We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location but service needs to improve” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Mumbai
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice location but service needs to improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had booked 2 studio apt at Sterling Thekkady. On our arrival, we realised that their are only 8-10 rooms occupied, hence the resort looked deserted. Staff is friendly but service needs to improve on in-room dining, reception etc.
Location of the resort is good, next to the gate of periyar wildlife reserve. 1 big negative is the harassment caused by monkeys at the resort.
Rooms are decent, need better lighting and bath-rooms seemed old-style, surely needs a makeover. We never had food at the restaurant, as it looked quite deserted.
Hotel has a common playing room, which was quite enjoyed by my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterBlasterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    146
    72
    28
    20
See reviews for
201
105
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Woods n Spice as the name says has a wooden theme to it. Had been to this place for my honeymoon.

Pros:
Nice spacious rooms with good interiors
Electronic security in all rooms
In-room coffee maker
Spacious resort
Spa facilities available
Free wifi
Local sight seeing assistance
Good food variety

Cons:
Wifi restricted to reception only. NO wifi signal anywhere else
Swimming pool not cleaned regularly
Small dining place
Billiards room leaks like hell when it rains
Not very disabled friendly. Too many stairs to get to places within the facility.
Fun activity room needs a PS or XBOX. Only has board games, TT and carrom.

Room Tip: Although there is not much of a difference, choose room type superior for better views and slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhuBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

1) Woods n Spice – yeah, it is woody lodging and spicy boarding in the middle of dense greeneries. It is an apt and meaningful naming of he reverberating resort . Solid and stylish wood décor - nurturing tradition with modernity in a right mix and magnificent feast to the eyes which were vexed/fed up/ tired of seeing concrete jungles again and again in a day to day life.

2) We were immensely pleased by a warm welcome with ‘Thilak’ on our foreheads by a beauty angel.

3) At the threshold of banquet hall, we were welcomed by the smiling staff along with fabulous fragrance of roasted spices which greet us ‘Bon Apetite’.

4) The heady mix of aromas and colours made your delicacies , delectable spread of food simply irresistible which were aesthetically and decoratively displayed in a fascinating , fresh and funky food space.

5) Food was more appetising/ fulfilled our unlimited food dreams at Wood n Spice. We indulged our taste buds to an unlimited set menu served fresh with unlimited love by your staffers right on our tables, which sure will be a trip to remember/cherish forever. A glass of delicious , complimentary beverage may also be provided.

6) Food – strange mix of indigenous and international culture. Mr.Aiyappan, though a man of few words- he makes sure that his customers feel comfortable at his joint. Finally your canteen is gourmet’s / foodies’ delight. It surely moved our hearts that the individual attention exhibited by kitchen staff and their concern / anxiety about the quality of food served to us.

7) We were surprised at the kind of invitation of Sterling Holidays’ team members to us to be the Chief Guest and hoist the National Flag on the 67th Independence Day (15/8/13). How I felt that moment was – it is like taking away a person, who was at his moon-lit dinner in front of his hut, straight to the moon in the space and providing him with sumptuous dinner there. My family members and I extend thanks from the bottom of our hearts for giving me such a wonderful opportunity of hoisting the National Flag by remembering the heroic deeds of our yester year National heroes. Jai Hind!

8) The swimming pool, seating arrangements along its bank under the tall trees and cradle ropes are added attractions.

9) Fusion of Carnatic and Western Music may flow in the air mildly inside the wood and bamboo surrounded banquet hall which may be a feast to the ears and soul.

10) Musical and colourfully illuminated water fountains may be erected , which sure will be a highlight during nights in your salubrious locale.

11) All game activities including Bon Fire, Dance, Competitions etc enthralled ourselves and made us forget our age and mingle with one and all like children. Keep it up!

12) Woods and Spice deserves a visit by any lover of nature and its beauty. It has its own envialble qualities due to which it has become a favourite holiday resort for one and all. We too found it incomparable because of its accessibility , hygienic surroundings, magical scenic beauty and facilities available.

13) A humble suggestion would be to have the tariff cards for the Jeep Safari readily available at the activity centre, since we had some confusions in the tariff that were discussed and the one that was settled. A transparent tariff card would help clarity at both ends.

To summarise the overall experience, “Simply, it is an Earthly Paradise”

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool gives you a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberdon_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

lovely hotel, lots of activity, super amazing food and staff. the most silent location. loved it..!!! activity area and the spa were super amazing.... loved the spa .. rejuvenating the body.... ginger tea welcome drink....

Room Tip: staying in the villas is the best ...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devang1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Hotel is very clean and green.
The staff is very courteous and helpful. Its not exactly in the main town but nor far from there. Actually the place is pretty quite and the 'cottage' we stayed had the window opening towards the Periyar Forest.
The resort also has archery facility, must try it. The Fun Ranger are more than happy to train you.
The Travel Desk is as helpful as the Front Desk though there was a small mis-communication. I was told I would get 10% discount on car hire but at the time of check out nothing was given and I ended up paying more. The person on reception just did not had any clue about it.
Also, there is some issue with power cut, though most of the times it comes immediately but sometimes it takes time.
The restaurant was lousy (sorry). No music, Many dishes were just un-available because we in the off period but still I would have preferred a different menu with limited options in such occasions where room count is low. I would not have had to be disappointed atleast.

Though I would like to add, again, that the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Check the local restaurants in the town if the occupancy of the hotel is less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddyrawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

In thekaddy all major places to stay are in a cluster around one area. Wood n spice is at a far end of the cluster touching the periyar park boundary. Its at the end of a slope so one cannot do a casual walk up and down the property.
Its a lease property so sterling is not doing much to upgrade it. The rooms give the feel of a log room since they are completely covered with wood from inside.
We went in off season with very low occupancy so got good service. But hot water is a problem. One gets hot water between 6 pm to 10 a.m which is also not available most of the time. We had to get hot water in buckets.
Restaurant is ok. They have a activity area and massage centre also.
There is all possible effort from the resorts end to give service.

Room Tip: Guest room - They are in the main block and open into the main central area with the pool but no a.c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POOJABANSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

we stayed 2 nights here. we really enjoyed our trip even though in rainy season. Staff's are really attentive and helpful. we had excellent breakfast. and also we had lunch there, it was good. They also have in-hotel facilities like fun-center for indoor games. Their travel desk people are very informative and we don't need to search for sight seeing places, they can book for us. Peaceful stay.... love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumeetGaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.2 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509 , India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing