We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and comfortable place for those looking for a break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Cool and comfortable place for those looking for a break.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We ie my wife Rekha, my daughter Jane and my son Joshua went to Sterling Holidays Wood n Spice at Thekady from 14.10.13 to 16.10.13 for holidays. The place is very excellent if you are looking for a break from the busy world. A nice place to rejuvinet yourself and go back home fresh. The team led by Mr Rony George who is the manager of the resort is excellent. The staff is very courteous, helpful and friendly. The room service is excellent. We really enjoyed our stay and we have come back home with sweet memories.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacob_re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    149
    76
    28
    21
See reviews for
212
107
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Located close to the Periyar game sanctuary, this is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are well appointed with wooden floors and walls. There is a nice view of the greenery if you sit at the verandah.The location is within a short distance from the city and very close to the center where you can observe the local traditional dance of Kathakali and Martial Art of Kalaripayithu. The staff are very cooperative. The stay was simply enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Its a good resort with good staff but lack maintenance. I visited with my wife, parents and 1 year old. They helped us with cooking baby food. Staff were very helpful. Location is very near to Periyar river and elephant court. If they little improve on maintenance e.g pool than its a wonderful place to stay with Family. I would like to thank them for taking care of my infant food needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANUJ3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Sterling Woods and Spice is probably the only Sterling property I've been to which is closest to the main town. This too like Sterling Munnar is right beside Club Mahindra and shares a common wall with the Periyar wildlife reserve. More about the resort. the first impression it gives is of a jungle resort made of wood and logs, a typical forest cabin look. Though the cottages look nice from the outside, they're a bit small inside, hence we chose to stay in the rooms in the main building (which even have a huge bed). Unlike other Sterlings, this does not have a kitchen, they are guest rooms. The restaurant has good food, but if you are not accustomed to spicy food or have kids in the group, please give instructions not to use a lot of pepper and chilli (cause almost every item we ordered had hoards of chilli in it), no wonder Thekkady is the spice haven. After the first complaint, the chef personally came and made a note of our taste and did not give us another chance of complain. The pool though looks quite inviting was given a skip due to the cold weather. The holiday activities room is well-equipped with games, toys and books to leisurely kill time. A highly recommended resort.

Room Tip: The cottage are ideal for a couple, but if travelling with family and kids, I'd suggest to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chintan_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at Sterling Thekkady during Oct'2012 for our annual family holiday and had booked 2 studio apts. We were quite impressed with the location of the resort, next to the gate of Periyar Tiger reserve. Also the concept of Jungle Resort seems great on internet but rooms are not upto the standard. Lighting and ventilation was poor in the room. Bathrooms seemed dated with old fixtures, requires urgent upgrade. Their was a nice swimming pool but not cleaned by staff.
During our holiday, occupancy was quite low; at best 10-12 rooms were occupied out of 40-50 rooms. So the property looked deserted with constant attack from Monkeys for food, but we understand that staff can't do much about it.
House-keeping and in-room food service was slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are concerned about the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at Thekkady - Woods ‘N’ Spice. Your feedback has been shared with the resort management and we will be studying required changes.

Sterling is committed to delivering high service standards and to ensuring that our guests have a memorable holiday. We deeply value your feedback and thank you for taking time out to express your views as it helps us in our pursuit of achieving the highest standards.

We hope you will holiday with us again and give us the opportunity to deliver a great holiday experience.

Looking forward to serving you at one of our resorts.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Hi, this is just to share my review on Woods n Spice in Thekkady from my honeymoon Tour, It was very good resort, Very attractive theme of Wooden House, Resort has all facility good staff, Had good indoor activity....we stayed 4 days end we enjoyed lot.

Room Tip: All wooden home with partial kitchen can take pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRISHMI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Sterling's resort at Thekkady was quite a average looking hotel with open area reception and staff which was always trying to sell food-masti packages. Resort was quite vacant, only 8-10 rooms occupied hence looked more deserted. Location is good, quite close to periyar tiger reserve.
Swimming pool was not cleaned, staff used to play cricket in the afternoon and bathrooms old-style (requires urgent attention). We never had food at the restaurant during our 2 days stay. Instead we had dinner at Club Mahindra resort, 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preeti2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are concerned about the inconvenience caused during your stay at our resort. Your feedback has been shared with the resort management and your issues will be taken into consideration for improvements.
Sterling is committed to delivering high service standards and ensuring that our guests have a memorable holiday. We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you better. We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
694 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing