We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Respect for Guest and Agents Avoid at All Costs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rangerwood Nature Castle
Nashik, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No Respect for Guest and Agents Avoid at All Costs”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Dear Travellers looking for stay at thekkedy avoid this hotel. First of all the owners and managers dont have the manners to talk to guest. As one of the other reviewer also mentioned. No courtesy. Once you pay the payments.

Rooms much better options you get in thekkedy . We went as family and Rooms given were worst.

Out of 4 couples one couple coulnot come due to family problems and these people do not refunded money even after informing 5 days before.

In all avoid this hotel at any cost. If you want to get disappointed with kerala tour stay at this hotel .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_gnr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    96
    32
    15
    18
See reviews for
89
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The location was the key selling point for me. Just a short time away from the entrance of the reserve, it is ideal for the mad rush for the morning boat ride. I cannot comment on the Spa and the dining experience. The staff overall was very nice and gracious. The only thing that ticked me off was the front desk manager when I checked in to the hotel. Before I even got in the guy started on the spa services which was fine but his sales tactics were really odd and frankly annoying. When I said that I would think about it, he got angry and said that I had to decide right there. When I refused the services, he calmed down and said if I decided later he would try to fit me in. Weird welcome experience. But my other interactions with staff were great so it could be just one odd guy having a bad day or something. The room was nice and clean,with a great balcony opening up to the woods.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderingTyphoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The staff and management are very professional, courteous, and know how to look after their guests needs and demands. During the Xmas-New Year rush season, they were extremely patient with the mob of gUests checking in & out every day. Service and pride in their jobs starts at the top and trickles all the way down to every employee.
We were lucky to be the first ones to stay in their new 'treehouse' suite and loved every minute of it. Talk to the staff as often as you can: they'll make you feel youre a part of their family. They sincerely mean it and want you to enjoy all that Thekkady has to offer.
Rooms are very clean and well maintained. The resTaurant is not spectacular, but the food is good, and the sTaff will not hesitate to guide you to nearby restaurants if you want a change.

Overall - great value for money. Its not upscale like Spice Village or other resorts, so if you need a clean, friendly place to come back to after a day's outing, Ranger Wood is worth every rupee spent.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the forest, but do ask if their treehouse is available if you seek quiet, and no dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvind R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It was very Wonderful experience in Rangerwood Hotel, Thekkady during our Christmas Holiday tour in Dec. 2013. Spacious & Luxrious room with nice view of hill & forest. Good Spa facilities in hotel itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Located right at the entrance gate of the Tiger Reserve, Rangerwood is an excellent choice for stay in Thekkady. Thanks to a friendly advice and excellent location, i could go for an early morning boat ride in the Tiger Reserve ... an event in itself (one has to reach at the ticket counter by 5 am and need to run to book a seat for the early morning sortie!). Pavilion room was also large and v spacious and provided an excellent view of jungle from the room's balcony. Breakfast buffet was average though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is convinienlty located very near to Periyar Tiger Reserve. When we reached Thekkady, the boating ride at the reserve was closed but as the hotel was located at a walking distance we went to the Tiger reserve on next day early morning. The hotel has nice, mordern exterior and interior both. Upon arrival we were greeted with cool mocktails and the staff was very warm and welcoming. The category of our room was Wild View. It has got really nice view. The rooms were very spacious. Unfortunately we could'nt get a chance to have Ayurvedic Massage at the hotel as the same was booked till midnight. The hotel has claen and decent swimming pool and nice resto next to pool. The food was also good at the hotel.
Overall it was good value for money experience.

Room Tip: Good value for money hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manojchechani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Unfortunately, we did not stay at RWNC but were lucky to experience the excellent Ayurveda massage, delicious breakfast and efficient concierge hospitality. They organised a friendly and professional driver to and from Periyar Tiger Reserve and out "out-of-the-way" hotel as well as onward transportation to Kochi. We highly would recommend Ranger Wood to anyone visiting Periyar as opposed to a less efficient and more distant hotels that may offer a lower cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherdaughter97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
2.9 mi away
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
#1 of 93 in Thekkady
281 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coffee Routes Resort
Coffee Routes Resort
#2 of 93 in Thekkady
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangerwood Nature Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangerwood Nature Castle

Property: Rangerwood Nature Castle
Address: near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Rangerwood Nature Castle Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing