We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”
Review of Hotel Treetop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Treetop
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

After already one very exhausting week in India (befor Uzbekistan etc) the treetop hotel in
the marvellous Kerala province of India was a verxy good place to stay for us- comfortable and clean cottages, quick room service, satifying bathroom and space, quietness because some distance from the restaurant.
We had a very good dinner in the restaurant- and very important during a around the world
trip- and an excellent night as well-quiet,good beds.

Room Tip: No noise at all in some distance from the restaurant
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ratpackvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Treetop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is so ideally located for visitors to the Periyar Forest Reserve.The cottages were very well appointed and comfortable .We were pleasantly surprised to get a welcome drink -surmani before being shown to our room.The hammocks put outside every cottage cluster was a great idea!Had a great time indoors when it started drizzling and we had to abandon our plans to go out for dinner.The activity room provided us an opportunity to play table tennis with friends after maybe 10-15 yrs, while dinner was being prepared! Overall,a wonderful experience staying there!! Only wifi in the rooms was sorely missed !!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the forest offer great views of the hills.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed with my family and all were very happy with room cotages,vegetarion food - excellent and very good services they provided.Activity room was very good with indoor games facilities like carrom,table tennis etc...This was off season so we got full attention!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatureLover108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Reception : Warm, friendly, efficient & welcomed us with a fruit juice. Our tour agent's representative greeted us and that added a personal touch to our trip.
Room : 402 - Spacious. Bathroom : Clean (a shower) The room was further away from the main block and that gave us the peace ful & quiet atmosphere. Tea-coffee facility is provided upon request.
Sleep quality : Excellent. A comfortable bed with clean sheets. I got up to the sounds of the temple bells, aroma of incense burning from afar and some religious music going on. (I guess there must have been a temple nearby)
This hotel brought back memories of my trip to Scotland many years ago...the colonial, granite stone cottage set-up.
The property is located in a forest surroundings. Beware of monkeys and never try to feed any! Keep your windows closed ALL the time.
Breakfast (Buffet) : Was nothing great...just the basic Indian & Western breakfast.
Dinner (ala-carte): There is quite a choice from the menu.
Location : Approximately a 20 mins walk to the street selling all kinds of jewellery/clothes/bags, etc
A very, very peaceful, green surroundings. If you are a nature lover, this is the place for you. I would certainly like to go back there again. As you walk along the hotel premises, you will see several hammocks hanging under the trees for one to enjoy.
Activities that you can carry out while in Thekaddy : Boating, a visit to the tiger reserve, jungle trekking & ayurvedic massages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BalvirBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to the Periyar Tiger Reserve.
Excellent breakfast.
Rooms are big, nice and cozy. Big bathroom with Shower.
One has to keep the room window and door closed as this place is surrounded by monkeys.
Not much to do or see at thekkady other than the get a massage. Go for forest walk or boating.
The forest reserve is very beautiful. Nature walk is lovely. Rafting and walking through the jungle etc was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RajeshCOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at hotel tree top for a night. It is very basic hotel with no basic amenities.
The rooms were very dark, with no basic amenities such as Tea /Coffee Maker.
Bathroom was OK but shower was not working fine.
We just had breakfast and that was good.

The outer of the property is good, but the interior of the room was pathetic.
i will give 4 out of 10.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit_Sharma_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at Treetop in end-May'14 and found the place pretty average overall. The location was scenic and had good views from the room. The reception staff were not so welcoming (not sure why) and we got a feeling as if they were doing us a favour - so not a great initial experience.
The rooms are OK and fairly basic and the decor appears dated. There is very poor ventilation in the room. Windows cannot be opened due to the variety of bugs/insects/mosquitoes around. This makes the room very stuffy and results in poor sleep quality.
A simple thing like a net / mesh on windows could have helped.
The shower and faucet in the bathroom were not functional either.
Room service and house keeping is quite poor and not prompt. Our rooms were not cleaned despite requesting the reception.
Food at dinner time was quite tasteless and had average fare.
Breakfast was much better though and offers a good variety.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prash_Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#14 of 43 in Thekkady
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Treetop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Treetop

Address: Lake Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range: £31 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Treetop 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the natural beauty of the wilds Hotel Treetop is Thekkady's leading resort on the edge of Periyar Tiger Reserve. The perfect place to explore the magical sensation of the evergreen rain forest that straddles the tiny state of Kerala. The well spaced neatly laid out Gabled cottages and rooms with tiled roofs and un-plastered granite-stone exteriors are reminiscent of the colonial bungalows and blend into the landscaped hinterland harmoniously. The gourmet restaurant is stylishly laid out and spacious. Barbecues and Tandoor in the open alongside the campfire place in winter is another option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Treetop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Treetop Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing