We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just stayed in one of the 6 cottages - lovely place, surrounded by a beautiful greenery. Best breakfast in India so far, and dinner was good as well. Free access to wifi from every room, quite a plus. And all staff is very nice and friendly.
Only minor point: no place to stay for our driver (neither to park the car nor to take a shower), so if you travel with a driver he may not be happy. Ours wasn't, and he was also not happy when in the morning none of the service staff present helped him putting our luggages on top of the car. A pity, in my view...without which service would have been a 5.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady!!!

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel which includes our facilities, service and staff have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have taken note of your constructive feedback on providing a facility for drivers. We will definitely keep this in mind while planning our upgradation for future. We will also see what best we can do in the interim to accommodate the needs of a driver.

We highly regret the inconvenience caused while putting the luggage into the car. It would have been an inadvertent overlook but as you say there is no retake in hospitality industry and we tender our unconditional apologies.

Your feedback has been shared with our entire team, who were happy to receive the same and promise to do corrections wherever require.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed in this marvellous place in August.
The resort is very beautiful, the cooking is delicious and everyone is very kind!
We visit the plantation and the tiger reserve organized by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ireireire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club, Thekkady!!!

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel, service and staff have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team at the hotel who were very happy to receive the same. Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable Niraamaya experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Even prior to arriving at the Cardamom Club, Vinu and his staff had helped us to organise our stay with spa treatments, a visit to the local tea factory, the martial arts and dance shows, an elephant ride and visits to the local spice markets and artisans shops. So, as we drove along the 2km track from the main road to the hotel itself, we were already feeling pretty relaxed. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms all quite individual and beautifully appointed. Breakfast and dinner were taken in the dining room with views across the valley. All of our tastes were catered for. We even enjoyed a fantastic cooking lesson on our final evening, so we now know how to blend the numerous spices together to (hope to) recreate some of Kerala's wonderful dishes. We left the Cardamom Club relaxed and with many wonderful memories of a beautiful stay in a fantastic region.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the positive comments you have about our services and facilities. We believe in providing an experiential holiday to all our guests. That is the essence of Niraamaya. We are truly proud that our efforts yielded the desired result and you were very happy with your stay.

Your appreciation of our staff will boost their morale and enhance their quest to provide exemplory services to our guests.

We look forward to your visit again and thank you for choosing Niraamaya Retreats for your getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at Cardamom Club only for a day and it was one of the best experience. With only 6 villas, the level of service was just awesome. Nested out of hustle and bustle of the town, this place is ideal for anyone who wants to spend an idyllic holiday. Perfect place if you want to write a book! Amongst nature with one of the highest quality staff to remember and address your every requirement, this place is a must go for people who like non-touristy stuff.

And the food! Wow. We tried North Indian, South Indian and continental cuisine for our three meals during our stay and each one just kept setting an incredibly higher standard. I must say that the food was some of the best I have ever had in my life. I guess part of it is due to the fact that majority of the materials are sourced fresh by the resort from their own plantation. But I have a feeling it is more due to the fact that care is taken to prepare food as if the person it will be served to is a guest and not a customer. This is the feeling you get at the resort in general too. That of a guest, and not a customer and I dare say that even the best of the hotels can only strive to come close to this experience.

2 small incidents to illustrate my point. Whenever we visit a restaurant we are asked if we'll like bottled water or normal water. Now, at this place, we had to specify this only during the first meal. Subsequently, our choices were remembered! The second incident was what just made us a big fan of this place. We had requested the chef to make samosas for us for breakfast for the last day of our stay. However, due to strike in the region we decided to leave next day at 5AM to beat the strike and hence we cancelled our request. To our amazement, when we were leaving (at 5AM), we were told that the chef had prepared the samosas in the morning and, alongwith some fruits, had packed and kept it alongwith our luggage in the car so that we could eat it on the way! Need I say more about the level of commitment and quality of service provided!

Room Tip: There are only 6 villas and all are the same. Choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chintan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to note that you have rated our retreat as the one of the best place for an idyllic holiday.

We thankfully acknowledge your appreciation of our facilities, food and service level. We assure you that we will always live upto this appreciation.

We are strongly committed to provide bespoke services to our guests and will never leave any stone unturned in our quest for the same.

The team at Niraamaya hope to indulge you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

As pointed out by other reviewers, the service here is what sets it apart. The resort manager, Vinu, could possibly be the most sincerely helpful person we came across during our two week trip through southern India. We were greeted by Vinu and his team upon arrival, received drinks and towels, and escorted quickly to our room. Checkout was just as seamless. Food, wifi, housekeeping, all excellent. We took the planation trek around the resort, led by two staffers who were the best - just so sincerely enthusiastic and accommodating. They made the 2 hour walk fun and educational. We weren't on the resort much, as we spent most of our time in Thekkady sightseeing, and wish we had had more time to just lounge around the place.

Overall great experience. The place is a bit off the beaten path so would recommend even more to those looking for a more tranquil and relaxed stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your encouraging comments. The team at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club, Thekkady are delighted by your comments.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our facilities and services. Your appreciation of the same will motive our team to excel more in service levels.

We regret that you could not spend much time inside our retreat.

We eagerly await your return to experience a fun filled holiday with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I travelled around Kerala for 10 days, staying in some highly recommended hotels, but the service I received here, particularly from Vinu the resort manager, was easily the best. First of all, due to the strikes going on in Kerala at the time, I notified the hotel that I would be arriving at around 5am. This was no complaining, or suggestion that I might want to check their check-in times.

When we arrived, tired and bleary-eyed, Vinu took us straight to our room (skipping check-in), showed us how to work the heater, then left us to sleep. When we finally dragged ourselves out of bed, we were directed to breakfast (an additional breakfast that we were never asked to pay for), and only then did we go through check-in. I'm sure it helped that we were the only guests at Cardamom at that point, but the warmth of the staff showed a level of customer service I have rarely seen anywhere in the world, at any price.

The rooms are nicely done, strong wi-fi signal (if a little flaky on the connection speed, but I'm pretty sure that's just India), comfortable beds, tasteful decoration, and nice touches such as towel animals each day, as well as snacks.

The food was very tasty, but didn't have the range that we saw in Green Woods, our other stay in the area.

Caramom Club is a bit of a trek out from Kumily, 7km, 2km of which is very poor road. This is both a plus and a minus. If you want peace and tranquility, it's great, if you want to be able to go to other sites easily, it adds to your journey time.

I didn't have the change to use the spa, but I expect it's pretty good.

Overall I'd highly recommend this resort, it is of high quality, but it's the staff that really set it apart.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all six rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaneelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club!!!

We are delighted by the positive feedback you shared about our retreat. Your appreciation of our service will definitely enhance the motivation of our team and help them scale greater heights.

We thank you for the postive feedback on comfort level in the room.

We strongly believe in personalised service which make the stay of our guest bespoke and experiential. As such we do not have a wide range of food in our menu. But whatever we make will be according to the preferences of our guests and be very tasty, as vouched by you.

The entire team eagerly await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The name of this resort should be serenity retreats. This hotel is a unique boutique hotel with only 6 cottages with 15 hotel staffs, means 2.5 staffs per cottage, resulting in to excellent personallize serices like a king.
We visited this resort on 6th Nov'13. I booked this resort with a slight hesitation but when i reached there, it was no regret. The welcome was exotic with fruit juice and cologne towel.
The rooms were nicely designed with OTS bathroom.
The food was excellent and to my surprise everthing was home made, including breads, jam, sauces, etc.
The resort also offers, complimentary trekking to the hilly jungle and a bonfire in the evening. we did the both and it was a great fascinating experince. Mr. Manoj accompanied us during trekking and it was real fun.
If you are planning to visit thekkady please book minimum 2 days at this resort as one day would be spend only in enjoing the serenity of the resort

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonakParikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging review. We strive to bring unobtrusive service to match the serenity of the retreat. Always trying our utmost to provide a bespoke hospitality experience for all our guests. It gives us great pleasure to be acknowledged for the same.

Concierge activities around this exciting destination are also part of our planned extended services, so as to provide all our guests a memorable authentic cultural experience.Your encouraging words for our team have motivated the team to strive harder to exceed guests' expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya Reterats Cardamom Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.5 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 45 in Thekkady
513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 45 in Thekkady
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 45 in Thekkady
540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#18 of 45 in Thekkady
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady

Address: 66th Mile | Spring Valley, Thekkady 685509, India (Formerly Cardamom Club Thekkady)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#5 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £76 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club is a remote hideaway nestled in a cardamom plantation that offers both adrenaline-fuelled adventure and a peaceful retreat. Perched amidst 9 acres of cardamom plantations, verdant groves and lush foliage, our 6-cottage retreat exudes intensely private vibes. The windows of the rustic plantation-style cottages serve as a gateway to the exotic wildlife. The cool and crisp mountain air, the musical calls of exotic birds and the beautiful scenery of Thekkady will revive the senses and leave you enchanted. Niraamaya spa infused with timeless therapeutic traditions from across the world, centred around Ayurveda is the perfect destination for rejuvenation after long treks or exhausting safaris. Cardamom Club which is in complete harmony with nature immensely helps to amplify the therapeutic processes of spa therapies. In-between lounging on hammocks or tucking into gorgeous meals, we highly recommend spice walks and treks to explore the stunning landscape of Thekkady. For the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephantsFor the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing