We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really really chill home stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayapott Plantation Villa
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really really chill home stay!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Mayapott recently. I'd strongly recommend this place to anybody who is truly looking to get away from it all. Nestled in the cardamom hills of Idukki - this is one resort that has been designed by really taking the stunning surroundings into account.

The drive to the resort is itself an exhilarating experience. We were welcomed by a really friendly staff and treated like family throughout our stay. The natural brook that gurgles past underneath the resort provides a soothing backdrop as you go about your activities. Indulge your escapist fantasies by visiting Mayapott.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvincent515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Team Mayapott at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Hello & Namaste!

Warm greetings and hearty congratulations for choosing Mayapott for your family holidays. Our team feels grateful and honored to read your review from a realistic & experiential family holidays. THANK YOU! We are certain that your touching feedback will beckon many more visitors for a "Mayapott Experience". Your sincere pats have really made our team charged up to smile and care more! We love to see you again at Mayapott. Cheers and Bye!

Team Mayapott Bungalow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have been to many resorts over the years with my family and have experienced not much of a site or location but was fair enough. Most common locations are like next to a lake or stream or even some cool places like munnar, ooty etc.. But a recent visit to one resort changed everything –Mayapott Bungalow.
Absolutely a beautiful location and a pleasant stay. Nothing like a cool atmosphere surrounded with 135 acres of cardamom plantation. Everything is great, the stay, the food, the staff and most of all the service.
The resort speaks for itself, what you can see, hear and feel the comfort. Like there’s this stream of continuous flow of water through different sizes of rocks such that you can actually hear them flowing down most of the time or especially when you get up from a goodnights sleep. Most of the rooms are located such that you open your windows you can actually see this flow of pure and cool water throughout. The food is great, cozy rooms with sweets to welcome the guest and the sweet aroma of the cardamom plantations. But what amazes me more is the structure of the resort. Its literally built around this huge rock! Pretty strong structure and you have to cross over the other side of the resort through this heavy constructed wooden bridge which is supported by this huge rock. You can actually see this huge rock staring right at you, not scary but feels awesome to pass by and touch it! Truly the best vacation and the best resort we have yet stayed. I can’t say more cause you need to experience it than just listen or even read this post. I recommend all my friends and other reading this post to make sure you visit this resort…truly amazing!

Thank you so much for a pleasant stay and the wonderful service!!

Room Tip: Must take a walk in the Cardamom plantations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0haan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Team Mayapott at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Hi Mr. Johaan,

Namaste!

Team Mayapott would like to express our gratitude to you for the generous positive strokes and fabulous words of appreciation. We were indeed honored to have you with us, we feel
happy to know that your entire friends and family members felt at home and had a wonderful holiday at Mayapott. We look forward to see you again! We are certain that travelers like you would definitely take your review as a heartfelt feedback.

thanking you and regards ...Team Mayapott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked the Mayapott for a stay of 3 days for our vacation this July. I did go through the many good reviews on Tripadvisor, but nothing did prepare me for the wonderful surprise in store. This place is nestled within a spice plantation, and by nestled, I really mean it. You may have difficulties finding this place, because it IS secluded and away from this world!

For starters - this is away from Thekkady town (where all the major resorts are located) so please do have your car driver speak directly to the ever helpful John or Johnson at the resort for directions! Once you are there, be prepared to spend the time of your life in solitude and peace.

The resort just has about 4 rooms, do try and choose the one which has a rock projection in your room and an open to sky bath! This makes the stay all the more memorable. And then be prepared to be blown away by the wonderful hospitality - that matches that of the big boys in the hotel industry.

John was our "man Friday" - managing our check in, luggage, demands, sight seeing, et all. And those mouth watering dishes prepared by chef Paul still linger on long after our holiday is over.

I can go on and on on the strem flowing under the rooms, the rocks jutting out, but it is best for you to experience these. All in all a great experience - the best place to go to if all you want to do is relax, relax and more relax! Give the bigger names in Thekkady a miss - try the Mayapott!
A word of advise - travel with a group of friends - you will enjoy it much more

Thanks John, Paul and Johnson for the awesome experience! Good Luck!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Director of Sales at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello Mr. Anand!

Our entire team is honored and humbled again by your sincere words of accolades, we can't bu thank you by dedicating the poem "I thank you God for this most amazing" by E. E. Cummings. We are thankful to the Nature and to her bounties that makes Mayapott a dream come true place.
.
i thank You God for this most amazing
day:for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
and a blue true dream of sky;and for everything
wich is natural which is infinite which is yes

(i who have died am alive again today,
and this is the sun's birthday;this is the birth
day of life and love and wings:and of the gay
great happening illimitably earth)

how should tasting touching hearing seeing
breathing any-lifted from the no
of all nothing-human merely being
doubt unimaginable You?

(now the ears of my ears awake and
now the eyes of my eyes are opened)

We look forward to see you again with friends at Mayapott!
Team Mayapott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubli-Dharwad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed in this farm house for one day. It is located in the midst of Cordomum plantations spread over 135 acres. It has small water stream flowing just around the rooms, u can hear its fow.. can also hear other nature pleasant surprises.

its true to its claims..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manjunath1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Team Mayapott Villa would like to thank you for the feedback about this unique nature hide-out. We are honored to hear that you have felt your experience at Mayapott as true its claim. We look forward to serve you again with friends and family.

Wellness regards ...Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were a group of six with a 4-yr old that booked Mayapott for a stay of 2 nights. Right from the very start until the very end, Mayapott lived true to its name.The hospitality of the staff was excellent and the ambience of the entire bungalow was very calm and peaceful. Our time spent was enriched with nothing but the sweet sounds of the nature like the gurgling brook, the chirpy birds etc.....

There were three rooms all very much different from each other yet very confusing for us to decide who got which room. One of the main highlights, was the fireplace where we had enjoyed one evening with a splendid barbeque setup by the staff. We would definitely recommend Mayapott to anyone who would like to be cut-off from the busy world and enjoy nothing but nature.

We would like to thank once again, Mr. Johnson, Mr. John, the Chef and rest of the team for all the arrangements made. Special thanks for the Chef for never keeping us hungry. (We will never forget your delightful desserts)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jib_San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Madam,

Namaste!

The entire team at Mayapott feel grateful and honored to see your review; it is very personal, detailed and from real experience. In fact it is one of the best, cute little travelogue! Thank you very much! Our team was more than happy to have served you. The little one was very entertaining to all of us, he kept all of us go crazy laughing with his innocent humor and mimics. We are certain you would cherish your memories once you are back home in Kuwait.

We look forward to see you again!

Wellness Regards ... Team Sisal Wellness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kohima, India
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

i hav cme here once and had an awesome experience.
totally i liked everything and i even recommended many people to come here.its really excellent.i came along with my family,we were around 10 people and we really enjoyd the overall atmosphere there.The food provided was delicious...and the staffs and the manaement needed to be complimented for their hospitability.we hope and we would recommend many people to come here and have a mesmarising time in mayapo

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZACKY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Director of Sales at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hi Zacky,

Namaste!

It was indeed great to know that your team of young travelers had an awesome experience at Mayapott. Your team being from different parts of the world, initially we had mixed feeling on how to make you all comfortable, but with in few minutes all of you had accustomed to the small wonderland. Thank you very much for recommending Mayapott experience to many !

Cheers !
Johnson Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erode, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Mayapott is unique in its style. Nature's real beauty blended into architectural villa. wonderful stay. Had a very good time. The traditional food, hospitality by Mr.John & team was great.

Sathya Balaraman

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sathyabalaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Director of Sales at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Namaste Madam!

Team Mayapott would like to thank you for the genuine words of appreciation that you have reviewed in the TripAdvisor. We are honored by the personal pats and we are glad that you liked the traditional cooking, the natural ambiance and the beauty of the house. We love to serve you again!

Wellness regards ... Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
7.9 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
7.9 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
22.1 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 14 in Chinnakanal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.8 mi away
Carmelia Haven
Carmelia Haven
#6 of 92 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayapott Plantation Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayapott Plantation Villa

Property: Mayapott Plantation Villa
Address: Kadamakkuzhy | Vallakadavu, Thekkady 685515, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayapott Plantation Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
… a stream, which meanders through the property, appears at one point and mysteriously vanishes at another point. No wonder the place is called “Mayapott” meaning ‘ the mystical point’ in Tamil language. Mayapott Plantation villa is a boutique home stay, built on a rock in the natural ambiance of 130 acres of cardamom estate; the greenery, birds & breeze, natural stream and excellent amenities invite travelers who seek peace and privacy along with rich activities such as trekking, plantation walks, honey bee farming, hiking, biking, bird watching, peaceful reading of their favorite book by the brook, learning and participating in the ethnic cooking. Apart from these activities one can enjoy the outdoor activities promoted and organized by the Kerala tourism such as, river rafting & trekking, boating, jungle safari.Mayapott is built around a huge rock, which was used as a resting point for hunters. Legend has it that the bonfire around which they rested was a safe refuge from the herd of wild elephants that raged the area. The rainforest canopy, the floor of which houses the cardamom plantation, provides the serene setting for Mayapott. A stream flows under the bridge that connects the two portions of the house, which is quite a delightful sight during the rains. The area also houses the huge pond that has been used as a storage tank for irrigating the plantation.A short while from Thekkady, the seat of the Periyar wildlife, yet far from anything that can disturb you….. So cut off that even a newspaper rarely reaches it; this home frees you to rejuvenate yourself in the deepest possible ways. This unique plantation hide-out features two fully furnished studio rooms(bed rooms) and one villa suite, a two bed spa, common dining area and fire place, a tea launch over the covered bridge ; and 130 acres of lush green cardamom plantation where privacy will be the password for nature lovers to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. And for honeymoon couples to get lost in their world of dreams, romance and playful mischief. Attached bath rooms have a natural ambience too. All the rooms have view of the plantation and the stream, complimented with music of the birds, aroma of cardamom, wild flowers and the list goes on… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mayapott Plantation Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayapott Plantation Villa Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing