We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst resort in Idukki”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Eletaria Resort
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This place can never be termed as a resort, a lodge run by a group of farmers are more like it. The worst service ever seen in this part of Kerala. Rude and unhelpful staff, bad food and poor rooms (infested with insects) are the high points. There is no hot water in the rooms and we had to run behind the staff for one hour to get some luke warm water. We were faced with a power cut at 11 PM and when the electricity was not restored even after one hour we went in search of the staff. We were shocked to note that there were on staff available in the property, not even a night security! The waiting time for food is also terrible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank reghu r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a very comfortable stay in this resort. I highly recommend the new rooms where we stayed in. It is made in traditional vettukal and includes a king size bed and ensuite bathroom and on top of that a wonderfull balcony facing towards the eletaria hills. The service was pleasebt and I would recommend everyone a stay in this resort. The famous rajakalmedu hill is not too far away from eletaria. Jins jose,uk

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jinsjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Eletaia is a good resort but not very well kept. Accomodation is good. It is in a cardamon plantation. Has good views and rooms are neat and clean. Staff is willing to help and co-operative. Major disadvantage is its location. There is no way you can get to the connecting road if you need to venture out on foot. It is as if you are in a forest but inside the resort it is indeed very beautiful. Some facilities though are not kept up properly like the swimming pool water was just dirty and green. It didnt make much difference to us as we stayed only one night and did not use the pool since we checked-in in the morning and came back to the resort only at night after sight seeing. Nevertheless it was a worthy experience of village setting. Good for people who have long stayed in the cities and need a quiet break. The food at the restaurant was quite tasty but choices were limited. Breakfast was ok but not anything to write about.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MumbaiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very frankly speaking if you have extra money and you want to waste it then also dont visit this resort. its the most pathetic place from all point of view to stay.people here are not at all able to communicate. In internet it looks good and they show so many facilities but in real its all the reverse. there is no hot water ,no tea maker , bed condition is pathetic, they cant even afford a good quality bed and quilt and please you can't even think of complaining about the services to the manager or MD because they are so rude they will straight forwardly tell you if want to stay then stay else you can search for any other hotel.

We had stayed in Quilon Beach Resort in kollam in the same trip at the lesser rate than Elateria but believe me it was really worthed and nice experienec stying there , they are Five star but gives you good deal and world class service.

Its a request don't even think about staying in Elateria Resort.

Room Tip: Please dont even think and dare of staying there , its simply a trauma and nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangaloreGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We went to stay in this resort; It is effectively in a cardamon plantation and seems to be new. It looks good on internet. The problem come from the service which is desastrous; we did not have electricity for one Hour, the TV is not working, you have to aslk for hot water , the luggages was kept in the entrance and I had to take it myself...The kitchen is dirty.
There was really nobody to manage the resort; I do not know where is the owner since when I call him he said he is not in; Typically a resort using the " Eco" friendly advertisement to attract the client but still a lot of progress to do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jose r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I have been here with my wife in the month of december 2011. We booked tree house for one day and deluxe cottage for the next day. We expected a tree house to be in the middle of trees and cardomom plantations with good privacy settings. But we found it quite contrary to what we expected. It was a house with iron fencing (very artificial) around and mounted on four completely cut tree logs high up. It looked little artificial and almost no privacy at all. Lot of repair work going on around between the tree house and the reception.
Though we were offered to stay in tree house for the next day also, we refused the offer and choose to stay in Deluxe cottage that we booked. We found the deluxe cottage better than the tree house.
The hotel staff is bit of a problem. We went on a package (AP) with some sight seeing and massage also included (that is put up in their website). I ended up explaining about what all are included in that package three times to the hotel staff. Once during check-in, once during our lunch time to the waiter and once for the sightseeing. They also mentioned in their package that a surprise gift will be given at the end of the stay. But no surprise that we didn't get any thing as the resort staff were not sure about that package from day 1. All in all, it was not a good experience for me staying in this resort.

Room Tip: Tree house looked very artificial. Deluxe cottage looked better than Tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trivik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

you will find this resort on the way to munnar to thekkady ,little far from the city but find good quality & atmosphere i found for 01 -2 night stay the city of periyar

someway there is some difficult about the staff service was bad rest all is good

full of greenery surrounding , for honeymooners and all is the best resort

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fzzahiruddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.9 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#22 of 43 in Thekkady
83 reviews
8.9 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
8.9 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
881 reviews
4.9 mi away
Green Ark Resorts - Thekkady
0.3 mi away
Carmelia Haven
Carmelia Haven
#5 of 94 in Thekkady
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eletaria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eletaria Resort

Address: Vandenmedu P.O, Thekkady 685515, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range: £35 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eletaria Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Eletaria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eletaria Resort Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing