We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Homestay”
Review of Kerala House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kerala House
Ranked #9 of 122 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Since we were staying for only one night, we decided to try and stay in this homestay. It was more like a lodge, but the rooms were very spacious and clean. The switches were neatly labeled and the bathroom was neat. You would get hot water too. There is no kitchen, but they would serve tea and coffee to your room. The owner Mr.Shibu was a nice person and helped us carry the luggage during the check-in and check-out. The rooms had the view of the Forest reserve, but all the properties on the right side of the Lake Road would have the same view. Overall a good homestay with all the required basic amenities.

Room Tip: Take the room on the first floor for a better view of the forest
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Kerala House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Pros:
1. Very economical. When you are planning to enjoy the jungle and spend most of the time in jungles, why waste money in costly hotels?
2. Cleanliness: very very clean
3. Room view is very good. Bed is comfy, spacious room, beautiful attached balcony.
4. Location: in Market on main road, near to Jungle main gate and ticket booking centres, however from the rooms you would feel that you are staying at a secluded place amidst jungle.
5. Owner Mr Shibu is very helpful regarding rooms, arranging things, communicating in english and advising about trips.
6. Hot water, tv, wi fi( sometimes weak in room, but available in balcony).

Cons:
1. Non AC rooms, so might be problem in summers.
2. No room service/ intercom. So asking for drinking water and other things is a problem. However if you are not a complaining kind of people, who likes adjusting to situations, you would be good with it.

Overall: Good value for money, Clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: room 5 has best view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOZOMADHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

It is very good,well decorated.We stayed here on 30th January 2014 with some of my friends.It is very calm and quite.The room was spacious.It is not costly also.A green-view is seen from the balcony.Sometimes some animals are seen in this field.There is no kitchen but we were not in trouble because in front of the house there was a restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,013,436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

If you are a nature person, love tranquility, you should go for KTDC properties at Thekaddy which are right inside the Periyar Reserve Forest boundaries. If you unlucky to get a place there (like me), this is a good second option. We stayed here for one night but wished we could stay more. The entrance is little deceptive but once you get there, you will forgive it.

The balconies open into vast grassy land, only to meet the forests on the other side. Just save 2-3 days for Thekaddy alone and you will love the tiny hamlet placed right in the middle of thick forest. Although there is no arrangement for food here, it is not an issue. There is a pizza joint right before the home stay. Across the street there is a restaurant, which will serve your needs.

Rooms are huge including bathrooms. Well maintained. Owner Shibu is a nice person and always ready to help. Just sit back and relax there to get rejuvenated.

There are few other advantages. This home stay is in a walking distance to the periyar reserve entry gate. During peak season, there is usually a mad rush for the morning boat ride. The whole management of boat ride is chaotic. You need to queue up your vehicle at night so that you can start as soon as the gate opens. You need to procure forest entry pass before gate opens. All these are possible if you are located close by.

Room Tip: Take the 1st floor ones.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Wanderer_Rajesh_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on 3rd Feb.
this was our first experience for home stay. It is very peace full place. The owner Mr. Shibu is a great guy n help full person. he guided us for each n every thing that we want. The location of the house is good, close to periyar. The room was spacious and Hot water is available any time.
The one thing I would like to tell is that
it is not convenient for those people who want services like hotels.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank ubaid_ur_rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spacious room....grand balcony....fabulous host....amazing view....all at Kerala House, Thekkady...this homestay is the best place to check in if you are at Thekkady...Periyar Tiger Reserve entry gate is just 2 minutes walk away ....Shibu and family are very helpful and great hosts...there is no kitchen but there are many eating joints around the place ....do try a meal at Ambadi, a hotel nearby...At Thekkady, one can enjoy the boat ride at the lake, the elephant ride, visit to spice gardens and bamboo rafting at the Periyar reserve... shop for spices from local market....

Room Tip: The corner room on the second floor offers a great view of the jungle from the balcony
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakhee_1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Large, spotless rooms & bathrooms with good hot water showers - and wonderful view of the park. Centrally located in a residential building backing onto the park itself, with lovely covered balcony and comfortable chairs. The property is very close to the entry gate to the ‘Periyar Reserve Forest’ and one can actually look onto the forest from the balcony. We stayed on top floor and rooms seemed new, good wifi and ample breakfast. Not an easy place to find but we were advised by “Trip Log in”.
The property is very well maintained by Shibu and his team. The family was very helpful and even provided us with our favourite Indian breakfast. We would love to go there again!...

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a better view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun_Kalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#22 of 43 in Thekkady
143 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#13 of 43 in Thekkady
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.5 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerala House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerala House

Address: Thekkady Lake Road | Idukki Disctrict, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: £16 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kerala House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WI-FI available rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Kerala House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerala House Thekkady, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing