We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Meadow View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadow View Inn
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at Meadow View for 2 nights and it was an absolutely amazing experience..I had the top floor room from where you can see the periyar reserve in all its glory..I saw herds of dears, wild pigs and innumerable birds all from the comfort of my balcony..the thoughtfully provided swings allowed for plenty of restful naps as well as for observing the animals..Sathish is a good host & is extremely knowledgable of the area..His wife & children were equally helpful..I found my stay to be extremely relaxing and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prateek_mahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    22
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

So good staying here. We had the top room, and the meadow view was the best. Walking distance to the main street shops, and a good hotel to eat dinner at - just over the road. All local attractions not far away, and the family kids are great to play cards with.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindyC581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacchus Marsh, Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in this piece of paradise overlooking the wildlife sanctuary. The rooms are very roomy and comfortable with great views. It was fun trying to identify the birds and animals on a daily procession past our room. Our hosts were generous and knowledgable. The location was excellent. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Meadow View Inn is a lovely little place set apart from the road which runs down to the Periyar wildlife sanctuary entrance from the main town. The main attraction must be the unique view over the fields - we saw more animal life from our sweet balcony window than the boat in the park itself. The rooms are pretty good and certainly not bland - we had a peaceful night's rest. The main accommodation is in a tasteful small sort of pagoda like tower - the views getting better as you get higher. There are also rooms at the side, and good access to the internet. The breakfast provided was just right and for other meals there are options nearby on the road amongst the shops which were recommended. The owner Satish and his family were very welcoming to what is their home as well - they have made a wonderful courtyard garden with plenty of greenery, flowers and shade. Rates are very reasonable.

There are various activities on offer nearby. Do save some time to visit the elephants in Periyar, unless you have real problems with creatures and animals that are lovingly looked after and regularly scrubbed and bathed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clemente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Spending a couple of weeks in india, this was obviously the best surprise we had.
We booked 3 nights, and decided to spend a fourth.
The hotel / homestay is just remarkable, with a wonderful view from our room (all room i think) on the forest / jungle.
Easy to get in the city, but just far enough not to have any noise at night.
Clean, nice looking (all wooden rooms), cool and kind of antique style.
Perfectly located for activities (national park, outdoors activities, walking in the village or small shopping).

And not to forget the kind people working / in charge of this place that are always ready to share experience and give advise on what do to.

A perfect / no risk choice

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matnyfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Perfact place! Run by sweet family, great location with deers and boers in the night just outside the window, the room is very beautyfull, big, clean and cozy. Great service, very knowledgefull and friendly. Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

we were so happy with our stay here - the rooms were clean and well furnished, with spacious bathroom and our own private balcony overlooking the reserve next door.
The family were so friendly and helpful giving us great tips and organising day trips for us.
we only ate once at the guesthouse - breakfast on the last day - it was delicious and made us wish we had eaten there more often.
It is more expensive than some of the cheaper guesthouses but it is well worth it as you can't beat walking up and sitting on the balcony to watch wild boar, birds and other creatures wondering around in the field.
Also they have a tower which you can climb at night and look out for wild bison and elephants.... such a magical nature spot - one of the highlights of our South Indian trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Peppervine Hotel
Peppervine Hotel
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow View Inn

Property: Meadow View Inn
Address: Lake Road ,Thekkady | Thekkady, Idukki, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Meadow View Inn Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing