We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Mahindra Thekkady
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Please Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Thekkady was my first experience ever with Club Mahindra and I wondered what do people pay for !! It is property which is located in a jungle setup. And it definitely has the potential of being a good resort but the maintenance of the resort is beyond repair now.

The rooms are very old and in a miserable condition. It was gloomy room with a bathroom that stunk.The TV was an old CRT with a poor cable connection. When i called room service thrice, they finally showed up but couldnt do much to help.

The pool -- Well u dont want to get in there.

The activity room in the resort has some games with layers of dust on them . Not sure when they were last cleaned.
The buffet is overpriced and below average quality

We checked out of the resort within 24 hours ( Our trip was for 3 days) ..

Mahindra should definitely consider shutting down this resort or doing a complete revamp ....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAgenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    172
    106
    36
    21
See reviews for
278
105
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

For starters, this place claims to be a "Club" and a "resort", and touts membership benefits. I am not a member, but given these claims, I'd expected a really fancy place.

I booked two rooms, and at $150 a piece, I really expected a decent room. What we got was a room that was way past its prime, with mold-infested bathrooms. My wife wore sandals, before showering in that tub.

The restaurant also had an old, dated look, and came nowhere close to what I'd expected to see in a nice resort. The food was not too bad, but nothing to rave about.

Overall, I'll say that I won't be back at this place, or, for that matter, at any Club Mahindra property. I chuckled when a sales rep asked me about becoming a member, and my response to him was, "Are you joking? I won't join even if you gave me a million rupees to be a part of this crap".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devout_hindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our second resort on trip of Kerala. Stayed here for 3Nights. Approach was little disappointing but as you enter the resort, you will start loving it. Reception area is very compact.Our cottages were in last end but walking through small pavements amid lush green ambience made it delightful. Cottages were well maintained, not as we experienced at Munnar Mahindra resort. Food provided in buffet was limited so we had food next to resort at Ambadi.We reached there on Christmas Eve and GM Mr Shine was generous enough to make our table booking for evening gala dinner. Dr Sangeet (Advisor- Svastha Spa) advised very good massages and facial packs , which my family took most advantage. We did many activities during our stay like Elephant Ride, Elephant shower, Kalari, Kathakkali, Jungle safari, Boating, Trekking etc. We liked the resort and will surely return to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JITENDERhotelclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

it was a disastrous experience to stay at studio apartment provided at this property with poor ventillation, uncleaned room with too much of trees surrounding balconies & property & even in rooms.

Felt sick miserably in the middle of night. The staff is good, however, the response is pretty slow & service level is very bad.

The room is surrounded by noise & absolutely not a place meant for relaxation & peace. its very close to shopping area - all small small outlets but extremely in poorly maintained condition.

Would not like to recommend to any traveller.

Room Tip: not worth visiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarti_rele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Thekkady sits nestled among the mountains of Kerala in the Western Ghats and the drive into the hills is spectacular.
Set 2,700 feet above sea level this property is conveniently located just 1 km from Periyar Tiger Reserve.
The Periyar Restaurant serves delicious food though spread is limited as compared to other CM properties.
Rooms are cosy & well-kept. The resort is based on a jungle theme. All the rooms are named after birds and the rooms look like big nests from outside.
Spa is a good experience with well trained staff.
Service is prompt & courteous.
The Resort is small & is not at par with Munnar and Madikeri properties which are all RCI Gold Crown Winners. But it is a certainly a cute little beautiful resort & is worth a visit.
Overall a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemaparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

A wonderful resort by CM in the midst of a beautiful place in Thekkady close to the Periyar lake and the works. The resort has a very good restaurant and has a very functional swimming pool, spa and a gym.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the ones closer to the restaurant and the spa are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harishmalur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had visited ClubM Thekkady in the last week of November ! Frankly, this resort surprised me positively.. :) The layout is wonderful, what with the many cottages spread across an uneven area with undulating paths to take you there !.. It almost felt like you were staying in the jungle with the many trees surrounding our cottage. Unlike ClubM resorts, this one is actually located relatively closer to the market, which works both ways (I prefer it that way). The activity center was very good and my 3 year old had a blast there.

Otherwise, the service etc. was excellent as you ought to expect from a ClubM resort.. Overall a great choice for a 2-3 day stay. !

Room Tip: If you have senior citizens, ask for a room to closer to the reception and restaurant since the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitgok13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Thekkady

Property: Club Mahindra Thekkady
Address: Amalambika Road | Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Thekkady 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Mahindra Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Hotel Thekkady
Club Mahindra Thekkady Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing