We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not such a grand stay”
Review of Grand Thekkady

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Thekkady
Ranked #33 of 128 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had booked two rooms for two nights here for our stop off in Thekkady. Our rooms were apparently the super deluxe, nothing super about them to be honest. The rooms were spacious and this was useful as we required an extra bed, although the room where the extra bed was set up was slightly smaller than the other room so the bed was right outside the bathroom. The room on arrival was clean, the bathroom was on the small side and it was an open shower with no slope or separation from rest of the bathroom so was not impressed as we knew the bathroom would get wet, especially since the shower curtain was on the short side as well. As we were there for two nights we assumed our room would at least be cleaned the next day but no such thing. We left very early in the morning for the periya lake boating and were back just after 9am and left again by 11am, in between having breakfast so not in the rooms for very long, so I'm not sure why these rooms were not cleaned, the bathroom was not very pleasant especially as it had not been cleaned, the wet floors did not dry quickly and the floor towel was just damp as the entire floor would get wet as there was no real separation from the shower and rest of bathroom.
The hotel lobby was nice, we could access WiFi here. The restaurant offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was buffet, not always enough variety. Lunch and dinner menus were ok, staff in the restaurant were very friendly.
The staff at reception were friendly and helpful but the other hotel staff who serviced the rooms (obviously not ours, but we saw them about on the floor or using the lifts) could not all communicate well.
Saying all that, the location was very good, not far from the tiger reserve and periyar lake, also loads of shops around where we purchased spices and souvenirs from. We also watched a kathakali performance at the mudra cultural centre which was right around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsDMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Grand Thekkady was a lovely place to stay.
Rooms were basic, but nice with comfy beds.No fridge or kettle. It is well positioned "in between the 2 parts of the town" and either shopping areas are only 5 to 10min walk away.
We had dinner here, which was inexpensive and delicious. Breakfast buffet was a bit basic.
Free WiFi in the lobby (not in the rooms) which was great!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my wife for a day in Grand Thekkady, a hotel with a good room and a clean bathroom. It is situated at a decent location with both veg and non-veg to offer. The staff is friendly but they do not understand English completely but it's manageable. On the same road you can enjoy kerala martial arts and kathakali shows. Overall an ok experience for us as a couple.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PariveshD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

there are many good stay options in thekkady and the Grand is one of them, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, food is average, location is good. If you are in thekkady then you must not miss the elephant ride and elephant bathing activity, it was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikramcmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Despite having no kettle, fridge or aircon, we did have a bath and lovely soft pillows! The room (whole hotel) was clean. The hotel was attractive and is in a great location - a quiet place between the two shopping areas. The food was pretty good and reasonably priced and the service was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nice hotel, it is at the heart of city, all tourist attraction is very near, spice market is also near. room are neat and clean. room service excellent. it is value for money. wifi available at receiption area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmabhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

nice place to stay in kumily town....rooms are good clean..room service is very good....the owner mr aibin is very friendly..i would like to stay again in the same hotel..and the bamboo in the front of the hotel is awsome...i feel good for my eyes..this hotel is very close to thekkady boat house

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linmat709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
0.0 mi away
Michael's Inn
Michael's Inn
#31 of 43 in Thekkady
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
105 reviews
4.2 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jungle Park Resort
Jungle Park Resort
#10 of 94 in Thekkady
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Whispering Meadows Munnar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Thekkady

Address: Lake Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: £40 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Thekkady 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Grand Thekkady Hotel Thekkady
Grand Thekkady Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing