We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realy nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Ranked #2 of 115 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Realy nice!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

An oasis of calm in the turbulent India. A special greeting to the very helpful and cute waiter from my extremely charming travel partners Katja and Selina. All in all the two day stay in your luxury plantation was nearly perfect."

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    36
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
94
247
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Yes, the hotel is 15 minutes' drive from Thekkady. No, there's not a huge amount to do directly from the hotel. Yes, Thekkady is 6 hours' drive from Kochi. And yes, this is why we loved it so much. It's a wonderful retreat high in the hills amid cardamon plantations. Our room was surrounded by trees and cardamon plants - listening to the constant bird chatter became addictive (I am not a twitcher!) - and it was one of the most relaxing parts of our Kerala adventure. Food is excellent - the banana and cardamon jam at breakfast was divine - and Prikko and her team couldn't have been more accommodating and hospitable.

If you're planning a trip to Thekkady, this is where to stay.

Room Tip: 2 rooms are either side of the dining area, pool suites are close by but I'd pick the room under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktp1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip to Kerela. After a long 6 hour journey from Kochi we were greeted by extremely friendly staff & given some very welcome refreshments. We stayed in a suite and the room and bathroom was lovely and spacious. Yes the room is off the dining area but only opened onto our sitting room area and we never found it an issue. The food was lovely, in providing a selection of food it gave us the opportunity to try items we might not have picked off a menu. The carrot cake they gave us as a honeymoon gift was delicious! We undertook a cookery lesson while we were there which was really informative. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our only regret - that we hadn't booked an extra night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrowserMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Fantastic fantastic fantastic, wonderful place I cannot praise it enough. Ms Prikko was very helpful and such a nice lady.. I would like to visit this Estate again for an extended period, i would even work there to just be close to the Cardomon smells, the water is calming the bee hives are reassuring. Loved it .even the bridges are nice.. Reminded me of an estate owned by the late Ambrose Congreve of the well know Gardens.
All the staff were just so gentle and accommodating. the Chef cAme out to enquire how we liked the food, an extreamly polite man. The food was the best we had in India.
We arrived at lunch time and Ms Prikko arranged lunch for all eleven of us. I hadn't been well and really was not looking forward to eating but the food was perfect and loads of healing ginger tea.

The rooms well what can I say. We had a little sitting area and the Bed room separated by double door. Spotlessly clean crisp white bed linen. Perfect ...
The outdoor shower was so invigorating and different. We also had a balcony which overlook the estate. I think Ms Prikko mentioned 6 acres. There are also villas with private pools, again very nicely appointed water was cold but again invigorating.
The owner had photographs he has taken positioned around the house, these are unbelievable.
Also recipe books are great value to bring home as presses.
Overall a wonderful experience and the most remember hostelry of our trip to India.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirdiff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The best hotels during my trip to Kerala, every thing about this hotel is defined to a very small details, including the tree in the bath?!
Any one looking for a super quiet night he should include Aanavilasam at the top of the list

The food is home cooked and it is GREAT

Many thanks to Mrs.Pirkko Paxton for here warm welcome and great hospitality

I will diffidently go back again, but this time with my wife!

Room Tip: This hotel is much much Better for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aboaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I learnt about aanavilasam from Tripadvisor and decided to choose the place considering our fellow travelers review and I am totally impressed.
From the day I sent the enquiry,Ms Prikko(Our Hostess) was there to help us with quick replies and plan our vacation.I choose to stay at the poolvilla ,and I believe they are the best. Though the water was cold the very beauty of the pool made us take a plunge a couple of times during our stay.
The food at aanavilasam tasted just like at home.(I am from kerala).
Also the design of bathroom,is really nice.
It wasn't till i convince my wife that we would come here later ,she packed her luggage on the second day.
I strongly recommend this place for all fellow travelers .

Room Tip: Pool Villa and may be you can also consider Pool Villa:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kannan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Its a family vacation with my parents..! we stayed for 2 nights.,Getting into this place is quite troublesome as hardly there are sign boards..!

Once you get off the main road and enters into the estate..you will get fresh air filled with cardamom aroma (cardamom plantations are around in this estate)..all your travel tiredness will vanish in that moment..!

Next our host Ms. Pirkoo received us with warm welcome, she is a gem of a person with lots of patience & everlasting smile :)

Rooms are awestruck especially open to sky bathrooms..we loved it..! Hatsoff to Mr. Salim Pushpanath..he has taken interest in each & every iota nook..!

Immediately she arranged hot snacks with superb cardamom coffee...atmosphere is so soothing, peaceful, really out of this world..! Chef is so polite, he comes and inquires about our interest of food, accordingly they arranged a gala dinner..! No words are enough to describe the taste & quality of food..we personally appreciated chef..!

My brother's family were so delighted with this place that they dropped a day's sightseeing in Tekkady..!

It's really a paramount & memorable stay in our whole Kerala's vacation..hence we have taken snap with whole team of anavilasam with our family..! Kudos to your team Mr. Salim & Ms. Pirkoo..!

@ Ms. Pirkoo - We loved your carving of Halloween pumpkin with arrangement :)

Room Tip: It's a fantastic place for Honeymooner's., go for pool villa., in drawing room there is atta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddy_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
3.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
676 reviews
4.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
410 reviews
4.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
4.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
4.8 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House

Property: Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Address: Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Thekkady 685535, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House is a new (2009) plantation house on 7 acres of private estate. (Just 8 km from Thekkady (Periyar wildlife sanctuary) It is surrounded by a pristine Cardamom and Pepper plantation.Owned by Salim Pushpanath a photographer and publisher in Tourism.As a vacation retreat, this property gives the sensation of an exotic far away destination without the hassle of traffic. Luxuriously appointed yet casual and welcoming, this is a boutique accommodation suited for individuals, couples, or small families in search of a personalized country retreat.We offer a range of accommodation options to meet the needs of all our guests. Choose from Luxury suite rooms and Luxury Pool villas. The contemporary classic design includes Two suites and Two Pool Villas, both appointed with a luxurious bed and linens. Both suites are individually styled and have an elegant country-house feel where comfort is paramount. Natural fabrics, like Indian linens, cottons, wools and silks add to the feeling of understated luxury. A stylish fireplace and book shelves in the main living room and the dining area connect the two suites.The spacious suites offer 600 square feet of indoor space. French doors open onto an oversized private living room with views of the surrounding hillsides and cardamom plants. The suites feature a king sized bedroom and separate living room with a generous seating area, work desk, dining table, and pantry with refrigerator. Both suites feature a veranda and spacious bathrooms with separate showers, double vanities, large garden bath with romantic touches such as bath oils and candles.The room rate includes candlelit dinner and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing