We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestay in my trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panthalams Homestay
Ranked #4 of 115 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homestay in my trip”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were there on road trip in India. We were delighted with Mr. Sukurs warm welcome and assistance during our stay. I would recommend this place for friend who are into homestay experience. Thank you for making it wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHAMJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
59
88
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As to Mr. and Mrs. Shukor and wonderful Pantalams,
the room we had, third floor rear, was splendidly large,
and with a balcony that tethered over the valley below,
thus seeming to float in the ring of mountains
surrounding us. Here life passed slowly with rising sun
and kerala breakfast of fruit, coconut rice, sauces, or
continental, which was fairly standard and not to compare
with the kerala. But crowning joy was large pots of steaming
fresh brewed coffee in whatever form one wanted, and
certainly in itself more than worth the three or four
dollars we were paying for breakfast for two.

We soon found that having Mr. Shukor’s wife prepare
supper for us was a fine deal price wise, far better than
could be had anywhere else in town, especially since
she was forever ready to respond to whatever request
we had as long as within the skill of hard working people
running a small business with many different guests.
For us, this tended towards giant bowls of rice with
similarly sized accompanying bowls of fresh cooked
vegetables, (an absolute rarity in this part of the world),
sometimes protein in the form of fish, but most often
chicken breast cooked in pineapple and mango, and
much fresh fruit. In truth, after five weeks, we were
not so fond of it all in the end, but looking back, it is
by far the healthiest diet we have had in our travels.
Certainly, it has been the very best in terms
of value for money. Our monthly rate was very
reasonable indeed at some fifteen dollars a night for
two persons, and additionally, supper for two hovering
near seven dollars.

The home itself is as ideal a location one may find in
Thekaddy. Situated outside the town, but within walking
distance of its center either along the wild animal sanctuary
rim, or down several lovely and well maintained paths
leading to a major road, one was entirely distanced from
the hubbub of India city life, and yet close enough to
make shopping rounds a snap.

As anyone who has visited Thekaddy may attest, there
is precious little walking area outside the preserve itself,
where one must pay to enter and also with guide. And
so these walks outside the preserve, on its very edge
and down small country lanes of typical India life, were
very much appreciated. Especially since they allowed
us complete escape from the town and its endless
procession of repeated shops geared towards the
tourist trade.

Room Tip: All the rooms are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Panthalams is a fantastic homestay, the accommodation is spotless and the location is ideal for the national park and shopping in the town. The rooms are big, well furnished and the shower was amazing! Whilst we stayed we were looked after extremely well and all bookings for trips to the park, watching kathakali or transport was all organised for us with no problem. A really super place to stay with an extremely helpful and hospitable family, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanna94413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

we came here based on tripadvisor ratings and were not disappointed: big and clean rooms with new/modern bathroom and hot (not just warm) water. the balcony is nice to enjoy the cool morning and evening breeze. But most of all the people make the difference: so nice an friendly, always trying zo make you feel like home! very good support on organising activities and a lot of fun with the cooking class! we can highly recommend anyone to stay here

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daebischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaarLouis, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We just had planed to stay for 2 nights, Bur right after arrival we decided to stay a 3rd night. Shukoor and his family are very helpful with every aspect of our stay. Breakfast was great. See my pic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Panthalams is a great place to stay and is excellent value for money. Shukkoor and his wife are perhaps a little too eager to help but this represents cultural differences more than anything else.
His knowledge of the area is second to none and he will arrange programmes to suit your interests.
The accommodation is spacious and clean and it is a delight to sit on the balcony and observe the bulbuls and other wonderful birds.
Do take the opportunity to eat dinner at Panthalams. The curries are better than anywhere else we ate in Kumily. However it is a little disconcerting that Shukkoor does not charge a set amount for the meal but just asks you to pay what you think it was worth.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very comfortable & friendly homestay - food was excellent. As a retired couple travelling round Kerala, we arrived tired on the bus from Alleppy, and initially thought Sukkor too keen to help, but as we (and Sukkor) relaxed we found his advice very useful & we really enjoyed the trip in his car to local viewpoints. The view over the plains of Tamil Nadu was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_and_Sue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 43 in Thekkady
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#6 of 115 in Thekkady
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Konark Homestay
Konark Homestay
#5 of 115 in Thekkady
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Periyar Villa Home Stay, Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panthalams Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panthalams Homestay

Property: Panthalams Homestay
Address: Thekkinkadu | Thekkady P.O., Idukki Dt., Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panthalams residency is a large and welcoming family home, situated 100m from the Periyar Tiger Reserve and 800m from Kumily Bus Station. You will enjoy the tranquility of silence and the sounds of nature, away from the bustle of downtown Kumily. The rooms are clean and large, with big windows and a modern attached bathroom and a terrace. There are hanging chairs on each terrace. On request we serve delicious breakfast and dinner, with the traditional taste of Kerala. Room rates are from INR1000 to INR2500 for deluxe rooms, the price includes breakfast, free car parking, free wifi, laundry service, free tour information, and free traditional cooking courses. For further information, please send an email or call us. We will welcome you at any time of the day. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Panthalams Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panthalams Homestay Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing