We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Michael's Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$105
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$77
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spice Village(Thekkady)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
55
64
56
15
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
64
56
15
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning breakfastnice hotelrooms are smallstayed here for one nightdosawalking distancehotel is locatedjeep safarimarketkalariperiyararrangementsindiamosquitoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I went to Kerala in the year 2008.I had a plan to visit the Periyar forest reserve. So i booked my hotel at Thekkadi through makemytrip.com. This hotel was not very large but had a homely atmosphere. Complementary breakfast was very good. Rooms were clean and had cold and hot water facility. This was important.Because went went in December and this was hilly region. This was the only place where we found cold winter. Other places in Kerala was very hot even in DEC.
All the staffs were very cordial and helpful. They arranged for our trip to Thekkady forest. Though the hotel is not very near to Periyar reserve we enjoyed our stay there. There is no option in when did you travel earlier than 2012 so i marked December 2012.Please ignore it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinushooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are happy to learn that you found our hotel to your liking. From your comments I understand that you found our Hotel to be 'Homely'. Well you have hit the nail right on the head with the description. Our motto at Michael's Inn is 'It is very Personal', and in keeping with that we try to provide a very personal and homely environment to our guests. Your comments are highly appreciated and I assure you that we will maintain our standards and keep improving wherever necessary. Thank you once again and do come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We checked in at about 12 noon and it was very smooth and fast. I had booked for non AC deluxe but on arrival due to hot weather conditions I opted for AC Deluxe room. With out any fuss and confusion we got the room and I must say that the house keeping is excellent and the room and rest room is very clean.
The shopping for spices is a walkable. Please do not get attracted by commercial adds for musical fountain, elephant ride, kalari payatu etc., for which the charges very high and fleecing.
The restaurant in this hotel is maintained very clean and the food served is very good and soft on your stomach. For Veg lovers there is a Gujrathi Bojnalaya just opposite to this hotel where a good north Indian food varieties are available.
On the whole we had a pleasant and comfortable stay at Michales Inn - Thekkady

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
4  Thank Sudhakar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Sudhakar,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our property and services up to your expectations. We take immense pride in our hospitality and when guests such as yourself, appreciate our efforts, we are humbled. Your special mention of certain departments and staff in particular, for their stellar service, have been passed on to them. Thank you once again Sudhakar for staying with us and do come back to us when you visit Thekkady next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour. I've read the other reviews and noted that others have complained about the time taken to serve food but I can say it hasn't improved. It went from one extreme to the other, dinner was practically thrown at us, they were obviously in hurry to close, breakfast was very slow and I had to ask twice for our food. The menu listed poached egg, but when I asked for one I was told I couldn't have one.
The hotel was practically empty and as we were only a small group we should have been give nicer rooms. The bathroom shower head needed fixing and sprayed water everywhere.
TIP to the management put up a shower curtain.

Room Tip: Ask to see other rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glamgran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Glamgran,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to Thank you choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We understand from your comments that you had certain issues with our restaurant and service. Sir/Madam, we humbly apologise to you for the tardy service offered to you by the restaurant staff. I assure you that the concerned incident will be investigated and if found guilty, action would be taken against the concerned staff members. You are well within rights to a better service and have every right to feel aggravated for the shoddy service. Sir/Madam, in view of the bad experience that you had at our Hotel, We would like to offer you a FREE one night stay at our Hotel. Please accept our offer and do come back to stay with us. We will be at our best the next time around.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were part of a tour group The check in was very smooth. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also large with copious amounts of hot water. The only issue with the room was I disturbed a rat in the bathroom when I went in there during the night. In fairness it didn't look as if it was a long term resident and it was unlucky it had found it's way in there during our stay. We were only there one night and I alerted reception they assured me it would be sorted. I hope for the sake of the next resident in that room that it was!

Despite the rat experience we enjoyed our stay The evening meal we had as a buffet was vey good. The alcohol licence ensured we were able to have a welcome beer with dinner. The breakfast was also very good. It is only a very short walk to town and there are Katakaly centes and Martial arts venues on the way within a few hundred yards of the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieNot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Jamie,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady, India. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are indeed honoured. We have also taken note of your comment regarding a certain pest issue that you faced in our property and have put in place measures to contain / eradicate the same. We have a pest control department in our organisation and pest control measures are done on a daily basis. This particular pest must have out lasted our control measures. We sincerely apologize for the difficulties that it may have caused you. We further assure you that such an incident will not happen again and we have increased our level of pest control in order to solve the issue.
Thank you once again for being with us and we hope to welcome you again in our property when you visit Periyar again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

we had trip to kerala in dec,we are family of 4 pacs,me my wife and our 12yrs and 16 yrs childerns.the rooms were good at the price we got.hotel building was traditonal old but intererior was very good.the main markeat was near to hotel at few minutes walking distance,the kathakali center and elephant ride was also nearby.service was good,food was very delicious,rasturent was small but good interiors.overall it was good experince.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gulab72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Gulab,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to take this opportunity to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Your comments regarding our hospitality and services are highly appreciated and it will serve us as a tonic to achieve better results. We assure you that we will maintain our standards and do everything possible to consistently improve where ever needed. Do come back to stay with us.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews