We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Mahindra Thekkady
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had no hotels left for booking since all were full during peak season of DEC'13. We went here as co-applicants.We thought since its a membership hotel the stay would be quite ambient.However , hotel isnit as per expectations.The food is also quite expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vatusal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have booked studio room with kitchenette (STU-K) in the hotel. When we reached we were offered 2 option, First only STU (only some utensils) and second STU-K but the last room. We have observed that only 60% of resort was occupied but still they played this trick. Same thing has happened with us twice in last 6 months with Club Mahindra.
If I talk about room, room was quite good, properly cleaned and maintained. But the room freshener they have used is strong enough to make us sit outside for 20-30 minutes.
Room service was quite slow, they are taking minimum half hour to provide us things we wanted.
Geyser in the room was not working properly, 2 out of 3 times it will stop working after few minutes.
There were no white light in the room, which was not giving us pleasant atmosphere, also it was giving pain in eyes while reading.

Other things in resort were quite well, we enjoyed resort overall.

Cleaning staff was decorating rooms with towels every time we asked them to clean our room. I have uploaded one such picture with review.

Room Tip: Try to get room near to main building to avoid unnecessary walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Do not expect much from this as compared to the munnar club mahindra.. breakfast was really good...didnt have good food spread in dinner..location is good but not very well maintained...since there are cottages the rooms are not very spick and span..though it is clean...book jungle safari from the resort itself

Room Tip: ask for a room near the reception to avoid long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pooja1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

we stayed there for one night and found it a good resort.
1) The rooms were good enough with ample of moving space...
2) The property was in jungle theme and pavements were surrounded by lush green plants....
3) The food was OK, but overpriced...
4) Swimming pool and kids activity Jones were the place kids enjoyed most..
5) The cultural programs were nice and entertaining...
6) It's a small but cute property...
7) Very close to jungle and the property is in the middle of the city..

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank anuj729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I was told the property once belonged to Taj. Well this is one property which looks and feels like in completely derelict conditions. We were initially given a studio room. Initial rooms were on stilts and these studio rooms with kitchenette were later fitted below those rooms. Our room was extremely damp with no sunlight coming in and it was not cleaned properly. We requested to change rooms and were given an upper room. This room was ok but again quite run-down, not properly cleaned. The toilet is in need of an urgent renovation. The whole area is small with too many rooms and many big trees. It is in the middle of Thekkady town (like all other hotels except the KTDC hotels) so no views. Only saving grace is that it is quite close to the entry gate of Periyar Reserve Forest.

We did not try the restaurant because we were looking for local foods so can't comment on the food quality.

Overall we had a quite depressing stay although Thekkady itself was quite enchanting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msupriyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is the first Club Mahindra Jungle resort I went to and I was quite pleased with my experience.

Good Points

- Unique experience: They have created a nice Forest theme at the resort with walkways and areas that resemble walking in a jungle.

- Nice cottages and suites: Nice, cosy comfortable cottages. An excellent, peaceful proposition.

Not so good points

- It is a dated Taj Hotels property that CMH has taken over. So dont expect state of the art interiors. CMH is going to renovate this big time, that the good thing. However, what that means is that if anything is non-functional, they wont spend much to upgrade, replace or repair it.

- Another theme is that the restaurant, especially buffet, is hideously overpriced. Thankfully, there are tons of options less than a kilometer from the resort. So, people staying there and wanting to eat out, you have options outside the resort.

I know CMH is cash starvedm but it would benefit tremendously if they correct the overpriced menu at all of their restaurants. More people will dine in as it would make sense to do so. And people like me will perhaps, stop giving tips to others about better restaurants outside the resort. Right now, I have no option but to do so...

Overall, a quaint and happy stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorpio_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Thekkady was my first experience ever with Club Mahindra and I wondered what do people pay for !! It is property which is located in a jungle setup. And it definitely has the potential of being a good resort but the maintenance of the resort is beyond repair now.

The rooms are very old and in a miserable condition. It was gloomy room with a bathroom that stunk.The TV was an old CRT with a poor cable connection. When i called room service thrice, they finally showed up but couldnt do much to help.

The pool -- Well u dont want to get in there.

The activity room in the resort has some games with layers of dust on them . Not sure when they were last cleaned.
The buffet is overpriced and below average quality

We checked out of the resort within 24 hours ( Our trip was for 3 days) ..

Mahindra should definitely consider shutting down this resort or doing a complete revamp ....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAgenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.2 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
1.3 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 45 in Thekkady
1,208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#15 of 45 in Thekkady
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#24 of 45 in Thekkady
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Thekkady

Address: Amalambika Road | Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range: £62 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Thekkady 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Mahindra Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Hotel Thekkady
Club Mahindra Thekkady Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing