We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mickey's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mickey's Homestay
Ranked #21 of 112 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We visit Kumily in the low season so turned up at mickey's cottage and were given a room with no problem. Our room was in the back garden of the house and was beautiful for the price. The were a few mozzies and insects in the room when we arrived, however the owner used a plug in mosquito repellant and a burning coil thing which helped and there is also a nice big, soft mosquito net over the bed. We had a wooden door carved with an image of Ganesh and a swinging seat outside with monkeys in the garden - a novelty for us but apparently can be a nuisance. The owner was very welcoming and brought us some homemade sweets. She introduced us to her neighbour who is a travel agent. I'm not sure how his prices compared to others but as we had limited time in Kumily we booked an elephant ride through him which was good. We later booked a spice tour with 'Go Wild' a travel agent in the town which was really good and we arranged a taxi back to Kottayam for 1500Rs with a really careful and friendly driver. (Anthony)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
35
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mytilene, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed here whilst visiting Periyer Wildlife Sanctuary and it was one of the cleanest and nicest places we’ve come across in India. After a hot and dusty bus journey from Munnar we were welcomed with a cup of tea and some information about the various guided tours of the nature reserve by the friendly owners. The beds were comfortable, the sheets white and clean, a generous sized bathroom with plenty of hot water and to top it all it had a private balcony with rattan furniture to lounge around in after trekking and exploring the area. The home stay is in a perfect location as it is in a quiet area but still close to restaurants and the main gate of the Wildlife Sanctuary. We can also recommend the Ambadi restaurant in the hotel with the same name nearby. We would definitely book again at Mickey’s next time we’re in Kumily.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evaandmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Upon arrival, Sujatha (the owner of this homely little compound), welcomed us with warm tea, 2 slices of pineapple (they were so sweet and good!) and so much zest in her greeting that we felt recharged after the 4hour bus ride from Madurai. She was very friendly, always asking about our day, stopping to chat and laugh with us.

Our room was located upstairs at the rear building. The room was clean, lovely and simple but with an artistic touch here and there. We love the carvings on the door! And also the rattan armchairs right outside our room where we could lounge and read in privacy. One thing fantastic about this place is that there was hot shower 24/7, thanks to the solar panels (or something of that sort - I didn't really bother to figure the science out) they have installed. The only thing that really bothered us were the mozzies (they need to replace their tattered and torn mosquito net). But if you close they windows before 6pm, it should be able to keep most of the mozzies away.

And although there was no meals were provided, there is Chrissie's (fantastic breakfast) and Spice Garden (great service and one of the best dinners we had in India!) just next door. Don't forget to make a trip to Abraham's spice garden and also the tea plantation & factory. Very informative and educational. :)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

Mrs Murali, the host, is a lovely warm and friendly lady. She initially put us in the wrong room, having confused us with another booking, but that was quickly rectified. We stayed in the best rooms and it was cozy and clean, with an excellent shower.
The only blips were as following:
1. There seemed to be some sort of slug nest in the sink (ground floor room), and we had to remove 3 slugs on 3 different occasions from the sink area. NOT pleasant.
2. There are no views from the room. I understand some other places just along the road (Greenview?!) have really good views and balconies for a lower tariff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

What a wonderful place! Large, clean and comfortable rooms, most with their own bathroom and balcony. We found the owners to be extremely accommodating, friendly and polite. They could not do enough for us, including letting us phone home on their phone, as it was much cheaper than using our mobiles. Please don't let other reviews put you off, Mickey Home stay is exactly what it says... a stay in Mickey's home, where you will be made to feel like one of the family. Close proximity to local shops, restaurants and tiger reserve. All round - Good Value

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar10BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We were given an exceptionally warm welcome from the hostess. We had a room on the upper floor, at the rear, with a balcony overlooking the small courtyard garden. We sat on the balcony and watched a variety of beautiful birds feasting on the papaya on the tree directly in front of the balcony. Just perfect and so relaxing after a 5 hour drive from Kochin. The room was clean and comfortable, with shower bathroom and plentiful hot water. Ate dinner up the road at Chrissies, and simple but good breakfast on our balcony. Thoroughly recommend this homestay. Was disappointed with Periyar Reserve. Loads of tourists and no animals to be seen. Friend had been on the treks and saw nothing. We went on the lake trip. The water level only just allowed th boat to chug around the depleted lake, and we saw only a few cormorants and a couple of wild boar. If you want a wildlife experience, forget it! It is rumoured that a tiger was last seen there 6 years ago. It obviously does not like mass tourism.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiseowl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Marche
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

Mickey's homestay is a fantastic place to stay. Located a short 5 minute walk from town & bus station, close to post office , internet cafe, and shops. A very clean and spacious ensuite room, large comfy bed & warm blankets, beautiful white fluffy towels!
The excellent hot water shower a blessed relief, as Kumily is much cooler than the coast. The charming hosts were very helpful with advice & transport and the tropical garden setting gorgeous ( a pair of hornbills eating papaya right outside our window).
We were thoughtfully offered a daily discount if we ate breakfast out, of which we took advantage.
Cheap & quick laundry service available.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeMarcheKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panthalams Homestay
Panthalams Homestay
#6 of 112 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#5 of 112 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thekkady Homestay
Thekkady Homestay
#17 of 112 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kerala House
Kerala House
#8 of 112 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dean Dale Cottages
Dean Dale Cottages
#9 of 112 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickey's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickey's Homestay

Property: Mickey's Homestay
Address: Periyar Park Bypass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mickey's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mickey's Homestay Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing