We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home stay you won't forget”
Review of Dean Dale Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dean Dale Cottages
Ranked #7 of 122 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My sister and I travelled to Kumily with the intention of staying one night. However, upon meeting Cheryl and her wonderful, hospitable family, we decided to extend the stay for an extra 2 nights. Dean Dale cottages provided the most authentic, non-touristy experience of India- the whole family, including Cheryl's two beautiful kids, Tina and Dean who are similar age to my sister and I, took extra pains to show us around, give us helpful advice, chauffeur us to and from destinations and even take us to the wedding of one of their friends, in which they dressed us up in traditional saris and took us out as though we had been friends for years. They are the most welcoming and lovely family and we have stayed in contact long after our trip was over. We can't recommend them enough if you're after a memorable, through and genuine time in Kumily and long lasting connections afterwards.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Dean Dale Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for three days with Cheryl and her family. The rooms are very clean and the whole family are engaged in keeping us happy as guests. To us it was working out fine with staying a bit outside the village, as they were driving us and picking us up from various locations.
We recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndersKrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Lovely place, pleasent rooms and great service. Kind and sweet family that will help you with anything (taking you to a dentist for example...)
Will help you find a good trekking program so you can enjoy the Periyar reserve and be back to the dance shows in town.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaKishkushim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This home-stay just minutes from the center bazaar offer its guests a beautiful neighborhood and clean facilities to enjoy the pristine nature of Kerala and even the bordering Tamil Nadu. Here your hosts will offer you advice and help getting around and covering some of the best attractions the area has to offer. With the Dean Dale family you will not be short of viewpoints to go or gardens to see. Dean Dale was the most comfortable and hospitable place we stayed throughout our 3 month journey in India.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor with the songs of birds playing
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Dean Dale Cottages was the perfect choice for our short stay in Kumily and Thekkady. Located reasonably close to all the places of interest, this place was very comfortable and clean. Cheryl and Dean were extremely friendly , helpful and always smiling. They gave personal recommendations to us regarding places to visit, restaurants, tickets and Dean even dropped us and picked us up whenever he had the time. My family and I had a wonderful time here thanks to the generous hospitality of Dean Dale Cottage! I would recommend this place to everyone visiting Kumily and Thekkady. If you are looking for value for money and a warm and friendly environment, Dean Dale cottage is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radhi2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

You will not be disappointed with this home stay.
Cheryl and Brasheer provided us with such loving care and service.
Make sure that you take in one of the authentic South Indian cooking courses that Cheryl gives in her kitchen.
You will feel very much at home here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesbelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEAN DALE C, Owner at Dean Dale Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing dean dale cottages. We appreciate taking your valuable time to share your review of our resort.

We are really glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at our resort.

Your review encourages to serve a better service and its a real motivation to us to deliver the best from us.

We are looking forward for your next visit at dean dale cottages ..

Sincerely,
dean dale cottages
cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Cheryl and her family for 4 days. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable!
Cheryl and her husband helped us with transportation, activities, meals, airplane tickets and everything in between.
Super beautiful family that was a pleasure to get to know!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisaarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.6 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#22 of 43 in Thekkady
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kerala House
Kerala House
#9 of 122 in Thekkady
195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Konark Homestay
Konark Homestay
#5 of 122 in Thekkady
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#4 of 122 in Thekkady
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Dale Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Dale Cottages

Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: £7 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the last year, we have had the pleasure of serving over hundreds of guests at some of our best holiday accommodations in Thekkady. Each of our accommodations has doubled up as a holiday location, offering you the choice of participating in a wide array of local activities that help you relax, rejuvenate and recharge. By being sensitive and selective, we have ensured each of our holiday accommodations offer you more privacy, connects your mind with the soul, is reasonably priced and overall, gives you an experience which is qualitative and purposeful.While we continue working with property owners to build a unlimited number of quality holiday locations and importantly provide enhanced levels of guest services, we welcome you to choose from some of the beautiful holiday locations, handpicked for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dean Dale Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Dale Cottages Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing