We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average hotel with very poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Michael's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Michael's Inn
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Thekkady
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below average hotel with very poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed there in December 2011. Hotel is near to market place and jungle safari on other side. Rooms are average. Hotel restaurant service is very very poor. we ordered for lunch and wait arond 20 minits then the waiter came and told us that they dont have your ordered food i was shocked it was around 2.30 PM and we were quite hungry i came reception and complaint then receptionist go with us and we change our order it took around 20-30 minit to serve the food. Food below average.

Room size is spacious but average only. I will not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: As per my experience i would recommed to look a better hotel with good restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabab k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Shadab,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are disappointed to learn that you had an in different experience while staying with us. You have particularly mentioned about the food service and the time taken to serve food. I humbly accept that it was short coming on our part to have kept you waiting and then being told that the ordered item was not available. It was a communication error and the concerned staff members have been spoken to regarding the issue. The availability of the item should have been communicated to you immediately. Secondly you had mentioned that it took 20 minutes to serve the order. Sir, I would like to politely remind you that it is clearly mentioned in the menu card that the time taken for preparation of an order is approximately 20 - 30 minutes. We prepare our food freshly and only on order and hence it may not be possible to serve the order sooner. I hope you understand. Sir, I assure you that the issues have been looked into and necessary corrections have been made. Please do come back to stay with us and we will do everything within our means to make your stay pleasant.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    61
    55
    14
    18
See reviews for
85
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

we were 4 couples with 2 kids. The staff was not helpful in terms of food and milk for kids. The rooms in the hotel were very clean. The bathroom was also clean and there were amenities required (soap, shampoo etc). Did not have much time to taste the food there as we stayed there only for a day, but bu the breakfast was good. The hotel is located near the market and other activities. overall good and budgeted

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Ritesh,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are happy to learn that you had a good stay. You have mentioned certain issues with certain staff members to helping you out. I apologise to you on behalf of them for their shoddy service. The concerned department has been spoken to and I assure you that such a thing would not happen again. Do visit us again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed in the Hotel along with my wife and small baby. Hotel is located in the heart of Thekkady. Nice Hotel, neat and clean. Rooms are properly decorated. Room service is also good. Most satisfying experience. I strongly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Guest,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience staying with us. The happiness of the customer is our satisfaction and that is what keeps us going. We assure you that we would maintain our standards and improve wherever necessary. Do come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a package tour, so I can't comment on whether the hotel is good value for money or not, but overall it was an excellent stay that I am happy to recommend.

PRO:
- Very clean rooms (albeit with a wet bathroom that doesn't separate toilet from shower)
- Free wifi in the lobby
- Helpful staff who told us how best to score a visit to Periyar Lake, though they didn't seem very clear on how to get tickets in advance
- Limited but tasty breakfast with a dosa and omelette station

CON:
- Cheeky restaurant that overcharged us for food we ordered for lunch (though it tasted good)

Overall, the hotel was nice, with a good location and comfortable, clean rooms -- I'm happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigintangibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Guest,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your special mention about the staff is highly appreciated. I would also like to politely remind you that the food served in the Restaurant is only served on order by the guest after a menu card with clearly marked prices are presented to the guest. The computerised billing cannot over ride and change prices of items other than what is mentioned in the menu card. Hence the question of over charging does not arise. If such a thing has happened, please send us a copy of the bill and we will verify, investigate and if found wrong, we would definitely refund you. I hope you understand. Thank you once again for staying with us and do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The rooms in the hotel were very clean. The bathroom was also clean and there were amenities required (soap, shampoo etc). Did not have much time to taste the food there as we stayed there only for a day, but i must admit the staff is helpful .The hotel is located near the market and other activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmkarKMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Omkar,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you once again and please do come back to stay with us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed at Micheal's Inn in October. Nice well maintained rooms, clean bathrooms, very nice food especially the buffet breakfast and finally the staff - polite an very helpful. Close to all the activities in Thekkady! Overall a very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jade c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Jade,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. I also understand that this is your second visit to our Hotel and that you have been thoroughly satisfied with us during both the times. Comments such as yours are highly appreciated and valued at our organisation. It will definitely spur us to maintain our standards and raise it wherever necessary in future. Your coming back to us is testimony enough of the goodwill that we enjoy among our guests. We are honoured. Thank you, once again and do come back to us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I had stayed for 2N & 3D..It was pleasant staying...! Market nearby..!
There was a bit mistake by hotet staff...No...No... not so serious...!
Like they added some other tea bill to my account. I stayed in room no like 305...and couple form room no 306 order some tea/coffee but while checking-out they handed some bill of around 45-50 rs. but problem was cleared / and solved.
Ahhhh rooms
Rooms were comfortable but small. Bed, bathroom were clean & tidy...
Good experiance...!

Room Tip: Rooms no from serious no 301-306 small rooms but neat..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pankaj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Pankaj,
We at, Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during you visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please do bear with us for the clerical error that you mentioned. I assure you that we would not repeat it again. Thank you, once again, for being with us and do come back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#19 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 42 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himarani
Hotel Himarani
#36 of 42 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 42 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumily Gate
Hotel Kumily Gate
#39 of 42 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Inn

Property: Michael's Inn
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Michael's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paradise concealed within the enigmatic spice gardens. Michaels Inn is the place where you want to stay in at Thekkady. Tucked away in the midst of verdant tea and spice gardens of the Western Ghats, Michael's Inn stands close to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Nestled in the very heart of a host of inspiring surroundings, Michael's Inn offers you the very best, with an elegant combination of native beauty, rural serenity and modern amenities. Let Michael's Inn look after you. Caressed by the nature around, this fine tavern helps you to discover Thekkady. Witness the pageantry of natural forces at work from a stage set in at a magnificent place by the name, Michael's Inn. Cradled in an exquisite altitude of the Sahyadris, Michael's Inn is sure to provide a different facet of nature to the discerning nature lovers At Michael's Inn our motto is 'It is very personal'. True to the motto we maintain a very personal experience to the guests visiting us. We provide a neat, clean and friendly environment at Michael's Inn. The guests can be assured that in trying to keep up with our motto and policies we are willing to travel the extra mile to meet their expectations. A weary traveller should always leave us with a refreshed and relaxed mind and body. Comfort prevails in our comfy rooms, roomy enough to house the fresh air. Nature and culture, ethnic and luxury, all these in several forms enliven lives at Michael's Inn. Life is a splendid affair in the company of virgin nature. Live in and revive your smile. All sorts of modern amenities accompany the 25 well designed air-conditioned and non-air conditioned rooms. Eat Inn - the rich taste of an enriching Kerala cuisine. The aromatic spices bring out a special flavour to the food varieties that's especially lip smacking. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves delicious food extending the excitement. The choice of food includes Kerala delicacies, as we've emphasised, Indian, Continental and Chinese. Let Michael's Inn treat your taste buds with the exotic aroma and delicious food that's specially prepared with lots of love and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Michael's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael's Inn Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing