We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place For Animal Close-Ups”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rangerwood Nature Castle
Phuket
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place For Animal Close-Ups”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in one of their tree houses which have just been completed. This was ideal for us as we like photographing animals. The tree house, as the name suggests, is at tree top height and was like having our own private hide. We photographed black langur monkeys, woodpeckers, kingfishers, sambar deer and more; things that usually won't let you get too close.
The tree house offers spacious accommodation consisting of a large double bedroom - enough room to put an extra couple of beds if you have children (you'd have to keep an eye on them though because of the height), a large shower room (brightly decorated but clean!) and a beautiful balcony to watch the animals from. The room and balcony are beautifully furnished. As everything was new it was even more of a pleasure to return to in the evening. The hotel does have a pool which is ideal for cooling down after a hot day.
My greatest problem with the hotel was that the food was terrible. There are plenty of other places to eat in Thekkady so that's what we did, ate elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay in one of their tree houses - they only have two. We stayed in 407 (the one on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    96
    32
    15
    19
See reviews for
90
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and me stayed in this hotel in February, 2014. The view from the balcony was really fantastic - especially during the early morning and in the afternoons. The room was spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. One can see the forest even from the large glass window in the attached bath. Coupled with the fact that the hotel provided us with excellent services with a smile, the stay there was really memorable.

som

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. Initially we'd been given a rather smelly room but after the helpful staff found they couldn't remove the odour, they moved us to another room which was just fine. It was large but nothing special. It did the trick: providing a reasonable place for sleeping. Although, it must be said that the view from the balcony over the lake was pretty amazing! After writing this last sentence, I actually changed the review score from good to very good. :-)

The pool and the restaurant however would get a "below average". The pool is very cold and the food at the restaurant is overpriced and bland.

We had a massage which I thought was a very interesting experience. I've had quite a few massages in my life but the way this one was done (at times it felt as if there were 4 arms going over my body which I'm 100% certain there weren't) was pretty weird and very ticklish at times. I laughed so hard that I was totally relaxed afterwards! My husband on the other had had a totally different experience and came out with blue ribs. :-(

Overall stay here was good because it was so very different to what we'd experienced elsewhere in Kerala.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shueshue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

What a wonderful surprise this hotel was. The unique and spacious lobby and the wonderful huge bedrooms with park views was beyond our expectations! Reception staff very efficient and friendly. Next door to tiger reserve. The only negative thing was the breakfast. Staff were very slow to replenish empty food containers and many items were stale. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend more than one night here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelie-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We got rooms for good prices on the first floor, looking on to the forest area. At night you might see some wild buffalos too from the balcony.
The rooms are neat, big and everything was functional.

Awesome experience.

Room Tip: The higher the floor your room is, the better the view from the balcony. I would not choose the bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sr-ultimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
709 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is attractive and well situated. There is a lot of helpful staff around and the lobby though small is quite welcoming. We had room 202 which overlooked the preserve, is very spacious and clean. We negotiated the rate down to 4900 rps or $82, from the proposed rack rate of 10,000 rps, for the three, not including breakfast. We paid in cash, with no receipt.

We had an afternoon snack at the restaurant which located was delicious and a great surrounding located by the pool. The onsite spa is a must for massages. The staff were helpful in arranging to have a courier come by and get a package shipped.

The hotel is lovely and if you can afford it, an excellent choice.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshishGuptasfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Dear Travellers looking for stay at thekkedy avoid this hotel. First of all the owners and managers dont have the manners to talk to guest. As one of the other reviewer also mentioned. No courtesy. Once you pay the payments.

Rooms much better options you get in thekkedy . We went as family and Rooms given were worst.

Out of 4 couples one couple coulnot come due to family problems and these people do not refunded money even after informing 5 days before.

In all avoid this hotel at any cost. If you want to get disappointed with kerala tour stay at this hotel .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_gnr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.7 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
800 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppervine Hotel
Peppervine Hotel
#19 of 43 in Thekkady
201 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carmelia Haven
Carmelia Haven
#6 of 93 in Thekkady
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#6 of 43 in Thekkady
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangerwood Nature Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangerwood Nature Castle

Property: Rangerwood Nature Castle
Address: near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Rangerwood Nature Castle Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing