We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple intimate style delivered with real customer care.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived here by car from Kovalm and loved the location amongst the tree plantations and hills.
There are only 6 cottages, all of which are highly equipped with out door showers and very comfortable beds. Another highlight here was the food, which was cooked fresh and had real personality, given the location this was a wonderful surprise. The manager and all the staff could not have been more approachable and our trips out to see the elephant sanctuary or walking up to the high ridge above the property were provided by a very approachable young man, who had an immense amount of knowledge on all things Indian.

Room Tip: The location is quiet and yet they can assist you with trips out for an hour or a day....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The cottages are beautiful especially the outdoor shower.

The booking process was good.

The staff and service were exceptional in particular Sajo who had puree and vade made for us.

We had to check out early and they even prepared breakfast for us to take away.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the 3rd stop on our tour of Kerala and I was so pleased I added this to our itinerary.

We had a warm welcome and were shown to our room. Some people say the rooms are small. The room was smaller than the other 2 places we had already stayed in, but they are more than big enough. Plenty of space & storage and comfortable bed. The only negative thing was the room didn't have air con and you couldn't really open the windows as they were full length and although im sure no one would walk in at night, I didn't want to risk it. But we travelled at the end of April so the weather is very humid this time of year. Outside of monsoon I'm sure this wouldn't be a problem. Don't let this put you off though, this place is really amazing.

At our first lunch we ordered off the menu and the waiter said 2 of the main dishes we had ordered were very alike so he recommended we ordered the fish in banana leaf, so pleased he did, it was lovely. As we didn't know what we were ordering it was nice he mentioned this.

We both had an Ayurveda massage which was lovely and relaxing.

I also had the cooking demonstration, if you are into cooking, this is a must. They showed me how to cook about 7-8 local Keralan dishes. They talked me through the spices and ingredients so I could easily jot the info down in my notebook. Then you get to eat all the food cooked afterwards. The food here is amazing. The best we have had so far. The use of spices is excellent, the flavors were amazing. I had a big Indian night at home last weekend and cooked most of the dishes I was shown and my family absolutely loved it, they said it was much nicer then our local Indian take away shops. So thank you for the cooking demo, you obviously taught me well.

They do serve alcohol here, don't know why someone on a previous review said they don't. We enjoyed several cold beers with dinner/lunch.

We went on the free planation walk, a really lovely walk, could be a bit of a struggle if your not fit, but we are and love hiking so we loved this. Maybe next time we will hike Mount Miracle!! If we ever travel to Kerala again we will defiantly stay here.

As we were celebrating our anniversary when we got back to our room, there was an amazing display of a heart in red petals on our bed and an amazing cake in our room. Such a lovely thing to do, it was a shame to have to move all the petals to get into bed. Thank you so much.

We had an amazing time, thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved our stay with Niramaaya! Well initially it was tough to find since it is after you cross the kumily city and there were not proper boards to guide us to the property but after we spoke to the hotel staff they guided us very well and were ready with all their arrangements. The staff just made our stay memorable. We reached there on a Friday afternoon and were there only for a day. We enjoyed the local Kerala cuisine all throughout and all the preparations were very well done with spices adjusted exactly to our taste. It is a beautiful property and considering that we were the only ones it offered a lot of peace and relaxation to us. They took us for a walk as well through the cardamom plantations till the border of Periyar wildlife sanctuary which was a great experience. Highly recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spry_2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just around the corner from Abrahams Spice Garden this is set on a good sized estate. It was the most natural and beautiful country place we stayed and very good value for money. We arrived early evening and would have loved a cold glass of beer or wine but they do not serve alcohol and unusually did not offer to call out for some. The rooms are excellent and were the highest standard rooms that we stayed in on our tour other than the Taj. Open air bathrooms, a wireless router in each room. Snacks complimentary delivered before supper to the room. Set under huge jack fruit trees. Had a lovely walk up the hill with one of their guides. The spa was disappointingly closed because of technical issues and no other option was offered. The food in the restaurant was fine but some of the least good that we had throughout our 16 days. Again the staff are delightful and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

After spending a great time at Niramaaya retreats, Kovalam last year, we had decided to go for the other place at Thekkady. I am happy that we were not disappointed. The place is exceptional with lovely cottages, green surroundings, friendly and helpful staff. We were surprised when they arranged a candle- light dinner for us. The detailing that has gone to make our stay comfortable, fun and relaxing is superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhipsa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a really lovely place to stay.

It is a bit of a bumpy ride up from town, but it is worth it when you arrive.

The cottages are really lovely. The bathroom was the nicest we had in India - it was up to 5 star European standards complete with luxury toiletries, which is rarely the case in India,and everything was very clean. Lots of extra little touches like fruit and snacks in the room and an umbrella in the cupboard are great, and show wonderful attention to detail.

We were the only guests staying as we went off season, and the staff could not have done more for us. The manager was extremely polite and very helpful assisting us with making plans in the local area. In the evenings they prepared us candlelit dinners outside which was very sweet. As it was just us, the service was at times a bit too overbearing, but that said, this is much better than poor service!

The only reason I have knocked off a star here is the food. The food is perfectly good, however it is nothing special compared to food we have had elsewhere in Kerala, and it was at least 3 times the price. For that money you expect something amazing. And the location of the resort means eating elsewhere is not very easy. There is no alcohol available however they did kindly ask if we wanted some, and picked us up a bottle of wine for our second night. It was only a half bottle though so we were surprised to be charged 1,000rupees for it - unfortunately that left us a bit short of cash at check out so we didn't get to tip the well-deserving staff!

We would definitely recommend this place - its beautiful. Just be prepared to pay for the food.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kitkatkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
881 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady

Address: 66th Mile | Spring Valley, Thekkady 685509, India (Formerly Cardamom Club Thekkady)
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £97 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club is a remote hideaway nestled in a cardamom plantation that offers both adrenaline-fuelled adventure and a peaceful retreat. Perched amidst 9 acres of cardamom plantations, verdant groves and lush foliage, our 6-cottage retreat exudes intensely private vibes. The windows of the rustic plantation-style cottages serve as a gateway to the exotic wildlife. The cool and crisp mountain air, the musical calls of exotic birds and the beautiful scenery of Thekkady will revive the senses and leave you enchanted. Niraamaya spa infused with timeless therapeutic traditions from across the world, centred around Ayurveda is the perfect destination for rejuvenation after long treks or exhausting safaris. Cardamom Club which is in complete harmony with nature immensely helps to amplify the therapeutic processes of spa therapies. In-between lounging on hammocks or tucking into gorgeous meals, we highly recommend spice walks and treks to explore the stunning landscape of Thekkady. For the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephantsFor the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing