We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my experience at panthalam home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panthalams Homestay
Ranked #6 of 113 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my experience at panthalam home”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

me and my 7 friends happen to visit theykadi, gavi forest, and places around.
Real good experience and hospitality . Shokkoor runs the place with good facility rooms , had a comfortable stay down there, he has got wifi , hot water , bath tub. he has built own space for bachelors and couples. If you happen to visit there, you can ask shukkoor to cook typical kerala fish fry and curry , you will love it. Shukkor also guides you for best places you could look around for which are worth and not available on maps.

Room Tip: rooms on the back end and top floors you could look for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugeshnambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
86
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My daughter and I were well looked after by Shukkor and his family and were pleased to find an adequate shopping area within walking distance.This is a lovely home stay with large, clean comfortable rooms, airy bathroom with plenty of hot water, and a green wooded view from the balcony. The included Keralan breakfast was a treat and the meals from the optional cooking classes were yummy, we were fortunate enough to share a meal with this lovely family. Shukkor was able to give us information on the many tourist activities available as well as driving us to see some of the sights which were further away. I would recommend this home stay and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorreley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the moment on we arrived Thekkady we were impresses by owner Mr. Shukoor's generosity. He even came to pick us up at bus stop. The homestay is located very close to the tiger reserve and yet at a walkable distance from the market. The view is awesome. Mr Shukoor not only made our homestay very convenient by offering to take us everywhere in his car, he also made it memorable by suggesting the best places to go and best things to do. He also arranged for us to see the Kathakali show and the martial arts show, by not just getting the tickets, but also the best seats. My favorite thing about the homestay was the awesome meals that Mr. Shukoor's wife cooked for us. After our first meal there we ate all our meals there at a very minimal price, which one gets to decide on their own. Although, I do wish Mr Shukoor gives a fixed price to his customers for the meals. Finally, this was one of the best homestay we have ever stayed at and would definitely visit again. I can never forget the yummy meals that we were offered there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kadambari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited Kerala in 2nd week of June for 7 days & decided to try a Homestay in Thekkady.
This was the first time we had actually booked a Homestay & I was always in doubt whether the decision was correct or not.
All my doubts changed in the 2 days i stayed here in Panthalams Homestay.
First of all ous Host Mr. Shukoor is a fantastic genuine person who is always there to help you.
He advised us the places we should visit, shopping where we should be doing & also the correct places to go for massage.
On day 2 he even took us for some local sight seeing which we would have never been able to see had he not been there. He even offered to take us in his own CAR. What nice gesture.
Now coming to the stay & room part. There are different options available in Panthalams based on the budget.
We chose the deluxe room which is in 2nd floor. Room was very clean with a big clean bathroom. Blankets & towels provided were some of the cleanest which I had used in Kerala hotels. It was much cleaner than many of the more expensive hotels which I stayed in Kerala.
Bathroom has hot water coming & shower was also good.
You have an option of having food in the room for which you need to inform him before hand. Mind you the food which we had for dinner at his place was one of the most authentic Kerala cuisine which me & my wife savored a lot. For breakfast you can advise him a day before if you need anything specific & you will get it. We asked for Apam & the other day we got nice Apam with stew.
The only drawback which I felt was that its little difficult to find the Homestay the first time when we come. There are not much sign boards available for guiding us to this place.
Apart from this I do not see any issues with this Homestay.
It was a memorable stay for us & I will surely like to go back to this place whenever I visit Thekkady again.

Room Tip: Any rooms from 2nd floor & above will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya_Mumbai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were there on road trip in India. We were delighted with Mr. Sukurs warm welcome and assistance during our stay. I would recommend this place for friend who are into homestay experience. Thank you for making it wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHAMJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As to Mr. and Mrs. Shukor and wonderful Pantalams,
the room we had, third floor rear, was splendidly large,
and with a balcony that tethered over the valley below,
thus seeming to float in the ring of mountains
surrounding us. Here life passed slowly with rising sun
and kerala breakfast of fruit, coconut rice, sauces, or
continental, which was fairly standard and not to compare
with the kerala. But crowning joy was large pots of steaming
fresh brewed coffee in whatever form one wanted, and
certainly in itself more than worth the three or four
dollars we were paying for breakfast for two.

We soon found that having Mr. Shukor’s wife prepare
supper for us was a fine deal price wise, far better than
could be had anywhere else in town, especially since
she was forever ready to respond to whatever request
we had as long as within the skill of hard working people
running a small business with many different guests.
For us, this tended towards giant bowls of rice with
similarly sized accompanying bowls of fresh cooked
vegetables, (an absolute rarity in this part of the world),
sometimes protein in the form of fish, but most often
chicken breast cooked in pineapple and mango, and
much fresh fruit. In truth, after five weeks, we were
not so fond of it all in the end, but looking back, it is
by far the healthiest diet we have had in our travels.
Certainly, it has been the very best in terms
of value for money. Our monthly rate was very
reasonable indeed at some fifteen dollars a night for
two persons, and additionally, supper for two hovering
near seven dollars.

The home itself is as ideal a location one may find in
Thekaddy. Situated outside the town, but within walking
distance of its center either along the wild animal sanctuary
rim, or down several lovely and well maintained paths
leading to a major road, one was entirely distanced from
the hubbub of India city life, and yet close enough to
make shopping rounds a snap.

As anyone who has visited Thekaddy may attest, there
is precious little walking area outside the preserve itself,
where one must pay to enter and also with guide. And
so these walks outside the preserve, on its very edge
and down small country lanes of typical India life, were
very much appreciated. Especially since they allowed
us complete escape from the town and its endless
procession of repeated shops geared towards the
tourist trade.

Room Tip: All the rooms are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Panthalams is a fantastic homestay, the accommodation is spotless and the location is ideal for the national park and shopping in the town. The rooms are big, well furnished and the shower was amazing! Whilst we stayed we were looked after extremely well and all bookings for trips to the park, watching kathakali or transport was all organised for us with no problem. A really super place to stay with an extremely helpful and hospitable family, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanna94413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#5 of 113 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Konark Homestay
Konark Homestay
#4 of 113 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kerala House
Kerala House
#9 of 113 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panthalams Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panthalams Homestay

Property: Panthalams Homestay
Address: Thekkinkadu | Thekkady P.O., Idukki Dt., Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panthalams residency is a large and welcoming family home, situated 100m from the Periyar Tiger Reserve and 800m from Kumily Bus Station. You will enjoy the tranquility of silence and the sounds of nature, away from the bustle of downtown Kumily. The rooms are clean and large, with big windows and a modern attached bathroom and a terrace. There are hanging chairs on each terrace. On request we serve delicious breakfast and dinner, with the traditional taste of Kerala. Room rates are from INR1000 to INR2500 for deluxe rooms, the price includes breakfast, free car parking, free wifi, laundry service, free tour information, and free traditional cooking courses. For further information, please send an email or call us. We will welcome you at any time of the day. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Panthalams Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panthalams Homestay Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing