We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'' Outstanding''”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Mahindra Thekkady
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'' Outstanding''”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were so fortunate to be invited by this hotel for dinner and for a tour of it's beautiful grounds.
Seriously this opulent palace with it's remarkably beautiful surroundings touched our souls. The staff here is superb as is such the case in any Taj property.
We dined in the Suwane restaurant with it's magically royal decor and ambience. This is something I'll never forget. If you have the chance stay here , especially the maharani suite. Just spectacular.

Room Tip: All Cottages Is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahul12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    177
    109
    38
    22
See reviews for
290
106
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Well. i was a bit worried after reading all the poor reviews of the resort and since we were a family with a kid and an infant, i was actually wondering if i should book somewhere else. However my experience here was pretty good and we enjoyed the three days stay here.

The good part.
1) The rooms are big in size. Much bigger than Club Mahindra Munnar.
2) My Studio was actually extremely well lit (133). I was surprised by this.
3) Washroom was renovated, shower and washbasin was good, water was hot.
4) The resort is 10 minutes walk from the main market. Much better than CM Munnar Resort. You can go in the market for shopping and for Kathakali / Karali Shows. Good restaurants in the market also.
5) Pool was also clean. Kids were enjoying the same.
6) Restaurant options are less, but food is good. The Restaurant Manager Vinay makes sure that everyone is confortable.
7) Rooms have a decent sit-out outsite.
8) Their travel desk is run by local taxi operators and hence is not as expensive.
9) Housekeeping was good, linen and pillows were new and fresh. Guess i had a renovated room.

The improvements.
1) They dont have or perhaps they dont entertain room service. The room service number was off and i had to walk all the way to the reception on first day to ask for water bottles.
2) The Restaurant Manager pushes you to take in Buffet option. I guess they are extremely short on staff. We tried ala-carte once and it was really good, but because of the restaurant manager's insistence / persistence, we went in for buffet later.
3) The resort generally appears to be understaffed. If 2-3 checkins come together, there is no one to pick up calls @ the reception.
4) The activity centre has a lot to be improved upon. I asked the guy what all activities he has and he mentioned to me that what all I can see around is what he has to offer. Not a very good answer. Perhaps he needs to be better trained.
5) There were a few Hammocks somewhere but they were in terrible condition. would help if they can have a few slides and swings put in after renovating this area.

Overall it was a good experience here, but as i mentioned, I came with very less expectations and left delighted. Cannot compare this with Munnar resort but i guess the folks here are doing as best as they can.

Room Tip: Rooms with attached Kitchen are on the outer periphery and are facing the road and are on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnandMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in Tusker Trails for 6 days. Resort is small, but the jungle theme was ok. The resort is absolutely not comparable to CMH standards. The sofa cum beds are broken, walls are dirty in the first room allotted to me. Moreover, this room was just beside the road and road repair work was going on. We never got a feeling that we are on vacation on a hill station. Lots of tar smoke, dust and noise pollution. The staff let me move into another studio room next day morning. This resort is built on Jungle theme and they had ensured that we experience a real jungle stay inside the rooms as well by having few wall lizards and full of bed bugs in sofa cum bed that bit my daughter all over her body causing red patches. On day-3 morning, upon complaining, staff had arranged a separate bed for my daughter which is OK. The food is as usual expensive in this resort and taste is good on few occasions. The only plus point in this resort is the service and courteous staff. I sincerely appreciate their service. The pool and evening fun activities are good.

Sesanka

Room Tip: Opt for a room in the center of the resort but not towards the end of the resort which is just besid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SesankaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Prior to my travel I did read through a lot of comments here and even cut short my stay at Thekkady. I also did call them up and made sure, they are aware of my understanding of the resort and they better give me a good room.

Reached the resort some time during 2 PM. Checked in...which was pretty fast. I did check with them as to why they are rated badly, the receptionist mentioned that this is an old bought out property and they are in the process of renovation. Secondly, people who come from munnar have high expectations such as views from rooms, which is not typical of this resort. Agreed with him and went to the room.

However to my surprise, the room (131) which was given to me, looked good with everything new, probably this was one of the few which was renovated. In spite of pretty warm weather outside, the room was notably very cool. Linen could have been better though.

Food - The food was very tasty and the executive chef was personally taking care of every guest and finding time to take feedback. He also mentioned, that while the spread was not very extensive unlike the other properties, they ensured the quality was best (which I also did feel) and also ensured all guests are given what they wanted (they did really give...). Kudos to the kitchen and the restaurant teams.

HK - Was good...did clean up the rooms on time and the upkeep of the resort was also done well.

Recreation center - This was one place which I was disappointed with. The guy incharge needs to smile more and offer some help. The RM should seriously think about this guy and his team. They are the least helpful of the lot.

The swimming pool was big and fun time for kids. With only 4.5 feet deep at the far end, it was a good swim. Note that there are no change rooms, so prepared to walk to your room for changing.

The SPA was ok, nothing notable.

Overall, I did feel my stay here was good, considering the bad few ratings that this resort has been receiving in the past few months.

Room Tip: I don't know about others...but 131 was a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Resort is in good location, but need more improvement on maintenance. Bathrooms, towels are stained and looks like it was not cleaned for days. I think proper maintenance is not done after the resort is taken from Taj.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunmdx .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Was on a complimentary stay as a Corporate Guest in this resort. The resort is well maintained, neat & clean. The staff was exemplary. The cottages are well maintained in a natural habitat. Rooms are clean & spacious, with clean bathrooms. A good pool & restaurant, but expensive from my view point. Parking facility though cramped, is still available. The approach road to the resort needs maintanence & better lighting. The resort is situated at a very good location. Ample recreational facilities available for the interested guest. On the whole, a very good resort for leisure & relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayaprakash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Am not a member of the Club Mahindra scheme. However, booked a 2N stay through MakeMyTrip, since I saw a discounted price (non-refundable!!!). This was from March 8-10 2014.
The Hotel is just about 15 mins walk from the Thekkady market place. The inroads leading to the hotel is very dark after 8 pm.
We were given average quality room (I assume since I got a discounted deal...). Absolutely dim-lit room with inadequate light, electricity cutoffs twice during the stay. The bathroom was not clean too with stains all over the bath tub and the basin.
Restaurant - First impression - Too expensive!!! Milk - Rs. 155/-.Expensive than the Taj !!!

The breakfast spread was not too great going by the standards of the rate card. However, enough for a normal human!!! :)

Others -
1. The staff was decent
2. Evening events (since it was Women's day) were organized well
3. Spa and massages were available; (didnt avail these facilities)
4. The resort charged our family Rs. 2900/- for a jeep drive to and fro the Gavi eco-resort. Just wondering if this is a premium charge or normal for all those to visit the eco-resort from Thekkady

I wouldnt recommend anybody to visit this facility again, unless Club Mahindra takes some effort to improve their standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hariharan1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
676 reviews
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Thekkady

Property: Club Mahindra Thekkady
Address: Amalambika Road | Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Thekkady 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Mahindra Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Hotel Thekkady
Club Mahindra Thekkady Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing