We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Prakriti Homestay
Frankfurt am Main
1 review
“Very recommended”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We (two women) stayed at Meena's house for 4 nights in December 2011. We loved the house and the location and Meena was a great host. Very dedicated. She organised almost everything for us - the taxidriver (Paolos - also very recommended), trips in the town, periyar park excursion and many more. Meenas cooking lesson was a highlight.
The room was nice and clean. Hot water, internet - all there. The breakfast was excellent and Meenas coffee delicious.
All in, I would very recommend this guest house.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at Villa Prakriti in december 2010 for 3 days and it was a fantastic experience. The owner, Meena, is an excellent host and helps you when ever she can. Above that she has a lot of good contacts with good taxidrivers (who drive slowly) and knows everything you need to visit the region. She helped us book several hotels in de region. When you are travelling shee even gives you advice en makes telephonecalls to solve problems.
Breakfast is a feast at Villa Prakriti: Meena cooks everyting you want but we suggest to let Meena cook what she wants, its perfect!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hehallozeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We spent four nights at Villa Prakriti and loved it. Meena and Bibi are fabulous hosts - the highlight was our new year with them. They are genuinely interested in their guests and have a wealth of local knowledge to share. They really went to a lot of trouble to make us feel welcome and ensure our stay in Kumily was fabulous. Meena's cooking lesson was relaxed and fun, and the feast afterwards was excellent. The rooms have a separate entrance to the main house - so no need to feel like you are intruding. There is also a separate kitchen available for use - particularly good if you need a break from curries for a meal or two! I have no hesitation in recommending this homestay and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingkiwi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodaikanal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

4 days at Prakriti - absolutely fantastic! Very good room, quiet and peaceful location, a lot of interesting places to visit, will return back to experience more.
Dr. Fififi

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Fififi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We stayed at the villa for a couple of nights and had a great time! The hosts Bibi and Meehna are inviting and fun, and the location is ideal - close to the national park, a walk away from an organic spice farm and amidst incredible landscape. I had a really good time relaxing in the garden, enjoying the great weather and listening to good music. This is a place you won't forget!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambralise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I stayed for three nights near the end of my two-months India journey at Villa Prakriti, and I had a wonderful time. The German-Indian host couple Bibi and Meena are most helpful and truly interesting people, they will give lots of advice on recommendable activities in the area. The house is in a quiet area, set off from the main street, but only a short rikscha-ride from the town of Kumily and the Periyar/Thekkady National Park. My room was splendid and cozy, decorated with a nature painting by Meena, with a veranda and a nice view on the jungle garden of Villa Prakriti. I would have loved to stay longer - maybe next time ! The price was perfectly OK, too (just 1800 Rs. per night).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelFalk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2008

The villa is a really nice HOMEstay. The rooms are lovely, the garden is fantastic, the dogs are really sweet and the owner very helpful and knowlegdeable. They can recommand good things to do and orginize a vistits to the best spice garden and a very good guide through the national park of Periyar.

They are also always prepared for a nice chat and interesting things to tell about India. We can highly recommand this place.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Danipuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#6 of 43 in Thekkady
860 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaana Plantation Resort
Amaana Plantation Resort
#1 of 43 in Thekkady
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Prakriti Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Prakriti Homestay

Property: Villa Prakriti Homestay
Address: 1 Mile, Opposite St. Thomas School, Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear travelers, We will not be open until renewal of homestay license is done. Regret and open for cuisine courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Prakriti Homestay Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing