We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sandra Palace
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel in afternoon, the staff was friendly. We were served lemon juice on arrival, and check-in process was done swiftly.
We stayed for one night. Room was clean n cosy, however our window opened up to another building which really dissapointed us.
Also hot water is not avalaible 24 hours. Its available from 7 AM/PM - 10 AM/PM
Breakfast buffet spread was tasty. Food in the restaurant was average.
TV had only couple of Hindi and English channels available.
Plus points are Kalari, kathakalai & elephant ride sites are on walking distance.
Overall it was ok for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoNit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is good and worth for the money that we spent. Friendly staff and well spacious rooms with necessary amenities. We booked it through Chennai Panickers Tours and Travels, and they too did an excellent arrangement.

The hotel is located well in Thekkady town area and offers many tourist arrangement and the food is too good...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooraj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Best hotel i can say for foodies... I loved the receipes here.. :) Located in the city of Kumily.. all shopping, tourist places are nearby this hotel. Periyar river is just 15 mins by car and also Elephant ride 10 mins walking distance. Rooms are clean n tidy though the view is not great which wasn't important for me.. But the food is. The speciality of this Hotel is there BIRYANI.. 16 types of biryanis.. Awesome..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumeetPingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Average hotel, good for tourist places though. The hotel was quite neat & clean, rooms were spacious with good gallery view. Services were fast, food taste was good all north indian dishes were availaible.

On let down side, hot water availaible only during morning & evening hours, breakfast quality & services were poor, they ensured to make you feel that breakfast was complimentary. Entire breakfast was cold for both days we stayed, also response to request was poor.

Choose if you're looking forward to stay at a locaiton where in all attractions are easily accessible and near by. Especially the Kalari, kathakalai & elephant ride sites all are on walking distance.

Room Tip: Take superior room for a additional rent, as it has a gallery & spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Hai Bhupesh from Bangalore. We stayed there for 01 night in the last week of September, we booked 03 rooms. The rooms were excellent , and the food was awesome. Service was top class, really we like our stay there for 01 night and wish to go there again with family and friends

Room Tip: Room No's 107, 108 & 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhupeshBlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hello friends,

We had stay for 2 nights at Hotel Sandra Palace in second week of august 2013 & I must say that everything starting from booking, check in, room choice to check out was just smooth. All the hotel staff were helpful, Thanks to manager Mr. Robin who not only offered discounted rates but also reserved rooms of our choice. We were with out 1 yr old kid & on our request he not only allowed my wife to use hotel kitchen to cook for kid as & when required but at the same time didnt charge anything for the same. The food was bit expensive but was excellent & would recommend all not to go for outside food at Thekkady as outside food options are not good & it is better at Hotel. Breakfast was excellent & was included in tariff.

They have spacious rooms, the rooms at front are good as they face a beautiful church.
I recommend this hotel for all especially for Family.

My best wishes for the Hotel.

Room Tip: Top Floor front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuvi2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Recently I stayed the hotel for 2nts. very bad experience indeed, no hot water in day time, very noisy. breakfast was very poor, no eggs, good fruit juice. no preferred choice, room service is very bad. Room was spacious. overall not satisfied with the hotel atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indira75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.1 mi away
Michael's Inn
Michael's Inn
#31 of 43 in Thekkady
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
258 reviews
4.0 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
1.3 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sandra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandra Palace

Address: Opp: Lourde Church | Thekkady Junction, Kumily, Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £26 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sandra Palace, Thekkady is a Business cum Leisure hotel, situated at the entrance of Thekkady. It is a budgeted modern hotel with all the facilities available in it. It is very ideally located near to all shopping centers, market, cultural activity centers, and bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sandra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sandra Palace Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing