We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old is Gold... But needs renovation.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kozhikode
Certificate of Excellence
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Old is Gold... But needs renovation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 day after many years. I could hardly find any changes over the period of 10 years. Most of the furnitures and utileteries remained the same. Definitely needs facelifting and renovation. Rooms were clean but full of dust. Safety was of least concern due to easily openable windows in the room.

Good things to mention -- pool was great, staff was helpful. Dinner and breakfast were just OK. Staff were friendly. They have managed to keep water taps for the toilets. -- A change I have noticed over the period of 10 years.

No much parking available. No separate parking facility for the hotel staying guests. Will advice to others only if renovated and refurbished.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are great but be cautious for those who are having small kids. The windows are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmohamedroshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikasParimoo, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Dr.Mohamed Roshan

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor

We have noted your constructive feedback .We have shared your feedback with the concerned team and corrective steps are in place to ensure a memorable stay in your future visits.

Thank you for giving us another opportunity and I look forward for your next visit with us .Do let me know when you plan for the same.

Assuring you of our best services and hospitality at all times.

With renewed apologies

Warm Regards

Vikas Parimoo
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Calicut
P.T.Usha Road,Calicut -673032,Kerala,India

T 91 495 6613000
D 91 495 6613033
M 91 8589016147
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    157
    71
    20
    8
See reviews for
111
51
19
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

It has all hospitality which Taj group of hotels stands for.

Special mention for Chef Mr. Johnson he has made my day, everyday, during my three day stay by delighting & amazing me with local Kerala dishes

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayankmalviya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikasParimoo, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mr.Mayankmalviya,


Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor

We have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to our hotel.

We thank you once again for your appreciative feedback and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.


Warm Regards

Vikas Parimoo
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Calicut
P.T.Usha Road,Calicut -673032,Kerala,India

T 91 495 6613000
F 91 495 6613001
D 91 4956613033
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hi Colleagues,
i had very bad experience with gateway Hotel, i stayed their during 21st and 22nd march. on 22nd march i along with my relatives went for lunch in attached restaurant and ordered items from menu and were waiting for order to be served. exactly 10 minutes after our order mayor of city came in and ordered food items. to my surprise i saw that mayor was being served ahead of us with starters and other food items while we were waiting for starters for 30 minutes. i called the waiter and asked the reason for delay and he said our items are getting ready.we were getting late for an important appointment and even after repeated request to serve faster we were delayed at the cost of mayor. we cancelled the starters and asked for main course while expressing our disappointment and questioning why mayor is being served ahead of us. waiter expressed his symapthy and offered to serve icecream as complimentry item. it was extremely painful experience from a hotel run by tata group which vows of customer centricity and equal attention to all customers.
Vikas
9845382867

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vikas567123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikasParimoo, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Mr .Vikas Kumar,

Thank you again for sparing your valuable time and speaking to me.

We have noted your constructive feedback and we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. We have shared your feedback with the concerned team and corrective steps are in place to ensure a memorable stay in your future visits.

Thank you for giving us another opportunity and I look forward for your next visit with us or any of our properties. Do let me know when you plan for the same.

Assuring you of our best services and hospitality at all times.

With renewed apologies


Vikas Parimoo
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Calicut
P.T.Usha Road,Calicut -673032,Kerala,India

T 91 495 6613000
F 91 495 6613001
D 91 4956613033
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a great experience at Taj restaurant on 28 jun, It was awesome. When we reached there we met Duty manager Mr Riju he is very nice and good guy ever I met. He knows how to handle the guest. Then we went to Restaurant, It was decorated with fifa colours, food and service was excellent,Especially the mock tail making man I forgot his name and Mr Sandeep, all are very nice and good.Thanks to them and it was a memorable dinner in my life..........

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hari433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,293 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,018 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is about 45minutes drive from the airport however very close from railway station if you commuting by train.
From airport if you taking a taxi it will cost you around INR1400 each way.

The gateway hotel was formerly known as “Taj” and still people do know it by that name only.

When we arrived our check in was smoothly done by one of the trainee staff. And it didn’t even take time for the complete procedure.
Staff are friendly at the check in desk. What I didn’t like was they didn’t mention if the breakfast was included or it was free they just said breakfast in in GAD from so and so time to so n so time. Please note being an international traveler with having visited over 42countries what I understood is when a hotel desk says breakfast from so n so n so n so place means its included. Which a surprise at the time of check out!!!
The lady in the lobby to assist was also good. Lobby is clean, quite big in size with a traditional floral art in the centre of the lobby.

The rooms are good enough for 2 people. Bathroom fixtures and style is not up to the standard. The tap and shower buttons seems tooooooo old definitely need a replacement. You have to press it hard to avoid dripping of water.
Rooms have complimentary 2small water bottles. WIFI is not free. It’s at a charge. Housekeeping were too good with their service and they did pay a visit twice a day to check if anything is needed like towels/tissues/water….

Coming on to breakfast… was decent enough with a variety of bakery stuff to varierious juices, egg, idli, dosa, puri, and lot more.

Hotel from outside has trees planted quite green and has ample of space around to stroll inside the compound. It has outdoor swimming pool which is very nice to sit by in late evening. Wellness centre.
Hotel also has a 24hours restaurant –GAD ( Gateway All Day) which serves delicious food but I feel it’s expensive. Lunch for 2 costs around INR2800.

The gate keeper Mr. Manoj is very helpful who assisted us with communicating with the tuk tuk people to understand our requirement.

Check out was smooth however as I mentioned earlier that breakfast charges were a surprise!!!
I also have a concern of their professionalism… they lack with security check….. If a third person calls and asks for guest information it is given out without doing security check… when was the highest disappointment!!!

Hotel needs to take care of all these minute things and needs to well maintain their property as they are amongst the very few and good hotels in Calicut!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikasParimoo, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your appreciation of our staff and their thoughtfulness.
It is a matter of concern that we did not meet your expectations. We have noted your observations and taken up appropriate measures to take care in future.

We do look forward to welcoming once and look after you better.


Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is a good way off from the airport. However, it is a short walk to the beach and reminds one of Goa. The breakfast buffet is very good and can relax you totally after a night spent watching the stars on the beach. Neat and clean, the staff are friendly. I was with my elder sister aged 75, and she found the entire hotel quite access friendly. Room service was efficient and so was housekeeping. All in all, a very satisfying stay.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, quiet, sea facing room. If you are three adults, ask for a stiff mattress for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenuLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikasParimoo, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your accolades for the food and services extended to you during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you and serving you again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at kadavu previously and at Taj on this trip. Both for the same reason. Gorgeous setting and old building. The general appearance and architecture doesn't let you down but does Calicut have a problem maintaining old buildings? The toilet sinks are quite old and it shows and the loo has many make shift plumbing that is usually typical of a two star or less.
We had taken the weekend off to lounge by the pool. The pool was out on maintenance and they couldn't tell us when it would be fixed.
Most of their staff specially in the restaurant are very young and not very comfortable with English. They do make up for any lapse in service by being exceedingly sweet, but there are times I would prefer my egg with my meal than ten minutes after.
I will have to return to Calicut many times. I have learned my lesson. Will stay in newer hotels with not so much a view for good value for money, and go to kadavu for dinner. At least my plumbing will be new without drips

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaalika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikasParimoo, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that we did not measure up to your expectations. We have noted your concerns and have taken corrective steps already.

We do look forward to welcoming once and look after you better.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
3.3 mi away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#17 of 37 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
8.8 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#9 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#10 of 37 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Malabar Palace
Malabar Palace
#11 of 37 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut

Property: The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Address: PT Usha Road, Kozhikode 673032, India (Formerly Taj Residency Kozhikode)
Region: India > Kerala > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kozhikode
#2 Spa Hotel in Kozhikode
#2 Business Hotel in Kozhikode
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spices and History. Beaches and Business. Calicut has it all. The Gateway Hotel keeps you close to the city centre while providing a smart retreat. Step out into this historic city and when you're ready, back to modern comfort tucked away in lush greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Kozhikode
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut Kerala/Kozhikode, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing