We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmelia Haven(Thekkady)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Spice Village(Thekkady)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
214
66
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
66
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome stayhot waterhelpful familysafe place to staylovely familysight seeinghome away from homeclean roomsfamily tourjeep safaria wonderful stayspice gardensurrounded by treesthe cottagestamil nadukumily townwi fi
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We couldnt find a place in thekkady intially due to extreame peak rush season and got into Dean dale cottage which incidentally had a cottage free. The caretakers were very very friendly specially Sheryl and her son Dean. They were like family members and helped us really get along with the place. Was like a home for us as we were treated like one of them. Great experience.
Charles Ponraj

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles_ponraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Don't listen to all fake guides and rickshamen, the place is not far from bus station, elephant junction and spice garden - it's just 5-10 min away by ricksha. They have different types of rooms, which means that it will fit any budget. Rooms are clean and nice, some with a very nice view and a balcony. I felt here like at home, very cozy. And they let us to the kitchen to try to cook chapaties.

Next time I'll chose again Dean Dale Cottages!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we stayed here and felt very much at home. we were able to use the kitchen and dining facilities and had a very clean cozy room looking out to beautiful trees and even more amazing birds. first mile is away from the center of town in the most scenic area where you can just wander off into some really amazing jungle beauty. the people are very friendly and we couldnt be happier. a must stay in kumily!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atadata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Had a pleasant stay surrounded by trees. Cheryl and Dean are very helpful. we arrived late afternoon to Dean Dale cottage and Cheryl immediately arranged us Jeep safari though its a peak season, recommended good places over there. we had problem with hot water early morning and Dean helped us to fix it. Overall its a wonderful stay here and one should visit Dean Dale in thekkady.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c7_chandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had booked this cottage ahead of time through an agent in Cochin. The agent had referred us to the website and we looked at pictures and assumed that we will get the same.

When we reached though, we got different rooms. When we expressed our displeasure and called the agent, we were told that they have three types of rooms and they had shown us the worst. After a tall story, they showed us different rooms. But these were not the same as in the picture. When we started demanding what was shown, the lady had the gall to say "it is just three days, why don't you adjust?" We left right away. We have not got the advance (50%) back.

This place does not have food or beverages. You need to drive out for 10 mins to get decent quality food. It seems like the lady has tie ups with food joints too and she forces you too to have your meals there.

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews