We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in a Cardamom Plantation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayapott Plantation Villa
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lost in a Cardamom Plantation”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great Stay at this hotel.
The hotel is lost in the mountains, 20 min away from Thekkady, in a cardamom plantation. We spent one night, far away from the real life, in a nice stone house with a fireplace. The room (for 4 people) was a complete house, huge, with two bathrooms.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We had a tour in the plantation, a member of the staff explained us everything about the cardamom.
Dinner was great : We still remember the amazing dessert made of milk, rice, honey and spices !
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GeMed75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Director of Sales at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi & Namaste!

Thank you very much for sharing your candid words appreciation in TripAdvisor. We feel honored to know that your Mayapott Experience was matching to your taste. We are glad to know that our humble efforts not to be loud and aggressive in the fragile eco system is being appreciated by international travelers. Thanking and our team look forward to serve you again!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We refused to stay! That says it all.
Filthy outside. Shabby inside. Windows not cleaned. Towel dirty. The welcome said it all! Not bothered not welcoming not going there again! Could have been lovely. If you are a honeymoon couple don't read their write up, you'll have your first row and break up! Sorry to be negative. They were only bothered when we said we were leaving - too late and too much cleaning to make any difference.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill8858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Director of Sales at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Esteemed Traveler!

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your review in TripAdvisor, one of the prestigious travel forums.
We would like to take your version of the narrative with a grain of salt, because during our several years of managing this boutique place your review has been a very different one, negating all the statements made by previous travelers from across the globe. We do take our guests reviews very seriously and introspect our mistakes, however we do not want to take reviews with malignant purpose to tarnish our image. We understand that you did not appreciate the ambiance of the place, and we do respect your freedom to choose better off places.
Also we acknowledge with kind regards that you have used the room, bathroom and the dining area during lunch. If you feel that your reservation advances are to be refunded we are ready to do that with all our humility, the travel assistance provider in India could help you for the same. However for that reason we DO NOT accept all the negative accolades showered on us. And we believe that TripAdvisor as a widely respected travel forum does not give a senior reviewer the right to spread ill feeling about our humble business enterprise. Thanking you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Mayapott is like nothing I've seen in India or expected to see (we have been to visit family and travel 5 times). It is an architectural gem in a beautiful lush green setting. We stayed with our children, 5 and 8, who loved exploring the cardamom plantation, playing in the creek and swinging in the hammock. We expected a single room but were put in a two story space with living area built into the stone and two baths, one which was partially outdoors! The food was simple but good, served family style. Being former backpackers, we really enjoyed sharing meals with our fellow travelers. Binoo was very helpful and an excellent host. We really enjoyed our personal tour of the plantation and cardamom processing facility.

It is a bit off the beaten path - difficult to find and does not lend itself to frequent visits to town. But once we arrived we wished we had not prepaid our hotel in Kochin, and could stay an extra day.

Here is my 8-year old's review: "Really good and awesome and full of awesome nature."

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deckermandhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Manager at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello & Namaste!

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your experience at Mayapott Villa, Thekkady. Our team is encouraged by your pats and accolades. Your kind words make us feel proud. It is very kind of you to mention the smallest details too.

Thank you very much and look forward to see you again! Cheers! Team Mayapott villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a place! Bino and his staff are all so obliging, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. There were 3 couples there and the staff catered to each pair separately - we were the only ones who ate in the dining room. Our "suite" was lovely with lots of hot water. We enjoyed the personally guided tour by Bino around the plantation, complete with rainshower, but the highlight for my husband was the carom board in the dining room!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CateP42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Team at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Our entire team at Mayapott Villa feels great and honored to read your touching review with details and very personal pats. We are glad that a widely traveled top contributor of TripAdvisor has given a very rave review about Mayapott Villa. It is indeed an honor and an invitation to several other travelers to experience the unique features that Mayapott can offer. Thank you and looking forward to see you again.
Cheers! Team Mayapott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Mayapott villa is an architectural delight, a house built into a rock face using its natural indentation and curvature. The plantation is a calm and peaceful place with lush green surrounds. If you wish to have a relaxing time, this is the place to be in Thekkady, "away from the maddening crowds". Our host Bino made us feel very welcome, the chef prepared excellent meals. The only disadvantages are: no wifi, and difficult transport to the periyar park or thekkady.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Team at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for the valuable time that you have spent to review your experience with us in TripAdvisor. Our team is grateful to you for kind words of appreciation, certainly your review has increased our motivational level to cheerful and courteous. Regarding your observation about the distance from Periyar Park to Mayapott, It is 15 kms and as you are aware most of the big resorts / hotels are in the busy town, that places Mayapott at a unique position where nature is as close as it could be, beyond ones imagination. Most of our guest prefer to be away from the noisy and nuances of city life at least for a while. The road is less crowded however as a hill station road, it has several curves and bends which is also part of the entire plantation and wild life destination experience..

Thank you and cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is located in a great area - natural beautiful spot. Also the building itself brings nature into your room, the staff is very kind and helpful... but the shower almost did not had hot water. The whole atmosphere and experience were damaged for me, when it was just impossible to have even two min of warm nice shower.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank danit_shaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisalwellness, Team at Mayapott Plantation Villa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Team Mayapott!

Our team is glad that you have taken your valuable time to write a candid review about you experience at Mayapott. We are grateful to you for the kind words and at the same time deeply hurt to know that you had a sour experience with shower as the hot water was not sufficient. As you know it is a boutique home stay with only 4 rooms. The water heating is done electric geezers with a volume of 15 to 20 liters; hence one must use the hot water very discretely, however during holidays it is quiet natural that we forget such a small thing. It is our cause to save energy and incur the least carbon foot prints by serving our esteemed travelers.
Thanking you and we look forward to see you again!
Cheers ! Team Mayapott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had spent 3 nights of fabulous honeymoon holidays at Mayapott Villa in the first week of January. It had the maximum privacy, however we were pampered with warm smiles, most courteous services we ever had during our trip.

The Villa is designed romantically and inspiring like fairy tales. Food was amazing. We loved the prawns mappas made by Chef Paul along with crispy appams and he was very kind to teach how to make appams.

They also arranged a candlelit dinner for us at the fireplace and it was such a sweet experience that I still remember the gargling sounds of the stream below. We had a wonderful canoe ride in Ayappa Temple Lake during one of the afternoons.

We enjoyed the martial art show at Thekkady but the boat ride was disappointing.

Only concern we had in the resort was that we were waken up by birds song in the morning.

Kudos to the team at Mayapott.

Room Tip: The Villa by the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaMatts777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
7.9 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
418 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
816 reviews
6.2 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ragamaya Resort & Spa Munnar
8.2 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#6 of 43 in Thekkady
865 reviews
7.7 mi away
Amaana Plantation Resort
Amaana Plantation Resort
#1 of 43 in Thekkady
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayapott Plantation Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayapott Plantation Villa

Property: Mayapott Plantation Villa
Address: Kadamakkuzhy | Vallakadavu, Thekkady 685515, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayapott Plantation Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
… a stream, which meanders through the property, appears at one point and mysteriously vanishes at another point. No wonder the place is called “Mayapott” meaning ‘ the mystical point’ in Tamil language. Mayapott Plantation villa is a boutique home stay, built on a rock in the natural ambiance of 130 acres of cardamom estate; the greenery, birds & breeze, natural stream and excellent amenities invite travelers who seek peace and privacy along with rich activities such as trekking, plantation walks, honey bee farming, hiking, biking, bird watching, peaceful reading of their favorite book by the brook, learning and participating in the ethnic cooking. Apart from these activities one can enjoy the outdoor activities promoted and organized by the Kerala tourism such as, river rafting & trekking, boating, jungle safari.Mayapott is built around a huge rock, which was used as a resting point for hunters. Legend has it that the bonfire around which they rested was a safe refuge from the herd of wild elephants that raged the area. The rainforest canopy, the floor of which houses the cardamom plantation, provides the serene setting for Mayapott. A stream flows under the bridge that connects the two portions of the house, which is quite a delightful sight during the rains. The area also houses the huge pond that has been used as a storage tank for irrigating the plantation.A short while from Thekkady, the seat of the Periyar wildlife, yet far from anything that can disturb you….. So cut off that even a newspaper rarely reaches it; this home frees you to rejuvenate yourself in the deepest possible ways. This unique plantation hide-out features two fully furnished studio rooms(bed rooms) and one villa suite, a two bed spa, common dining area and fire place, a tea launch over the covered bridge ; and 130 acres of lush green cardamom plantation where privacy will be the password for nature lovers to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. And for honeymoon couples to get lost in their world of dreams, romance and playful mischief. Attached bath rooms have a natural ambience too. All the rooms have view of the plantation and the stream, complimented with music of the birds, aroma of cardamom, wild flowers and the list goes on… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mayapott Plantation Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayapott Plantation Villa Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing