We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ambadi(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Spice Village(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Treetop(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Michael's Inn(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
4
11
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
11
6
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Do not stay here - there are much better options for the money! The rooms were not very clean, the shower was broken, the fan was very noisey and looked like it was about to fall down. We asked for toilet roll and was told that we needed to provide our own. There was no protection against insects and we could barely shut the door of our room. When a huge spider turned up in the bathroom that was the last straw and we moved elsewhere. We had booked for 2 nights, not even stayed one and the owner refused to give us any sort of refund.
The only plus was the view which looked directly over the park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Plum1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This homestay is located in vicinity of Periyar Tiger Reserve entrance. We had a room in a newer part of the resort, on the 2nd floor with a balcony and hanging chairs overlooking the garden and tiger reserve. Older ones didn't look so nice as those facing the reserve. Room was clean, ok furnished and quite spacious, although it did not have mosquito nets. Owners were really nice. But the best was the balcony and the view - in the evening we were chilling in comfy chairs observing the nature. We saw some monkeys, wild pigs, water buffaloes passing by, lots of birds and even a porcupine. Bring a mosquito repellents.

Room Tip: Take a room in a newer part of the resort, with a balcony and hanging chairs overlooking the garden and tiger reserve. Bring a mosquito mosquito nets or repellents as small air windows are unprotected. Ask if they have hot water in the room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

what is written by dear sambit is quite true!

I had the same bad experiences.... Want to add one more that the drinking water provided was very smelly even i forgot to complaint about this to the owner lady.
the only plus point is the limited 4 rooms with balcony view to the wide forest.

poonam/delhi

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poo_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Pro:
The rooms were clean.
Some rooms at the end has balcony and have good view.
The location is walkable from periyar tiger reserve.
Cons:
Price is too high.
The rooms lack many basic amunities for the price like tv, mosquito coils ,any sort of closet, all time hot water availability. The plug points in our room were not working. The owner lady infact told us to buy mosquito coil ourselves. Only 1 cfl light in bedroom was working.

Do not stay here if you have any other option.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehouseperiyar, Owner at White House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

The review he had written is wrong...He told that the lights is not working but its wrong .......They took room after checking all things in the room........And regarding price,that is normal rate only.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stay at white house was so wonderful.we enjoyed a lot….They having nice room which is very neat,clean and has a good view to the Sanctuary(Thekkady).While sitting in the balcony we feel so relaxed ,calm and quiet,peaceful location and we can see many types of birds and animals like Sam bore deer ,wild bore,mongoose ,black monkeys….Really we enjoyed the stay at WHITEHOUSE…..

Room Tip: choose sanctuary view room
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AidaBanglore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews