We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant cruise but few animals to be seen”
Review of Periyar Lake

Periyar Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
US$606.00*
and up
4-Night Best of Kerala Tour
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Thekkady
Attraction details
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very pleasant cruise but few animals to be seen”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had heard a lot about the boat ride at Periyar lake. The boat ride for sure is a very pleasant one but not spotting a lot of animals was a bit dissapointing. Though we say a mamma and a baby elephant, some rare birds, herds of Bison and some deer, we surely expected a lot more.

We were later informed that Periyar lake is probaly 5 - 10 % of what you can view and do at the Periyar Tiger reserve / national park. For sure we would reccommend that you keep at least 2 days at Thekkady, we had just one night stay

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParagBhise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    505
    289
    88
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Boats were too noisy”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Sufficient to drive away all serious wild life except for tone-deaf wild boars, monkeys and a few birds. Don't get deceived by the pet elephants right after entering, those are the only ones you are likely to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arindam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Elephants & wild boars”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It was raining when we went for the cruise. Chilly. Saw a lot of elephants and wild boars near the lake. Cruise was nice however there has to be a change in the ticketing system. Advance booking and internet sales should be promoted. A lot of time gets wasted in the process. Saw a herd of sambars near the ticket booth as well as a group of nasty monkeys. Overall NICE

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PavanPanandikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The entire programme right from ticket sale to the safari is badly organised. The boat rides are at 7.30 am, 9.30 am, 11.30 am, etc. Tickets for the 7.30 am ride are sold may be an hour earlier. Tickets for the 9.30am ride are sold at 7.30 am onwards and tickets for the 11.30 am ride are sold at 9.30 am onwards. Tickets are Rs.150/- for adults and Rs.50/- for children. I stood in the queue for the 9.30 am ride at 7 am and the counter opened at 7.30 am. While we were standing in the queue a staff handed over an application form for the names of the persons for whom the ticket had to be bought. I was luck to get the form for the 9.30 am ride because the third person behind me was not luck and all those in the queue behind him had to wait till 9.30 am to buy tickets for the next ride which would be at 11.30 am. It is not like you can just buy tickets for which ever ride you like. You have to buy the tickets only for the trip available at that time.

When we got into the double deck boat at 9.20 am the boat was already packed but since the tickets had seat numbers we had no problem getting our seats. Every seat had a life jacket placed on it. Once the boat started the attendant got into the drivers cabin and both started chatting among themselves. There is no safety precautions told to the guests or a naturalist or guide on board to explain anything about the Periyar tiger reserve or to identify a number of birds that could be sighted. The only animals we saw at a distance were a heard of deer and wild boar, we could identify them as we were carrying a pair of binoculars. Wildlife sighting is all ones luck so no complaints. People felt so board that some of them started walking around and standing at the door. From the top deck a couple of plastics were thrown into the water. Some were talking from one end to another, some were listing to music from their mobiles and some asleep. It was just like a city bus ride from start to end each one doing whatever they wanted.

This was one wildlife safari I was really waiting to reach the end at the earliest. In the end I felt that for record sake that “once I had been on the Periyar boat safari”.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew3504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“elephant hunt”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you are keen on doing this do it early morning and thats when you see elephants. Rest of the time see wild buffalo and deer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank apte a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Periyar Lake also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Periyar Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing