had secure under ground parking which was important to us. Rooms were decently clean but basic. Walking distance to Focus Mall which had good restaurant choices. There was good wifi in the lobby, none in the rooms. Hot water. We had a cot in our room for our third person.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnurse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed in the hotel as I could not get Taj Gateway and other similar hotels. It was surprising that this low budget hotel was a delight in terms of service, cleanliness and the breakfast. It was an extremely comfortable stay and the staff helped me get the cheapest deal in the city for cab service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmolarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malabargate, Front Office Manager at Keys Hotel Malabar Gate, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your appreciation, which is really encouraging to our employees.

At Hotel Malabar Gate, we try our best to make each of our guest stay an experience, and your review tells us that, our effort did not go in vain.

Thank you again & looking ahead to hosting you while you are back in the city.

Sreenath Nambiar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed for just a day recently since the client i was visiting was very nearby.. teriible would be understatement.. no people to help u around or take ur luggage to ur room.. rooms are extremely small, smelly.. they should name this a lodge.. dont stay !

Room Tip: Dont stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srikanth_Iyer1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malabargate, Front Office Manager at Keys Hotel Malabar Gate, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your valuable suggestion.

It was great to have guests like you staying with us offering valuable opinions so as we can keep on improving. We take the issues raised by you very seriously and necessary actions have been taken to ensure that such experiences doesn't happen to any of our guests.

Only thing which we cannot rectify is the size of the room, which was designed in 2000's.

We understand that our sorry or excuses cannot substitute the experience you had with us.

Thank you again and looking ahead to your future visit, if ever to kozhikode, which we promise that you won't regret.


Sreenath Nambiar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kozhikode hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Highly recommended if you are looking for a comfortable stay in the heart of calicut.
The check ins were very quick , room service was kind of slow ...washrooms are equipped with the basic necessities.
The restaurant is not open 24/7. so if you land up at odd timings the restaurant offers only sandwiches( you always have the option to go out and try some late nite street food)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharathSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malabargate, Front Office Manager at Keys Hotel Malabar Gate, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you of taking some time off, your schedules to review our hotel.

Your suggestions on delay in Room Service, has been noted and taken care off.

The quick Check In you received is part of our USP. Thank you for your appreciation which is really encouraging to our employees.

Our Room Service is available round the clock, but, limited to quick snacks and beverages.

We'll surely think on upgrading, this facility to a full fledged one.

Thank you again for your valuable suggestion and review.

Looking ahead to your visiting Hotel Malabar Gate, Kozhikode.

Have a Great Day !!!

Sreenath Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Don't have a high expectation seeing the tariff and the name of the promoters.
Be ready to wait for at least for and hour and half if you order food thru room service. I also had concerns about the Cleanliness of the bed and Linen provided .This property is located right in the city and can be maintained very well . I didn't fell this place to be any where close to value for money .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renjithmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malabargate, Front Office Manager at Keys Hotel Malabar Gate, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable suggestion.

We take the issues raised by you very seriously. We apologize the delay caused in serving food from Room Service. We also had very intensive review of our Housekeeping activities, which we'll make sure won't be repeated.

Looking ahead to your next visit, which we'll make sure to be worth of what you pay.

Have a Great Day !!

Sreenath Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
7.7 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 38 in Kozhikode
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#8 of 38 in Kozhikode
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 38 in Kozhikode
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 38 in Kozhikode
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar Palace
Malabar Palace
#12 of 38 in Kozhikode
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#15 of 38 in Kozhikode
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keys Hotel Malabar Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keys Hotel Malabar Gate

Property: Keys Hotel Malabar Gate
Address: Malabar Gate | Near Malabar Gold & Diamonds, Kozhikode 673004, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Keys Hotel Malabar Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Termed as the "City of Sculptures"- Calicut is home to one of the finest hotel in the city- Keys Hotel Malabar Gate. The hotel is strategically located around the commercial hub and is in close proximity to the airport & the beach. The hotel offers its guests' elegant rooms and efficient service that are synonymous for 'pleasant stay 'and 'great experience'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Keys Hotel Malabar Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keys Hotel Malabar Gate Kerala/Kozhikode, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing