We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Do not stay here if you have any other option.””
Review of White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White House
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed 12 January 2013

what is written by dear sambit is quite true!

I had the same bad experiences.... Want to add one more that the drinking water provided was very smelly even i forgot to complaint about this to the owner lady.
the only plus point is the limited 4 rooms with balcony view to the wide forest.

poonam/delhi

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poo_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

Pro:
The rooms were clean.
Some rooms at the end has balcony and have good view.
The location is walkable from periyar tiger reserve.
Cons:
Price is too high.
The rooms lack many basic amunities for the price like tv, mosquito coils ,any sort of closet, all time hot water availability. The plug points in our room were not working. The owner lady infact told us to buy mosquito coil ourselves. Only 1 cfl light in bedroom was working.

Do not stay here if you have any other option.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehouseperiyar, Owner at White House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

The review he had written is wrong...He told that the lights is not working but its wrong .......They took room after checking all things in the room........And regarding price,that is normal rate only.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stay at white house was so wonderful.we enjoyed a lot….They having nice room which is very neat,clean and has a good view to the Sanctuary(Thekkady).While sitting in the balcony we feel so relaxed ,calm and quiet,peaceful location and we can see many types of birds and animals like Sam bore deer ,wild bore,mongoose ,black monkeys….Really we enjoyed the stay at WHITEHOUSE…..

Room Tip: choose sanctuary view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AidaBanglore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Very nice, big room with the view in to the lush greenery. I'm sure the daughter will take over one day! She was so nice, but the mom too. We got some good recommendations which were very helpful and best was the recommendation of the cooking class at "BBQ Thekkady".
Thank you very much for that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yoshichang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had stayed in WhiteHouse Homestay,which is located in thekkady near to the periyar
entrance gate...We stayed there for 2 days.....They having two varieties of rooms..One is Sanctuary view room and other one is cottages....We had stayed in cottages which having a lovely view to the coffee garden and is very calm and quiet.They having cheapest as well as luxury type rooms.both were nice.And the main thing is that rooms was very clean and neat..
The family over there is friendly and is very helpful ........So i am recommending you guys White House Homestay........

Room Tip: check firstly White house homestay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unniErnakulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

They offer 2 types of acco - budget at 600 INR and the newer rooms at 1200 INR. I stayed in the budget room ( number 4) and it was average.

Hole in one of the window frames meant that mosquitoes always entered and a coil was a necessity.
Quite a few ants around.
There was no hot water in the bathroom. I requested to change my room but was told it applies to all rooms in same range and i was asked to carry some buckets of water as needed from the communal hot tap. She reduced some money from her asking price which was good.
Acco is safe. Overall ok.

Newer rooms seem better - atleast from the balcony they have ( rooms 10 & 11 ). Its a separate little building. Check if they have hot water straight in the bathroom.

Recommendation is to stay in newer rooms here or stay in better budget acco on bypass road ( average 800 INR). Look for govt gold rating homestays.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mish129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I spent two nights in Thekkady at White House, and these were really great! I would actually have loved to spend more days there, but had already arranged my trip in Kerala.
I got one of the rooms at the top floor with a magnificent view on the jungle, got monkeys passing by in the morning to say hello, saw weird birds in the trees, and cows in the fields.
The lady and her daughter who take care of the place are both great persons to meet, and full of advices. I highly recommend that place, really!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank papillon_vlinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sithara International
Hotel Sithara International
#43 of 44 in Thekkady
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungle Palace Homestay
Jungle Palace Homestay
#22 of 44 in Thekkady
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Michael's Inn
Michael's Inn
#31 of 44 in Thekkady
198 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 44 in Thekkady
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himarani
Hotel Himarani
#38 of 44 in Thekkady
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Address: Lake Road | Near Thekkady Entrance Gate, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £21 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing