We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
218
66
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
66
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome stayhelpful familysafe place to staylovely familysight seeingspice gardena wonderful stayrooms are spacious and cleantamil naduthe cottagessouth indiabeautiful placeperiyar reservestayed for one nightelephant ridekumilyhomestay
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

At the same price very good hotel can be booked with good stay. Room was ok , though the owner helped us for planning our travel but they broke their promise by not providing our breakfast which was included in our stay. Even they did not provide hot water on 1st day. It was not like a home stay.

Room Tip: Better to stay in hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78anki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We couldnt find a place in thekkady intially due to extreame peak rush season and got into Dean dale cottage which incidentally had a cottage free. The caretakers were very very friendly specially Sheryl and her son Dean. They were like family members and helped us really get along with the place. Was like a home for us as we were treated like one of them. Great experience.
Charles Ponraj

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles_ponraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Don't listen to all fake guides and rickshamen, the place is not far from bus station, elephant junction and spice garden - it's just 5-10 min away by ricksha. They have different types of rooms, which means that it will fit any budget. Rooms are clean and nice, some with a very nice view and a balcony. I felt here like at home, very cozy. And they let us to the kitchen to try to cook chapaties.

Next time I'll chose again Dean Dale Cottages!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we stayed here and felt very much at home. we were able to use the kitchen and dining facilities and had a very clean cozy room looking out to beautiful trees and even more amazing birds. first mile is away from the center of town in the most scenic area where you can just wander off into some really amazing jungle beauty. the people are very friendly and we couldnt be happier. a must stay in kumily!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atadata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Had a pleasant stay surrounded by trees. Cheryl and Dean are very helpful. we arrived late afternoon to Dean Dale cottage and Cheryl immediately arranged us Jeep safari though its a peak season, recommended good places over there. we had problem with hot water early morning and Dean helped us to fix it. Overall its a wonderful stay here and one should visit Dean Dale in thekkady.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c7_chandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews