We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Window onto the jungle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rangerwood Nature Castle
Ranked #15 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I chose this hotel for its bedroom views onto the jungle, proximity to the Periyar Tiger Reserve entrance (100m) and because it has a pool. It was the second leg of our 10 day holiday in Kerala during my half term. We arrived fairly exhausted after a long drive from Fort Kochi via Munnar at about 6.30pm, desperate for a swim. Although they had locked the pool gate they opened it so that we could jump in the pool. Beware the water is chilly, but that did not prevent us from swimming twice daily! Our room (206) was huge with a decor that has a safari style and a verandah overlooking the jungle. I sat outside with the binoculars and spotted monkeys, deer, bison, cattle, herons and a wart hog, amongst others. Contrary to other reviews, we did not find the room noisy, far from it! We enjoyed three buffet breakfasts in the hotel dining room overlooking the immaculate pool area as well as our first evening meal. Staff were friendly, courteous and most helpful. The hotel is within 20 min walking distance of the centre of the main town of Kumily and offers a pleasant stroll passing many neat shops and hotels. We had been advised to get tickets into the Periyar Tiger Reserve at 6am. So we joined the queue outside the ticket office at 5.35am! By 6.20am we were first in the queue of tuc tucs revving outside the gate (our hotel manager had come to the gate and advised us against walking if we wanted to get a ticket for the 7.30am lake boat trip). As the barrier went up the whacky races were off on the 1 km drive, a score of tuc tucs jostling for pole position behind the ranger's vehicle. At a certain point passengers alighted and literally charged on foot for a further 1/2 km towards the boating ticket office. Needless to say, after much pushing and shoving, we got seats on the boat. It was a truly Indian experience - wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms face the jungle. Our room (201) seemed good and a nice height above the jungle. I expect r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a 1 day package in Rangerwood. The service is very poor. Hotel people are unfriendly and rude.
Whatever we request them, they simply tell we are busy and cannot do it now. We have requested Milk for the baby, even that request was not done. We roamed in the streets of Thekkady at night 3:30 am in search of any shop to buy milk. Such a stupid service they have.
Also while checking the customer, without crosscheck who is the right person, they simply call us and tell you hadn't paid money and pay it immediately. This embarrass us in front of the other people even though we paid full money before 2 months. finally they realize the mistake.

Overall - Stupid service and unfriendly. Especially avoid this hotel for Family vacation.

Room Tip: Better avoid booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrabhuChinnappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We booked a wild view room at this hotel on October 20 of 2012.we actually couldn't stay here for long because of onward plans but we liked the day of our stay.i think the view from the balcony is a very plus point for these guys..its very good.all u can see from the balcony is green green green.....which is cool.the restaurant is ok.not great.i hope there will be some variety in items for vegetarians....most of the menu is non veg.i think the service can be improved..

Conclusion:you can book this hotel if u r interested at watching the green......on a scale of 10,I would give this hotel 8........

Room Tip: Wild view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Overall - The experience was average, not worth the money spent. All facilities were there, but the ambience of the hotel failed to impress us.

Goods - Good view from the balcony(was able to see wild boar n some birds)

Bads - No bathtubs. The furniture was not blending with the rooms beauty. Food was below avg.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank VINOD T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked room "wild view" @2250 per night (inclusive of breakfast), during checkin they upgraded to "wild view pavilion" room nos 302. This is an awesome room, sit at the huge balcony (day/night), you will feel as if you are in the middle of the forest and the nature and you will completely forget the city life. This is a GREAT gesture from them to upgrade the room for free. The breakfast is complete veg and indian stuff. If you find it empty, ask them they will fill it up asap. If you do not get hot water, tell them they will do some magic and you will get it. The wooden decoration in room is awesome and the designer tiles in the rest room are elegant. We tried dinner in there restraurant (250 per head veg and 350 non-veg), it's filling but not awesome (above average) and a complete indian fare. There's a non-veg restraurant named ambadi (not much decoration, but food seems to be tasty). Overall this place is highly recommended and a great value for money. The staff and managers are well mannered and room boys are cooperative. They arrange for elephant rides at 300 per head. Walkable (150 meters) to periyar tiger reserve gate, you can buy entrance ticket and come back to take the group in.

Room Tip: Room facing periyar tiger reserve, room nos 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOYDEEP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Pros
1. Awesome view from the Balcony. It overlooks a forest and if you are lucky you can spot a wild boar or two.
2. Nice rooms with good interiors. the view from the Loo is awesome :)
3. Nice decent economical restaurant.
4. Good fast Service.
5. Closest resort to the Periyar tiger reserve. The Check post is hardly 50 metres from the resort.

Cons
Nothing that i can think of. 5 stars

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are cheap. But they are almost similar to the ones in the 4th. You woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlvinSaldanha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Its really a window to wild as they say. Its a serene green cool place to feel to be totally out of this chaotic world for a while to nourish and recharge our mind to be back again in the materialistic world. The rooms are specious, clean and decorated traditionaly. The staff is prompt and caring. The authorities are always ready to guide the tourist for how to enjoy this stay and to makde it a memorable stay in Thekkady. We can enjoy testy traditional food and fantastic typical Kerala massage in their massage centre. One should not miss Kalaripayatta, the threeling martial art from Kelarala and a colorfull prosperous traditional dance Kathakali. An exciting jungle treke, elephant ride and boat ride is must. In short two days stay in Rangerwood becomes a sweet memory for lifetime

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indrayanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#24 of 45 in Thekkady
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 45 in Thekkady
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 45 in Thekkady
119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.4 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangerwood Nature Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangerwood Nature Castle

Address: near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Rangerwood Nature Castle Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing