We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort at a budget price located in the park”
Review of KTDC Periyar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
KTDC Periyar House
Ranked #15 of 113 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice resort at a budget price located in the park”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Periyar House is a budget resort with qualilty of service matching a 4 star resort. Stayed with friends for a night got a room with private balcony (room no 410) which has a view of forest and lake behind. Rooms were clean and tidy worth the money paid luckly we didn't have any monkey's visiting us except for a few clinging to tree tops We had a Wild boar visiting our property during the night. The only issue or probably to view as a safety measure no one is allowed to enter the lake behind the property after 6 PM. Overall it was a nice experience.
periyar house is one of the best place stay in comfort at the budget price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarthikeyanTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    96
    39
    13
    16
See reviews for
133
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you want to enjoy the nature in tranquility with your loved ones - this is the best place in Periyar. The room rents includes buffet breakfast and dinner, and those are lavish. The cuisine is not restricted to South Indian. Rooms are clean and spacious.

You can't go outside the lodge's boundary after 6 p.m. Normally not much guests stay here because of this as there are not much to do after evening. But you can walk in the garden in front and have a stroll and feel the existence of lots of wilderness around you through sounds. If you are lucky you can also see a herd of deer or wild boars crossing the road in front of the lodge or giant squirrels on top of the tree. And definitely you will meet lots of monkeys. Never leave your rooms' door open.

For boat tickets you won't have to go anywhere - the front desk will arrange it for you. As number of guests remain less - you will get lots of attention from the staff and they are really helpful. Also, due to less occupancy you will feel the tranquility (and sometimes a bit of fear also) of a jungle. The gates of the park opens for public at 6 a.m. I will strongly suggest that you go to sleep early (probably by 8:30 p.m - dinner would be available from 7:30 p.m - anyway there is not much to do in the evening except enjoying the darkness of the jungle) and wake up by 5 a.m. Take a stroll to the boat jetty or to the part of the lake just behind the lodge. Till 6:30 a.m you won't see much of people - only you and the jungle with sounds of animals and birds. From 6:30 a.m the park will become full of cacophony of cars and autos racing towards the boat jetty to get the best tickets.

If you are taking kids with you - there is a recreation room also just opposite to the restaurant, where you can play carom. But I will suggest this place if you really want tranquility and calm. Otherwise you will feel bored.

Great experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anirban M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Periyar House is without doubt one of the best budget property of KTDC ( Kerala State Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. ). I had stayed there more than atleast 20 times , at different seasons.
The rooms are impeccably clean, spacious and well furnished.
Earlier, frequent monkey raids to the rooms were a cause of concern for the tourists staying there. Now they have fixed windows grills, putting an end to the intrusion through windows. Still, you better keep the door closed even if you are right in front of the room, in the verandah. I have seen troupes pulling out the rear view mirrors from vehicles and climbing up trees, clutching it close to their chests. You can often see troupes of Black langur, Wild Boar, Mountain Squirrel, Red Jungle Fowl, Grey Jungle Fowl and Malabar Grey Hornbill, right from your room or from the verandah.
KTDC conducts Wildlife boat cruises on the Periyar Lake, for which tickets can be purchased from the reception. Animal sighting depends on the season and luck. Still, Herds of Elephants, Bisons, Otters, Sambar and Deer are very often seen during the cruise.
A walk through the road that goes cutting across the thick jungles towards Kumali side ( turn left from the entrance ), and towards the boat landing ( turn right from the entrance) is a great experiance. You can also go to the lake shore behind the property climbing down , crossing the trench; but be careful of leeches if the ground is damp. The view at the lakeshore is awesome, and you can also spot wild life and birds while enjoying the solitude .
The tariff rate for a Deluxe Room for double occupancy is just Rs.3,265 during peak season (Decemeber 2nd week to January first week ), Rs. 3050 during Season ( 1st October to December 2nd week and January 1st week to February 2nd week), Rs. 2580 for Off Season (1st March to September 30th). The rates are inclusive of Breakfast, Lunch/ Dinner for two people. The food served as buffet is of excellent quality.
The people at the reception, the young trainee staff and the security person are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are far better than Avenue Rooms. If you don't mind climbing the stairs, a Deluxe r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnujNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

As this one is govt. managed hotel i was worried about the services & hospitality. well frankly it was not as bad as i excpeted it to be, but not so good as well. Apart from the location (as it is situated with in the jungle) nothing impressed me at all. And the same unique feature has some disadvantages as well like u have to enter the territory before 6:00pm otherwise you would not get entry, the property is surrounded by monkeys u have to be carefull while opening the door & window. Our one night stay at this property was not bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagarmayra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

stayed for three days over christmas '11. there is a very limited choice of places to stay in the park, and this lack of competition is probably why we found the staff uninterested and generally unhelpful, the food mediocre and the room standard quite low. some wildlife, like monkeys, hornbills, wild pigs and deer could be seen on the grounds, which certainly made up for the shortcomings of the hotel. on the other hand various reviewers on t.a. are more positive about periyar house, so maybe the hotel just wasn't at its best during the busy holiday season.

Room Tip: check that your windows are closed. those monkeys are pretty keen to be hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drifter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

If you want to spend some quality time with your loved one from the bustling city, periyar House is the best place to stay. The property is within the Tiger Reserve and closes for guests by 6 PM and one can have a great time within the premises of the property with loved one.
Food is good and the boat tickets are available from the Hotel desk except for Sunday tickets. Monkeys are in abundance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilanjan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

After our near miss with the KTDC property in Munnar we were worried what this place would be like.

I must confess it is nothing special in its own right, I suppose if Travel Lodge did budget hotels in jungles then this would be it.

It was spotlessly clean, the room was a good size, bedding was clean and the bathroom was large....it had hot water!!! Something we appreciated as Periyar isn't as warm as Kochi!

The food was suprisingly good, in fact very tasty indeed. We had inclusive meals but to be honest the menu pricing was very reasonable.

A nice touch was on our last night there there were minimal guests so the staff came looking for us to see what we wished to order that evening.

ALL staff were very friendly and helpful.

As this is right in the reserve you have to expect that you will not be allowed to leave the hotel perimeter after 18:00hrs. We didn't find this a problem as we enjoyed sitting outside on the last set of steps just listening to the wildlife at night and looking up at stars like I haven't seen for years...virtual zero light pollution meant wonderful night skies :-)

Plenty of wildlife in and around the grounds of the hotel.
Bonnet Macaques - those window bars are very very handy :-)
Giant Malabar squirrel
Wild Boar
and loads of birds
all seen from the steps in front of the hotel :-)

Pricy for the level of quality provided and in comparison to those in Kumily but worth every single penny spent.
Would I recommend this to other travellers? Oh yes!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 43 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.8 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Periyar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Periyar House

Property: KTDC Periyar House
Address: Dist. Idukki, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KTDC Periyar House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your KTDC Periyar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Periyar House Hotel Thekkady
KTDC Periyar House Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing